Blistered Turmeric Zucchini

26 Jul

I have noticed many of my favorite food bloggers are posting recipes using turmeric, touting its benefits. Not one to let something healthy slip past me, I started adding the yellow spice to more than just curries. Smoothies, eggs, stir fry, pasta sauce, dips, and now: to season vegetables!

Turmeric’s claim to health fame is through its anti-inflammatory properties. Studies are showing that, when consumed with black pepper, the curcumin in turmeric can balance your mood, heal wounds, reduce aches and discomfort, balance your blood sugar, soothe tissue, help stiff joints, regulate cholesterol levels, prevent ulcers and protect against other stomach ailments. Whew, that’s quite a list! Now, you can take turmeric supplements to really optimize its benefits, but you can easily cook with it.

Blistered Turmeric Zucchini | xtinaluvspink.word.press.com

This recipe could not get simpler. Sub in any variety of fresh vegetables, or make a medley to serve along with breakfast, lunch or dinner!

Blistered Turmeric ZucchiniΒ 

Serves 2

  • 1 tbsp butter or olive oil
  • 2 medium zucchini, thinly sliced
  • 1 tsp ground turmeric
  • Sea salt and black pepper, to taste

Heat butter over medium-high in a sautee pan until melted. Add in zucchini and cook 5 minutes, until the bottom sides begin to blister. Use a spatula to flip over the zucchini and cook another 5 minutes.

Sprinkle in the turmeric, salt and pepper and storage to coat.

Serves hot and enjoy!

Blistered Turmeric Zucchini | xtinaluvspink.word.press.com

20 Responses to “Blistered Turmeric Zucchini”

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities July 26, 2016 at 8:03 am #

    Yum Yum! I keep doing this with sweet potatoes! πŸ™‚

  2. Diana July 26, 2016 at 8:10 am #

    this sounds yummy, quick and nutritious…and carb free…my kinda food! Thanks, Xtina! πŸ™‚

  3. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets July 26, 2016 at 9:16 am #

    Love this idea! I still haven’t tried turmeric but it’s amazing that it has so many beneficial properties!

  4. Susie Suzlyfe July 26, 2016 at 11:36 am #

    Anytime that zucchini is involved, I am likely to be a fan!

  5. Melissa (@melissagabbs) July 26, 2016 at 11:44 am #

    Girl, zucchini is my absolute favourite and this is my FAVOURITE way to cook it. 10 points + a gold star!!

  6. Cassi Schmigotzki (@LAWRTW) July 26, 2016 at 4:56 pm #

    Simply delicious! I need to pick up some more turmeric.

  7. Angela July 27, 2016 at 5:53 am #

    This recipe sounds amazing! I have a bumper crop of zucchini in my garden, so I will definitely be trying this recipe!! Pinned πŸ™‚

  8. Onisha Ellis July 27, 2016 at 3:39 pm #

    I can’t get into the flavor of turmeric. Since it has so many health benefits, I tried the capsules. They caused me to be dizzy. I must be turmeric intolerant. : )

  9. Mikki July 27, 2016 at 8:13 pm #

    Zucchini is one of our family favorites. So easy and versatile to cook with! These look YUMMY!

    • xtinaluvspink July 27, 2016 at 8:13 pm #

      Thank you! It’s also so abundant right now πŸ™‚

  10. Lex @ Flecksoflex July 28, 2016 at 11:29 am #

    Oooh! I just bought some zucchini, and I’ve been wanting to try turmeric in some new ways. Thanks for sharing! Pinned for later. πŸ™‚

  11. superhealthycooking January 1, 2017 at 4:20 pm #

    Sounds fantastic!! πŸ™‚ Zucchini is one of my favorite vegetable but I never tried it with turmeric πŸ™‚ Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

