Homemade Fettuccine with Roasted Tomatoes

27 Dec

Homemade pasta evokes thoughts of skilled grandmas or trained chefs toiling away in the kitchen using age-old recipes. The idea of hand-making pasta seems daunting and wholly unnecessary given the massive variety of pasta available today. I mean, I have eaten black bean pasta, gluten free pasta, whole grain and whole wheat, and even spinach or garlic pasta!

But if you’ve been reading this blog for a while, you know I like a challenge, and love a new kitchen gadget. Which is why I was so excited to unwrap my birthday gift from Chris this year – he got me a pasta machine!!! It’s honestly not something I ever thought I wanted or needed but even after just one attempt, I am now completely obsessed. I dreamt of making pasta the night after I made the recipe below.

Homemade Fettuccine with Roasted Tomatoes | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

The experience was so much fun and inspiring that I was giddy with myself during the whole process! Now, I’m not all that skilled when it comes to dough. Bread is not my forte, I am rarely successful with homemade pizza crust, and cinnamon rolls take way too much concentration from me because I don’t want to screw them up. So I was rather wary when I set out to make this fettuccine. In fact, I was more than ready to through some store-bought pasta into the boiling pot of water should this fail miserably.

Homemade Fettuccine with Roasted Tomatoes | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

But oh how easy it was! A simple dough of flour, egg and water requires some kneading, but nothing crazy. One key to this is to NOT put salt in the dough. Doing so would result in tough pasta, which no one wants to eat. Save the salt for the boiling water – it will properly season the pasta while it cooks!

The machine itself was a breeze to use, and pretty fun (Chris thinks I’m crazy that I feel this way). The dough, when made properly and not sticky, goes through the rollers quickly. The cutting process is super cool – in goes a sheet of dough, out comes pasta!

Homemade Fettuccine with Roasted Tomatoes | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

The cooking process is fast, too. Fresh pasta doesn’t take long to cook, so your noodles only need to sit in the boiling water for a few minutes.

Homemade Fettuccine with Roasted Tomatoes | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

And who can forget the sauce?! I didn’t want to ruin my homemade pasta with store-bought sauce, so I opted for tomatoes roasted in olive oil. Real, true flavors make all the difference. And of course, I added cheese on top to serve. Because DUH. You could leave this out, but the creaminess and extra saltiness that the cheese provides just makes the dish.

Homemade Fettuccine with Roasted Tomatoes | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Yeah, this is carb-heavy. Yeah, it takes some time and elbow grease, though I will say the entire process from mixing dough to serving took maybe 30 minutes. The cleanup wasn’t too bad either! Oh, and the total cost of this dinner for two? Maybe $3 for all the ingredients. You can’t beat that!!

If you’re interested in the best pasta dinner you can make, I would seriously consider getting a pasta machine. No, I’m not getting paid for an endorsement, but this is the brand that Chris bought me. It’s durable, shiny and works like a charm.

Homemade Fettuccine with Roasted Tomatoes

Serves 2

  • 1 C all-purpose flour, plus more for kneading and rolling
  • 1 egg, room temperature, lightly beaten
  • 2 tbsp water, room temperature
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, washed and sliced in half
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • Sea salt and fresh black pepper
  • 2 oz freshly shredded parmesan, mozzarella or gouda cheese, to serve

Place one cup of flour in a bowl. Make a well and add the beaten egg and water. Use a fork to mix together the dough until just combined.

Lightly flour a clean counter or workspace and turn out the dough. Knead with extra flour as necessary, about 3-4 minutes. The goal is a dough that it smooth and elastic. Let sit a few minutes on a plate, or even up to 30 minutes, so the liquids can hydrate the flour completely.

Now start boiling a large pot of well-salted water. You can also preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

On a small rimmed baking sheet lined with foil, place the halved tomatoes cut-side down and drizzle with olive oil, salt and pepper. Roast these at 400 degrees until they have completely broken down, about 15 minutes. This can roast while you make the pasta.

Make sure your pasta machine is clamped to a clean table or counter. Lightly flour the surface where the rolled dough will come out.

Cut off one-quarter of the dough and feed it through the rollers on setting 0. Fold in half. Repeat this process of rolling and folding 5 more times. Then, change the rollers to setting 1 and roll the flatted dough through it. Do not fold in half at this point. Keep increasing the setting by one until you hit setting 5.

Set the long, thin flat piece of dough on a clean, damp tea towel. Cut off another quarter of the dough and repeat the above process. Continue to do this with the rest of the dough.

Move the hand crank to the cutting rollers. Feed one sheet of flat dough through the fettuccine-sized cutting rollers. Use your other free hand to collect the cut pasta. Lay flat on the damp tea towel. Repeat this process with the rest of the sheets of dough.

Now your salted water should be boiling. Gently place all the fettuccine in the boiling water. Boil for 2-4 minutes. Yes, really – fresh pasta takes very little time to cook! Taste test a piece of pasta to ensure it is your desired consistency. I like it with a little bite – not overcooked.

Drain the cooked pasta in a colander.

Now, remove the tomatoes from the oven. Heat a frying pan or cast iron skillet on medium-high. Transfer the tomatoes with the oil the cooked in, to the hot pan. Stir in the cooked pasta and toss to coat. Add more salt and pepper, to taste, and even more olive oil if desired.

Serve pasta and top with shredded cheese of your choice.

12 Responses to “Homemade Fettuccine with Roasted Tomatoes”

  1. Aliah December 27, 2016 at 9:46 am #

    YUM! This meal took no time at all…30 minutes AND you made fresh pasta! Thanks for sharing this–and mmm gouda.

  2. abbey sharp December 27, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

    Ahh this looks heavenly!!

  3. Tara @ A Daily Dose of Fit December 27, 2016 at 5:03 pm #

    #pastagoals
    I have always wanted to try making my own! Thanks for making it look easy!

  4. carmyy December 27, 2016 at 8:47 pm #

    I totally want to try my hand at making my own pasta! I should have asked for a pasta roller machine for christmas!

  5. Kerri McGrail December 27, 2016 at 8:55 pm #

    Anything homemade always beats store bought! Especialy when it doesnt take hours to make!!

  6. Kaleigh McMoride December 27, 2016 at 10:59 pm #

    This is so exciting! I got the pasta maker attachment for my KitchenAid for Christmas and I can’t wait to use it! This look AMAZING!

    • xtinaluvspink December 27, 2016 at 11:00 pm #

      OMG enjoy!! Can’t wait to see what you make!

  7. Kim & Kalee Sorey (@SoreyFitness) December 28, 2016 at 9:35 pm #

    It looks amazing, and it’s so great to know the machine was easy to use! It has always intimidated me lol!

Leave a Reply

