Wild Blueberry Avocado Protein Smoothie

30 Jan

By posting this recipe I am entering a recipe contest sponsored by the Wild Blueberry Association of North America and I am eligible to win prizes associated with the contest. I was not compensated for my time.

I dunno about where you live, but Milwaukee has been nothing but dreary and grey for at least a week now. Such a downer! Aside from working up a sweat, I know few better ways to combat the lousy weather than with a berry-packed smoothie.

Wild Blueberry Avocado Protein Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Sure, I could simply turn up the heat at home and lounge around with a cup of tea, but a nice, sweaty workout, followed by a healthy protein smoothie is soooo much better, and more rewarding!

This creamy dreamy smoothie is made with frozen wild blueberries, which are way more flavorful than and twice as rich in antioxidants as regular blueberries. Better yet, they’re frozen at harvest, ensuring the best quality berry every single time.

Wild Blueberry Avocado Protein Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Wild blueberries are called “Wild” because they are. Wild blueberries are not planted but occur naturally in barrens and fields in Maine and Eastern Canada that have been here for 10,000 years. They’re just waiting to be plucked and enjoyed!

And don’t freak out, they’re super easy to find – no trips to Maine or Canada necessary 🙂 Check the frozen foods section of your grocery store, and they should be near the other frozen fruits.

To learn more about wild blueberries, visit and follow these accounts: FacebookInstagramPinterestTwitter.

I paired these sweet and tart wild blueberries with creamy avocado and my favorite vegan vanilla protein powder for a smoothie that packs a punch in all the best ways.

Wild Blueberry Avocado Protein Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Wild Blueberry Avocado Protein Smoothie

Makes 1 smoothie

  • 1/4 C nondairy milk
  • 1 C cold water
  • 1/2 ripe avocado
  • 1/2 C frozen wild blueberries
  • 1 scoop vegan vanilla protein powder
  • Additional wild blueberries and hemp seeds, to garnish

Pour the liquids into your blender and add the avocado, wild blueberries and protein powder. Blend until absolutely smooth. Pour into your favorite glass and garnish with additional wild blueberries and hemp seeds.

 

32 Responses to “Wild Blueberry Avocado Protein Smoothie”

  1. diana January 30, 2017 at 8:35 am #

    I’m not a big smoothy fan, but this DOES look very inviting! 🙂

  2. Chrissa - Physical Kitchness January 30, 2017 at 8:42 am #

    Oh I love the addition of avocado in this smoothie! I bet it’s so rich and thick!

    • xtinaluvspink January 30, 2017 at 9:23 am #

      It is! On the verge of a smoothie bowl, really.

  3. Cassandra January 30, 2017 at 9:27 am #

    I love avocado so much I can eat it right out of the shell with a spoon! This looks really good, but avocado makes a smoothie so thick for me. I usually end up adding extra water. I’m weird, I know….I even thin out milkshakes.

  4. Mariangelica @ Chasing Littles January 30, 2017 at 9:42 am #

    That looks stunning! I can’t wait to try this. I will also say your photos look so wonderful it makes it look even more appetizing!

    • xtinaluvspink January 30, 2017 at 9:47 am #

      Aw, thank you so much! I’ve been working at improving my photography skills 🙂

  5. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner January 30, 2017 at 12:37 pm #

    Oh I keep seeing beautiful blueberry recipes today!

  6. abbey sharp January 30, 2017 at 1:51 pm #

    Toronto weather has been pretty dreary as well, but WOW these colours are so pretty! I love wild blueberries in my smoothies too.

  7. Emily @SinfulNutrition January 30, 2017 at 6:13 pm #

    Love adding avocado to my smoothies! They make them so milkshake-like

    • xtinaluvspink January 30, 2017 at 6:15 pm #

      Yes!!! And way healthier than ice cream 🙂

  8. Jodi @ Create Kids Club January 30, 2017 at 7:15 pm #

    Yeah for WI – I live in Green Bay 🙂 I love the beautiful blue color you were able to get in this smoothie! There is always lots of purple smoothies with the wild blueberries, but the blue is so pretty, and looks tasty too!

    • xtinaluvspink January 31, 2017 at 12:18 am #

      Yes! It actually turned out the same color as the blue sweatshirt I was wearing while making it 🙂

  9. Kerri McGrail January 30, 2017 at 8:19 pm #

    How did I not know you like in Mke?? I go to dental school at marquette! Yes- it has been dark and dreary lately, but I am sure this smoothie helps brighten up the day!

  10. awhiskandtwowands January 30, 2017 at 8:26 pm #

    Looks amazing! Love blueberry smoothies and smoothie bowls, they were on repeat all last summer and fall! I also love adding in avocado to smoothies, makes them so thick, creamy, and filling!

  11. chrissystein January 30, 2017 at 9:47 pm #

    Yeah, Wisconsin weather is great this time of year! Huge fan of blueberries here. This looks super yummy. Good luck with the contest.

  12. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) January 31, 2017 at 3:02 am #

    I love the texture an avocado adds to smoothies. Yum!

  13. ilkasblog January 31, 2017 at 9:00 am #

    Isn’t it amazing how much nutrition we can pack into a smoothie! Plus it tastes so super yummy!

  14. Byte Sized Nutrition January 31, 2017 at 12:26 pm #

    Two of my favorite foods in one! I love adding avocados to smoothies.. so creamy!!

  15. Mikki January 31, 2017 at 7:42 pm #

    Wow!! This looks fabulous!! I love smoothie bowls and this one looks fabulous!

  16. GiGi Eats Celebrities February 1, 2017 at 6:35 pm #

    Heck yes! That avocado probably makes this as smooth as a dude at a bar trying to hit on a girl. Wait no… NOT a good comparison because I am trying to say that this smoothie looks smooth and those guys ARE NOT! lol

    • xtinaluvspink February 1, 2017 at 6:41 pm #

      Bahahaha!! These are definitely smoother than bad pickup artists 😛

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 34 Post-Race Recipes and “First Call” Half Marathon Recap | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 10, 2017

    […] Wild Blueberry Avocado Protein Smoothie, from Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! […]

Leave a Reply

