Red Velvet Black Bean and Beet Protein Brownies {vegan, gluten free, low fat, dye-free}

21 Apr

Over the years, I’ve dabbled with a variety of new-to-me foods: vegetables, fruits, grains, superfoods, and preparations. I’ve learned to love all the beans, figured out the best way to make tofu so it tastes good, and even started putting any manner of frozen vegetable in my healthy smoothies. Inspiring, right?

Except when it comes to beets.

Red Velvet Black Bean and Beet Protein Brownies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

I’ve tried them pickled, diced, sliced, hot, cold, with feta, without feta, and as juice. And I just cannot.

Red Velvet Black Bean and Beet Protein Brownies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Seriously, they taste like dirt. Not in the way that vegetables fresh from the garden might have specks of dirt left on them after washing. No, beets legitimately taste like licking a playground.

However, I’m not one to give up! I don’t know what was going through my head on the day when I saw prepared beet juice in the store. Maybe it was the display, maybe I had just read an article about how beets can prevent death from a variety of causes, maybe I was just a tad crazy. But I bought it! And promptly put it in my fridge door, where it sat for a solid two months (thankfully it was a shelf-stable variety).

I remember reading that beet juice is particularly beneficial after hard workouts, so in my post-race delusion, I finally popped open that lonely bottle and poured myself a glass.

And it was AWFUL. I chugged it down, just to get it over with. Then, I immediately began recipe planning.

You see, I dislike wasting perfectly good food. My thought was that while beet juice might taste like pureed dirt when on its own, it might actually be ok in baked goods. Ridiculous, right?

Red Velvet Black Bean and Beet Protein Brownies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

No. Not ridiculous at all. Beet juice adds a moisture that water and milk (dairy or otherwise) can’t hold a candle to. I’ve heard of bakers using beet powder as a replacement for red food dye, particularly in red velvet desserts. And I had some leftover crock pot black beans in the freezer, waiting to be used.

Pair all of this with the Recipe Redux challenge this month, which asked us to develop a recipe that reduces food waste, in honor of Earth day.

Naturally, I thought of brownies! I know, that doesn’t seem totally natural. But have you ever had black bean brownies? Have you had red velvet cake? Do you see where I’m going here…

Red Velvet Black Bean and Beet Protein Brownies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

These brownies taste NOTHING LIKE black beans or beets!

They simply taste and look like a delightfully red brownie that’s chewy, sweet and full of chocolate flavor. And it just so happens that the chocolate comes from chocolate protein powder. So these are an absolutely viable breakfast option! No joke, one brownie has 3 grams protein and 2 grams fiber. They’re gluten free, vegan, low fat, and contain no dye whatsoever!

These were so good that Chris couldn’t identify any “strange” ingredients. I’ll call that a win.

For the record, since I opened this bottle and made these brownies, I have since found additional ways to consume beet juice without actually tasting it. My smoothie-matching series on Instagram might give it away – I love beet juice smoothies now!

Red Velvet Black Bean and Beet Protein Brownies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Red Velvet Black Bean & Beet Protein Brownies, partially adapted from Vegan Richa

Makes 20 brownies

  • 3/4 C ground oats (measure after you grind them)
  • 1/2 C almond flour
  • 2 tbsp  cornstarch
  • 1/8 tsp baking powder
  • 1/8 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 scant tsp salt
  • 3/4 C coconut sugar
  • 2 tbsp cacao nibs
  • 1/3 C vegan chocolate protein powder
  • 2 tbsp flax seed meal
  • 1/2 C prepared beet juice
  • 3/4 C cooked black beans, rinsed & drained
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 C nondairy milk
  • 3 tbsp melted coconut oil

Preheat oven to 350. Line an 8×8″ baking dish with parchment paper, so the sides fold over the edges.

In a medium bowl, mix together the oat flour through the flaxseed meal.

In the jug of your blender, combine the beet juice, beans, vanilla, and milk. Puree until completely blended. You don’t want to be able to see that there are black beans in it.

Pour the beet-bean puree into the dry ingredients, along with the melted coconut oil.

Stir with a wooden spoon until completely incorporated. The batter will be thick – thicker than most brownie batters.

Scoop the batter into the prepared dish and press down into an even layer using your hands.

Bake at 350 for 25-27 minutes.

Remove and let cool completely before slicing into squares of your desired size. I cut mine into 20 brownies.

One more meme for good measure, courtesy of The Office:

Red Velvet Black Bean and Beet Protein Brownies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

recipe-redux-linky-logo

23 Responses to “Red Velvet Black Bean and Beet Protein Brownies {vegan, gluten free, low fat, dye-free}”

  1. Laura April 21, 2017 at 8:52 am #

    Omg. The Office meme. Dying!

    Also, I love this recipe. I’m a fan of beets, but I’m sure they can be improved with chocolate (like all things).

    • xtinaluvspink April 21, 2017 at 9:27 am #

      I have come to enjoy beet juice in several applications, but yes – chocolate makes everything better!!

  2. diana April 21, 2017 at 1:06 pm #

    yummmmy, with a good cup of coffee…and better company! 😉

  3. Alison's Allspice April 21, 2017 at 3:28 pm #

    I don’t care for beets much either, but I do like using them to naturally color red velvet cake. I love that you also added black beans to your recipe, chocolate deserts made healthy! Thanks!

    • xtinaluvspink April 24, 2017 at 10:54 am #

      Thanks! The more nutrients I can pack into a dessert, the better I feel about it!

  4. Abbey Sharp July 5, 2017 at 1:37 pm #

    These look amazing! I love black bean brownies, but I have yet to try beets as well!

  5. OOh I am so intrigued! I wonder if I can sneak these past my kids

  6. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables July 5, 2017 at 7:10 pm #

    I had black bean brownies and beet brownies but I’ve never had black bean beet brownies! 🙂 Yum!

  7. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables July 5, 2017 at 7:12 pm #

    I’ve had black bean brownies and I’ve had beet brownies but I’ve never had black bean beet brownies! yum!

  8. Chrissy Carroll July 5, 2017 at 7:59 pm #

    YUM! I like beets and I like brownies, so they must be awesome together. I don’t have any protein powder on hand – do you think I could just use cocoa powder and a little sweetener in it’s place?

  9. Natalie July 6, 2017 at 6:49 am #

    Awwwww you don’t like beets?! But beets are amazing… well except beet juice :p that I just can’t drink. No way! These brownies sound amazing. I never tried bean brownies. Can you believe that?! I think I just might try it now.

    • xtinaluvspink July 6, 2017 at 7:11 am #

      I’m hooked on beet juice now! Whole beets are still no good 🙂 I’m surprised you haven’t had bean brownies – they’re all the rage!

  10. Carmy @ carmyy.com July 6, 2017 at 11:53 am #

    These look amazing! I can’t wait to try!

  11. chocolaterunnergirl July 6, 2017 at 7:01 pm #

    Those look really yummy girl! I need to get some beets!

  12. ilkasblog July 6, 2017 at 7:49 pm #

    I’m one of those people who looooves beets! So good for you, especially for runners. This is a recipe I will give a try!!

  13. Tara @ A Daily Dose of Fit July 6, 2017 at 9:14 pm #

    I honestly can’t tell you the last time I ate a beet, but hidden in a brownie? I might be willing…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Peanut Butter and Jelly Beet Smoothie for #RecipeMakeover | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 27, 2017

    […] empty carbs. The beet juice goes unnoticed, except in color. (Trust me on this – I hate beets and would never propose you make a recipe wherein you can taste the beets!) The protein powder adds […]

Leave a Reply

