Mayo-Free Egg Salad Wraps

1 Jul

Egg salad is one of those lunches that no one thinks about, but nearly everyone loves. It’s relatively simple, free of adornment, creamy, and wonderfully fulfilling.

As a kid, I remember eating egg salad sandwiches quite often. They’re perfect on a hot day when you still want a hearty meal. We’d load up our salad with mayo, yellow mustard and chopped celery for some crunch. Then pile it up on sliced bread.

Mayo-Free Egg Salad Wraps | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

This version elevates the salad just a bit, replacing mayo with almond cream aioli, yellow mustard is ditched for a more flavorful dijon mustard, and pepper flakes add a hint of heat. Make this for your kids, or bring it to your next cookout for a refreshing salad option.

Mayo-Free Egg Salad Wraps | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

The full wrap, complete with homemade balsamic refrigerator pickles!

Mayo-Free Egg Salad Wraps

Serves 4

  • 8 eggs
  • 2/3 C almond cream aioli
  • 4 tsp dijon or beer mustard
  • 6 stalks celery, finely diced
  • 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes
  • sea salt and black pepper, to taste
  • 4 10″ multigrain tortillas
  • 4 large carrots, peeled and shaved

Place eggs in a large pot and cover with water. Add about a teaspoon of salt. Cover with the lid and bring to a boil. Once boiling, remove from heat and let stand 15 minutes with the lid on.

Drain hot water and transfer the eggs into a bowl filled with ice water to stop the cooking process. Let sit while you prepare the almond cream aioli.

Once the eggs have chilled thoroughly, about an hour, peel them and chop up in a mixing bowl. Add in the aioli, mustard, celery, and spices.

Peel your carrots and, using the same peeler, shave each carrot.

Serve egg salad by placing carrot shavings in the center of each tortilla. Top with 1/4 of the egg salad and repeat with all four.

This post was part of #CookoutWeek – check out these other great cookout recipes:

30 Responses to “Mayo-Free Egg Salad Wraps”

  1. Becki @ Fighting for Wellness July 1, 2016 at 8:10 am #

    I love egg salad (and tuna, chicken, potato, really any creamy salad, haha). This looks really fabulous! I like that you added the pepper flakes for a little heat.

  2. Debbie Woodruff July 1, 2016 at 9:17 am #

    I used to love egg salad. And deviled eggs, scrambled eggs, just about anything eggy. C’est la.vie. This does give me an idea for a vegan version though. 🙂

    • xtinaluvspink July 1, 2016 at 9:20 am #

      I bet it could be made with pressed tofu! Actually, that would be really good… I’m going to have to try that.

  3. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run July 1, 2016 at 9:38 am #

    I love adding dijon mustard to my tuna salad, and I’m guessing it would taste just as wonderful in egg salad!

  4. Abbey July 1, 2016 at 11:07 am #

    That sounds amazing! I want to try making your almond cream – sounds sooo good!

  5. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables July 1, 2016 at 12:34 pm #

    I’m not a fan of mayo so I always avoid egg salad but this recipe looks perfect for me!

    • xtinaluvspink July 1, 2016 at 12:36 pm #

      Same for me! The Almond cream Aioli is soooo much better.

  6. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets July 1, 2016 at 1:48 pm #

    This looks delicious!! I love egg salad and this looks like such a healthier version!

  7. vintagekittycom July 1, 2016 at 1:52 pm #

    My mom would adore this. Thanks for the recipe!

  8. How interesting! This might make me like egg salad again

  9. wendyistakingthelongwayhome July 1, 2016 at 8:34 pm #

    I love egg salad! What a great variation!

  10. William canus July 1, 2016 at 9:07 pm #

    It sounds healthy! I like eggs, salads, and a little fruits. ^^ Really, it begins feeling hungry when looking at this food.

  11. Cassi Schmigotzki (@LAWRTW) July 1, 2016 at 9:21 pm #

    I wonder if my husband would like this….if someone else made the aioli.

  12. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health July 2, 2016 at 5:30 am #

    i love the idea of almond cream aioli..they will be perfect for all my dipping needs 🙂

  13. SuzLyfe July 2, 2016 at 6:08 am #

    I haven’t had egg salad in years. I might make this with egg whites!

  14. nutritioulicious July 2, 2016 at 9:49 am #

    I’ve never been a huge egg salad fan, but yours looks super delish. Almond cream aioli sounds really interesting as an alternative to mayo!

  15. Angela July 2, 2016 at 3:02 pm #

    These sound wonderful! I can’t wait to try them, Yum!!!

  16. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) July 2, 2016 at 4:06 pm #

    I have an egg salad recipe that I love. It’s been my go to this summer.

Leave a Reply

