Creamy Cantaloupe Smoothie

7 Jul

Ah yes, running in the heat and humidity is so wonderful. Ok, not really. However, so far this summer, the warm weather hasn’t negatively affected my training too much. I run only slightly slower in the steamy conditions than I normally would, and my breathing seems to be just fine. If anything, it’s the post-run that I dislike most.

Coming home all sweaty and tired, to then take a hot shower in my non-air conditioned house isn’t all that enticing. The minute I step out of the shower feels no different from the minute I stop running! Alas, I make due and just end up planning more cool down time, which is perfect for foam rolling and practicing yoga.

Oh, and cooking! I make good use of my post-run time by prepping dinner (during the week) or guzzling down a refreshing smoothie (on the weekends). So overall, it’s probably for the best that I’m forced to slow down after finishing a run. Silver lining, right? 🙂

Creamy Cantaloupe Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

That’s where this smoothie came about. I had previously cubed and frozen half of a cantaloupe because we couldn’t eat the whole thing before it went bad. Now, frozen melon does NOT thaw well – I do not recommend freezing melon slices to then eat a few days later as-is. The water within crystallizes and thawing it just doesn’t work, trust me.

What DOES work, is that the frozen melon basically acts as flavorful ice cubes – the perfect addition to a smoothie on a hot summer day! Pair that with a frozen banana for carbs and potassium, some soy milk and chia seeds for protein, and coconut and nuts for healthy fats, and you’ve got a solid way to refuel after a grueling workout.

So next time you can’t finish a cantaloupe, cube it up, freeze, and blend away!

Creamy Cantaloupe Smoothie

Makes 1 smoothie

  • 1 C non-dairy milk
  • 1 C frozen cubed cantaloupe
  • 1 sliced frozen banana
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds or flaxseed meal
  • 1 tbsp shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1 tbsp walnuts or pepitas
  • 1/4″ fresh ginger root

Blend all ingredients together until smooth and creamy. Serve in your favorite glass or mug and enjoy!

Creamy Cantaloupe Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

What’s your favorite way to refresh & refuel after a sweaty workout? Let me know in the comments!

18 Responses to “Creamy Cantaloupe Smoothie”

  1. Diana July 7, 2016 at 8:20 am #

    Nutritious and Delicious!

  2. Debbie Woodruff July 7, 2016 at 8:44 am #

    Oh this sounds yummy. I never have thought of using cantaloupe in a smoothie but it’s a great idea!

    • xtinaluvspink July 7, 2016 at 9:39 am #

      I figured many hadn’t thought of it. Let me know if you give it a try!

  3. abbey July 7, 2016 at 9:33 am #

    this looks soooo refreshing! cantaloupe is so good and affordable too so this is great!

    • xtinaluvspink July 7, 2016 at 9:39 am #

      Yes! I think I got two melons for $4. That’s a lot of fruit 🙂

  4. Glenneth R July 7, 2016 at 4:37 pm #

    thanks for this great idea. i had never thought of freezing cantaloupe for smoothies. i am going to give it a try.

    • xtinaluvspink July 7, 2016 at 10:22 pm #

      Fantastic!! No food goes to waste when you make smoothies 🙂

  5. ilkasblog July 7, 2016 at 8:32 pm #

    Love cantaloupe! I need to add it to my smoothies! So perfect for Summer!

  6. Mikki June 22, 2017 at 9:22 am #

    What a great idea for a smoothie. My husband would LOVE this! He loves cantaloupe!

    • xtinaluvspink June 22, 2017 at 9:27 am #

      Hope he gets to try it! It’s just soooo refreshing.

  7. Abbey Sharp June 22, 2017 at 10:50 am #

    Yum! What a great way to use up cantaloupe ! Looks like the perfect treat on a hot day

  8. Emily Holdorf June 22, 2017 at 11:20 am #

    Yum! Never thought about using cantaloupe in a smoothie!

  9. Mikki June 22, 2017 at 2:01 pm #

    I have never thought of using cantaloupe and a smoothie before. This is awesome. My husband is a huge cantaloupe fan, so he will love this.

  10. Kelly Page (@TastingPage) June 22, 2017 at 2:45 pm #

    Looks like a great way to start the day with fab flavors!

  11. Summer June 22, 2017 at 6:42 pm #

    Cantaloupe is one of my favorite fruits. I almost always grow them in my garden. I have actually made smoothies with them before but I like the added ingredients you used. I will have to make this.

Leave a comment