Spicy Vegan Tempeh Fajitas

29 Jun

I received free product from True Made Foods and am eligible to win prizes associated with the contest. I was not compensated for my time. All opinions are my own.

Cookouts are a great time to fire up the grill, throw on some burgers and corn cobs, and slice open a watermelon for dessert. But they also present the perfect opportunity to get a bit more culinarily creative.

Think outside the burger (heehee) with some fajitas! My dad’s grill is pretty massive and therefore equipped with a side burner, perfect for a pan. He’d always throw in some veggies to cook along with the main dish, such as onions, peppers, mushrooms, and corn.

Spicy Vegan Tempeh Fajitas | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

This idea stems directly from that (thanks, dad!). These simple, flavor-packed fajitas can be made on the stovetop or on a grill’s side burner. They’re fresh and spicy at the same time, thanks to Veracha sauce. True Made Foods provided me with a lovely three-pack of their veggie-filled sauces. Yep, they make sauces out of REAL ingredients, with half the added sugar of leading brands. The spicy veracha sauce is sweet, smoky and all sorts of spicy, which makes it the perfect condiment to fajitas.

Spicy Vegan Tempeh Fajitas | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Spicy Vegan Tempeh Fajitas 

Serves 4

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 medium onion, sliced thinly
  • 2 bell peppers, different colors, sliced thinly
  • 1 package tempeh, halved lengthwise and sliced thinly
  • 1/3 C veracha sauce
  • 2 tbsp honey (or maple syrup if strictly vegan)
  • ½ tbsp dried oregano
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 4 10” multigrain or 8 small corn tortillas
  • To serve: shredded cheese, plain Greek yogurt, salsa, shredded lettuce, chopped tomato, fresh cilantro, sliced green onion

In a large cast iron skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high. Saute sliced onion and peppers for 5-7 minutes. Stir in the tempeh and cook another 3-5 minutes.

In a small bowl, mix together the veracha sauce, honey, and seasonings. Pour over the fajita mix and stir to coat. Cook another minute or two to warm the sauce through.

Serve fajitas in one large or two small tortillas per person. Top with shredded cheese, plain Greek yogurt, salsa, shredded lettuce, chopped tomato, fresh cilantro and/or sliced green onion as desired. Enjoy with a cold beer!

29 Responses to “Spicy Vegan Tempeh Fajitas”

  1. wendyistakingthelongwayhome June 29, 2016 at 8:18 am #

    Great use of tempeh. I still can’t get past the texture, tho!

    • xtinaluvspink June 29, 2016 at 8:32 am #

      Have you tried cooking it different ways? I have several recipes using tempeh on the blog, if you search for it.

  2. MaryEllen@VNutrition June 29, 2016 at 8:40 am #

    These fajitas look amazing! I need to find those sauces too!

  3. GiGi Eats Celebrities June 29, 2016 at 8:52 am #

    I CRAVE FAJITAS and these totally look like the real deal! : )

  4. Becki @ Fighting for Wellness June 29, 2016 at 9:00 am #

    I’m so glad you shared this! I love tempeh, but I usually stick to my tried and true creations instead of trying new things. I can’t wait to give these a go!

    • xtinaluvspink June 29, 2016 at 10:20 am #

      So good to hear! Tempeh is too versatile to get stuck in a rut 🙂

  5. Wendy Klik June 29, 2016 at 9:02 am #

    Love fajitas and these vegan friendly ones will be perfect to serve when I have guests over.

    • xtinaluvspink June 29, 2016 at 10:20 am #

      Yes! Everyone will be happy, regardless of diet.

  6. Tricia Vaughn June 29, 2016 at 9:04 am #

    I have never even heard of tempeh. 😦 Headed to google it now! Man I learn so much from you guys! I do like fajitas and it’s been awhile since I’ve had any.

    • xtinaluvspink June 29, 2016 at 10:21 am #

      Happy to spread the word! Tempeh is like tofu, but a firmer texture. It also tastes nuttier, and you can find several varieties, like 5-grain. I prefer Westsoy brand.

  7. SuzLyfe June 29, 2016 at 10:09 am #

    Need me some of that sauce! Who doesn’t love fajitas!

    • xtinaluvspink June 29, 2016 at 10:21 am #

      Yes!! The sauces can be ordered through their site 🙂

  8. The Clean Eating Couple June 29, 2016 at 11:56 am #

    These look fantastic!! That sauce looks yummy!

  9. Debbie Woodruff June 29, 2016 at 12:06 pm #

    Ooh, I have a package of tempeh in the fridge. This looks like a perfect way to prepare it. And the sauce looks delicious.

    • xtinaluvspink June 29, 2016 at 12:25 pm #

      I’d love to hear what you think if you try it!

  10. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner June 29, 2016 at 5:11 pm #

    I am making tempeh fajitas tonight too! They are a great meat substitute aren’t they?!

  11. abbey June 29, 2016 at 5:42 pm #

    omg these look amazing!! love fajitas!

  12. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run June 29, 2016 at 7:09 pm #

    I don’t think I have ever had tempeh before! The recipe sounds good though!

  13. Farrah June 29, 2016 at 7:33 pm #

    I need to try making things with tempeh! These look delicious! 😀

  14. Glenneth R June 30, 2016 at 4:36 am #

    looks delicious! i love fajitas and anything spicy!

  15. Julie Wunder June 30, 2016 at 9:41 am #

    OMG! I need this in my life! Another wonderful recipe.

  16. Erin Vasicek July 8, 2016 at 9:29 am #

    I love fajitas! Been too long and now I’m intrigued to try this vegan version.

    • xtinaluvspink July 8, 2016 at 9:32 am #

      Aren’t they delicious?! Thanks! I hope you make some soon.

Leave a Reply

