Tropical Protein Baked Oatmeal

24 Jun

Do you ever make the next day’s breakfast before you get to dinner? Do dream about what’s going to be on the breakfast table and wake up inspired? Are you known for planning out a week’s worth of breakfasts before the week even begins?

I doubt I’m the only one who gets so excited for breakfast that I frequently do all of the above. This recipe is a product of that trifecta.

 

Tropical Protein Baked Oatmeal | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

 

Breakfast is never a question in my mind. In fact, it’s always a given. I do my best to switch up my breakfasts to reduce boredom and try out different flavor combinations. But I also don’t enjoy having to make individual breakfasts every single day, which is why I’ve begun prepping up to a week’s worth of breakfasts all at once. Sometimes that’s a batch of breakfast chia puddings, a dozen veggie egg muffins, a loaf of hearty breakfast bread, a panful of granola, or in this case, a dish of baked oatmeal.

This baked oatmeal is the perfect make-ahead breakfast. It’s packed with fresh, tropical fruits, shredded coconut, fiber-rich oats, and plenty of flavor with cinnamon and freshly grated ginger. It’s moist and yet can be eaten on the run, and can be enjoyed cold or reheated in the microwave if that suits your fancy.

Need a bigger batch? You can easily double this recipe and bake it in a 9×13” baking dish, or portion it out into a muffin or mini loaf tin.

Tropical Protein Baked Oatmeal
Serves 6

  • 2 C old fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • ¾ tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 eggs, beaten – or make flax eggs with 2 tbsp flaxseed meal + 5 tbsp water
  • 1-1/2 C nondairy milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp coconut extract
  • 1 large over-ripe bananas, mashed well
  • 1 kiwi, diced
  • 1 mango, diced
  • 1/2 tsp grated fresh ginger

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease an 8×8″ baking dish.

In a large bowl, mix together the dry ingredients with a wooden spoon. Mix in the eggs, milk and extracts. Finally, mix in the fruit and fresh ginger.

Pour the oatmeal into prepared dish. Bake for 30 minutes. Remove and cool for 5 minutes before slicing into six pieces.

Store any leftovers in an airtight container in the fridge up to 5 days, or freezer up to a month. Reheat leftovers in the microwave.

Tropical Protein Baked Oatmeal | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

30 Responses to “Tropical Protein Baked Oatmeal”

  1. Abbey June 24, 2016 at 8:27 am #

    I love baked oatmeal! I make a big batch and freeze it in squares!

  2. Miss Whisk (@Miss_Whisk) June 24, 2016 at 11:39 am #

    This sounds delicious, pinned for later!

  3. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner June 24, 2016 at 2:52 pm #

    love baked oatmeal dishes as well but have not tried with mango and kiwi yum!

  4. Strength and Sunshine June 24, 2016 at 3:03 pm #

    I dream up my next breakfast while I’m eating breakfast 😉

  5. The Clean Eating Couple June 24, 2016 at 3:21 pm #

    Love making baked oatmeal!! It’s so yummy for breakfasts on the go!

  6. Emily @SinfulNutrition June 24, 2016 at 4:34 pm #

    Oh man this sounds SO so good! Especially when washed down with a pina colada 😉

  7. Angela June 24, 2016 at 9:53 pm #

    This looks so tasty!!! Pinned & looking forward to trying it soon 🙂

  8. Cassi Schmigotzki (@LAWRTW) June 24, 2016 at 9:56 pm #

    I haven’t tried baked oatmeal yet but this looks yummy!

    • xtinaluvspink June 24, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

      Oooh, I hope you give it a try! Great way to make a lot of breakfast in a short time.

  9. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health June 24, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

    sounds soo good with mangos esp.

  10. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) June 25, 2016 at 4:36 am #

    I’m on a baked oatmeal kick right now. It’s great to make ahead and have for the week.

  11. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run June 25, 2016 at 6:50 am #

    This sounds awesome!! And would be great to make on a Sunday for breakfasts all week long!

  12. Heather Gannoe June 25, 2016 at 2:45 pm #

    This looks delicious! I’ve been wanting to incorporate more mango into my life, I’ll have to give this a try 🙂

    • xtinaluvspink June 25, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

      This is a great way to do that! Also, they taste amazing in smoothies.

  13. GiselleR June 25, 2016 at 6:56 pm #

    haha I’m alwayssss dreaming about breakfast. It’s my last thought before bed and my first as soon as I wake up
    p.s. this looks amazing!

    • xtinaluvspink June 25, 2016 at 9:42 pm #

      We’re so on the same page! And thank you 🙂

  14. Lex @ Flecksoflex June 25, 2016 at 7:26 pm #

    Oh man! Eating breakfast consistently has been a lifelong struggle for me, but I totally dig oatmeal! I have some new protein powders I’m trying out, so I’ll have to figure out how to incorporate them into my oatmeal. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • xtinaluvspink June 25, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

      Fantastic! Hope you can work in some more breakfast 🙂

  15. sprint2thetable June 27, 2016 at 1:08 am #

    Ummmmm… yeah. I actually go to bed at night thinking about what I’ll have for breakfast. it’s the best meal of the day!

    You know I’m a protein powder junkie, so this is perfect for me!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 34 Post-Race Recipes and “First Call” Half Marathon Recap | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 10, 2017

    […] Tropical Protein Baked Oatmeal, from Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! […]

Leave a Reply

