Sweet Potato Noodles with Tomatoes and Beefless Ground

29 Dec

I’ve shared a few pasta recipes lately, but I know that’s not everyone’s jam. Ok, who am I kidding – everyone loves pasta, be it gluten free, whole wheat, vegan or covered in meat. But sometimes you want a meal that’s a little bit lighter. Something that is purely plant-based and fully of vitamins.

Shortly before Chris bought me the pasta machine, I bought myself a new spiralizer. The first one I owned, a handheld one, broke on the first try. That was pretty off-putting and I gave up on all variety of veggie noodles. But reading everyone else’s recipes with zoodles and the like was inspiring enough to get me to buy a new one. A better one! This is no paid endorsement, but the Brieftons Spiral Slicer is pretty freakin’ awesome. Super easy to assemble, use and clean. And it comes apart for storage wherever you have space.Sweet Potato Noodles with Tomatoes and Beefless Ground | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

This single-serving meal is quick to assemble and cooks in less than 10 minutes. Spiralize a sweet potato, saute in coconut oil with tomatoes, beefless ground and some seasoning, and you have a simple, delicious meal that’s full of all the good nutrients.

Sweet Potato Noodles with Tomatoes and Beefless Ground | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Sweet Potato Noodles with Tomatoes and Beefless Ground

Serves 1, can be doubled

  • 1 medium-large sweet potato, peeled
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 6 cherry tomatoes, quartered
  • 1/2 C beefless ground (this is a soy-based product and could be replaced with mushrooms)
  • Dash or two of your favorite spice blend
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp white wine vinegar, to serve

Begin by cutting the ends off theย sweet potato so they are flat. Use your spiralizer or some mad knife skills to make noodles out of the potato. Don’t throw out the leftover core! I sliced this into thin, tiny disks and used it with the noodles.

Heat the coconut oil over medium-high in a skillet – preferably a cast iron skillet. Saute the noodles for a few minutes, tossing frequently.

Add in the tomatoes and beefless ground, tossing to incorporate. Cook for another 5 minutes, or until the noodles are done to your liking. Sprinkle in the spice blend and black pepper. I used this local blend of onion, garlic, and other allium flavors for a great umami quality!

Sweet Potato Noodles with Tomatoes and Beefless Ground | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Serve in a bowl. Sprinkle the vinegar on top and grind more black pepper, to your liking. Enjoy!

13 Responses to “Sweet Potato Noodles with Tomatoes and Beefless Ground”

  1. diana December 29, 2016 at 8:39 am #

    I think this would be sooo very tasty! I would include the mushrooms. What do you think about adding sauted onions? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Emily Holdorf December 29, 2016 at 10:06 am #

    I just got a spiralizer for Christmas. I can’t wait to put it to use!

  3. abbey sharp December 29, 2016 at 12:52 pm #

    This looks really yummy! I need to try it!

  4. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner December 29, 2016 at 3:25 pm #

    Pasta lover over here! I also like to add in the meatless crumbles to bump up the protein

    • xtinaluvspink December 29, 2016 at 3:25 pm #

      They’re so good and nice to have on hand!

  5. Kerri McGrail December 29, 2016 at 6:26 pm #

    I can’t believe I still havent tried sweet potato noodles!! I am a sweet potato lover!

  6. carmyy December 29, 2016 at 8:21 pm #

    I would totally include the mushrooms in there because I love mushrooms! I’ve never heard of groundless beef before – it sounds interesting!

    • xtinaluvspink December 29, 2016 at 8:21 pm #

      Haha, it’s beefless ground ๐Ÿ™‚ company is Gardein. Find it in the freezer section. So good!

  7. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health December 30, 2016 at 8:47 am #

    i need to start using my spiralizer more often.

  8. nutritioulicious December 30, 2016 at 10:17 am #

    My handheld spiralizer never worked for hard veggies like sweet potatoes and carrots either (and only led to hand injuries for me – ouch!). This looks yummy – I would totally add mushrooms too!

Leave a Reply

