Chocolate Zucchini Protein Smoothie Bowl

2 Aug

A healthy smoothie is usually the best way to make a comeback from a rather unhealthy weekend.

Chris and I at GermanFest!

Every year, my family volunteers to bartend at Germanfest – Milwaukee’s kickoff to Oktoberfest. We pour beer, crack jokes, sing along to live polka bands, and have a great time. Oh, and we tend to drink a lot. And if you ever attend festivals, you know the food isn’t all that healthy either.

Chocolate Zucchini Protein Smoothie Bowl | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

So, after a pretty unhealthy weekend, I needed something healthy, hearty and full of goodness to get me back on track.

This chocolate zucchini protein bowl did the just the trick! It tastes like dessert, is packed with protein, topped with healthy fats, and naturally sweetened with an overripe banana.

Chocolate Zucchini Protein Smoothie Bowl | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Chocolate Zucchini Protein Bowl

Serves 1

  • 1/2 C non-dairy milk
  • 1/2 small zucchini, roughly chopped
  • 1 scoop chocolate vegan protein powder
  • 1/4 C old-fashioned oats
  • Dash cinnamon
  • 1 frozen overripe banana
  • 1 tbsp chia seeds
  • 1 tbsp pepitas
  • Toppings: shredded coconut, hemp seeds, cacao nibs

Puree all ingredients in your blender. Pour into a bowl and top with shredded coconut, hemp seeds, cacao nibs, or anything your heart desires!

37 Responses to “Chocolate Zucchini Protein Smoothie Bowl”

  1. Diana August 2, 2016 at 8:22 am #

    unhealthy, perhaps….but FUN!!! 🙂 and yes, back on track for Monday!

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities August 2, 2016 at 8:23 am #

    I mean, I definitely would NOT say no to a HUGE bowl of this!!

  3. sweetenedbyplants August 2, 2016 at 10:17 am #

    What a way to get veggies in for breakfast! Love it!

  4. Abbey August 2, 2016 at 12:01 pm #

    GreAt idea and way to use up extra zucchini that I have kicking around!!

  5. enna jones August 2, 2016 at 3:03 pm #

    I’m just getting into smoothie bowls. I generally stayed away from them because they resembled babyfood but this looks delish. I’ll have to try it out

    • xtinaluvspink August 2, 2016 at 3:15 pm #

      Haha! I totally understand that. I think it’s all in the toppings. I have a pantry stocked with mix-ins

  6. Glenneth R August 2, 2016 at 4:38 pm #

    looks delicious! i need to try more smoothie bowls!

  7. Chrissy @ Snacking in Sneakers August 2, 2016 at 4:59 pm #

    Wow! Does the zucchini blend well into the smoothie? I wasn’t sure if the texture would be funny? This sounds delicious though.

    • xtinaluvspink August 2, 2016 at 5:02 pm #

      I couldn’t even tell it was there. There’s more texture from the oats than anything.

  8. Beach Body Bliss August 2, 2016 at 6:32 pm #

    Some of my favorite things, all mixed up in one amazing bowl. Looks great, definitely pinning for later!

  9. Kimberly August 2, 2016 at 8:48 pm #

    I love chocolate zucchini bread, so I’ve got to give this a try! Looks yummy!

  10. carmy August 2, 2016 at 9:32 pm #

    Oh that looks soooo yum!

  11. Angela August 3, 2016 at 5:07 pm #

    This sounds absolutely fabulous!! I love the addition of zucchini, I’ve got a bumper crop in y garden, so will definitely try this!!!

  12. Abbey Sharp July 17, 2017 at 2:14 pm #

    Sounds like a perfect smoothie after a weekend of fun!!

  13. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables July 17, 2017 at 3:45 pm #

    Yum! I’ve tried cauliflower smoothies but I’ve never tried zucchini smoothies! This sounds yummy!

    • xtinaluvspink July 17, 2017 at 7:54 pm #

      I’ve tried both, and definitely prefer zucchini!

  14. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner July 17, 2017 at 5:28 pm #

    ooh kind of like a chocolate zucchini bread in a bowl!

  15. Carmy @ carmyy.com July 17, 2017 at 7:32 pm #

    I love how the toppings in the middle looks like a heart! Super cute!

  16. Chrissy Carroll July 17, 2017 at 7:51 pm #

    Zucchini in a smoothie?! MIND. BLOWN. I’m so excited to try this. I love any way I can incorporate more veggies into my smoothies.

  17. TastingPage July 17, 2017 at 8:29 pm #

    Oktoberfest is so fun isn’t it? Looks like you found a good way to transition back to healthy living!

  18. Sarah Jane @ The Fit Cookie July 17, 2017 at 9:41 pm #

    What a great idea adding zucchini to a smoothie bowl – love it! I’m a fan of zucchini so this is totally something I would make 🙂

  19. Natalie July 18, 2017 at 10:17 am #

    I never had zucchini in my smoothie bowl. I definitely must try this!

  20. angela@marathonsandmotivation.com July 18, 2017 at 12:08 pm #

    I LOVE this combo, I had never thought to add zucchini before. Thanks for the idea, can’t wait to try it 🙂

  21. Tara @ A Daily Dose of Fit July 18, 2017 at 3:52 pm #

    I will eat zucchini anything. This looks great!

  22. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) July 19, 2017 at 1:51 pm #

    I love that this is made with zucchini.

Leave a Reply

