Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Black Bean Smoothie 

11 Jul

Over the past few years, I’ve learned to love a variety of  vegetables, fruits, grains and preparations. As a result, my smoothies are often rather interesting. Spinach, kale, peas, chia seeds, rhubarb, cucumbers, celery, and now: black beans.

Yep, black beans in a smoothie! When combined with cocoa powder, strawberries, frozen banana, milk, and a few other ingredients, black beans make for the perfect creamy base to a chocolate-flavored smoothie. They’re full of protein and fiber, so you don’t even need to add protein powder.

Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Black Bean Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Not sold yet? Give it a shot – I promise you’ll love this breakfast drink! It’s naturally sweet, and will taste so much like dessert, that you’ll forget you added the legumes 🙂

Chocolate Covered Strawberry Black Bean Smoothie, adapted from the Never Homemaker

Makes 1 smoothie

  • 1 C non-dairy milk
  • 2/3 C black beans, rinsed extremely well
  • 5 large, whole strawberries
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 frozen, sliced banana
  • 2 tbsp cocoa powder
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds

Blend all ingredients together until creamy and smooth. Pour into your favorite smoothie glass and garnish with a strawberry, shredded coconut, additional chia seeds, or your favorite nut!

Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Black Bean Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Linking up with Running on Happy & The Fit Foodie Mama, and Confessions of a Mother Runner & A Whisk and Two Wands for #MeatlessMonday! 

39 Responses to “Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Black Bean Smoothie ”

  1. Julie Harris July 11, 2016 at 8:19 am #

    This looks great and I have all the ingredients already!

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities July 11, 2016 at 9:17 am #

    Oh man! NOT SURE I could convince the man to drink this! LOL!

  3. sweetenedbyplants July 11, 2016 at 9:20 am #

    Wow black beans in a smoothie!! I would never have thought of that! What a fantastic protein shake!

  4. Abbey July 11, 2016 at 9:44 am #

    Never thought to put beans in my smoothie but I bet it tastes great and is good for me

  5. Heather Gannoe (@runfastermommy) July 11, 2016 at 9:51 am #

    Wow. I love black beans, LOVE them, but I can’t imagine trying them in a smoothie! I’m going to take your word for it though, and give this a try!

    • xtinaluvspink July 11, 2016 at 9:58 am #

      I’d love it if you tried it!! Girl Scout promise that you’ll enjoy it.

  6. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables July 11, 2016 at 10:33 am #

    Oh wow, I’ve never tried black beans in a smoothie!

    • xtinaluvspink July 11, 2016 at 11:17 am #

      I hadn’t either!! It’s so creamy this way.

  7. Becki @ Fighting for Wellness July 11, 2016 at 10:38 am #

    Such a smart idea! I can’t believe with everyone making black bean brownies (which I love) that it never occurred to me to put black beans in a chocolate smoothie! 🙂

  8. Debbie Woodruff July 11, 2016 at 11:42 am #

    I think black beans in a smoothie makes complete sense! I’ve used them in brownies, so why not, they’re a great way to add texture and protein.

  9. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner July 11, 2016 at 11:52 am #

    strawberries and black beans how interesting!

  10. sarah@creatingbettertomorrow July 11, 2016 at 11:57 am #

    I actually tried something VERY similar to this for a pouch for my toddlers…white beans, little cottage cheese, tons of berries..puree…I may just try this for them next!

  11. wendyistakingthelongwayhome July 11, 2016 at 4:05 pm #

    Wow that looks good! Are you sure there’s no black bean flavors sneaking through?

    • xtinaluvspink July 11, 2016 at 4:08 pm #

      I’m positive!! The cocoa powder and berries do an amazing job to hide that.

  12. Glenneth R July 11, 2016 at 4:32 pm #

    i would have never thought to put black beans in a smoothie, but i love the chocolate and strawberry combo. may have to give this a try!

    • xtinaluvspink July 11, 2016 at 4:32 pm #

      I’d love to hear your thoughts once you do!! Don’t fear the bean 🙂

  13. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run July 11, 2016 at 5:55 pm #

    I still can’t believe there are black beans in there!

  14. ilkasblog July 11, 2016 at 9:36 pm #

    Interesting combo!

  15. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) July 12, 2016 at 2:42 am #

    Chocolate and strawberry is one of my favorite flavor combinations. Yum!

  16. fitfoodiemama July 12, 2016 at 9:19 am #

    I would have never thought to make a smoothie with black beans but this looks delicious!

    • xtinaluvspink July 12, 2016 at 9:27 am #

      I’m so glad I shared this recipe because it seems most would never have thought to do it!

  17. Powered by BLING (@PoweredbyBLING) July 12, 2016 at 11:07 am #

    I’ve never thought about putting black beans in a smoothie. It seems like they would really thicken the consistency. Did you find you had to add more liquid to get a drinkable beverage?

    • xtinaluvspink July 12, 2016 at 12:07 pm #

      Just as much liquid as I’d normally add to a smoothie!

  18. Mikki July 12, 2016 at 12:22 pm #

    I may have to try this one just to see how it tastes. It sounds strange but so did black bean brownies before I tried them.

    • xtinaluvspink July 12, 2016 at 12:29 pm #

      Exactly! I promise you will like this. Just make sure the beans are VERY well rinsed!

  19. Angela July 12, 2016 at 12:44 pm #

    This sounds very interesting, love the idea of adding black beans! Pinned it to try 🙂

    • xtinaluvspink July 12, 2016 at 12:46 pm #

      Thanks, Angela! I’d love to hear what you think about it 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 34 Post-Race Recipes and “First Call” Half Marathon Recap | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 10, 2017

    […] Chocolate-Covered Strawberry Black Bean Smoothie, from Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! […]

Leave a Reply

