Honey Roasted Rhubarb Smoothie

21 Jun

Happy birthday to the Recipe Redux! This recipe group has allowed me to explore strange new worlds and seek out new civilizations delicious new ingredients and try new flavor combinations. Each month, we’re challenged to produce a healthy recipe within a specific theme, and that has been great fun! For this birthday month, we’ve been asked to celebrate other redux bloggers by recreating one of their recipes. I took this opportunity to celebrate Trish over at Rhubarbarians.

When rhubarb season first began — and it is a fleeting season — I knew I wanted to develop a rhubarb smoothie. The tart vegetable is one I’ve loved since childhood, but also one which was always prepared with huge amounts of sugar and cream – not exactly the healthiest choice. But when I saw a honey roasted rhubarb smoothie on Trish’s blog, I knew that her creation would be delicious.

Honey Roasted Rhubarb Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Trish’s original recipe is for a smoothie bowl. I’ve learned over time that I actually prefer straight up smoothies – there’s something about drinking a glass full of goodness that my mind and body really enjoy. So with that end goal in mind, I have slightly altered the original creation to suit my smoothie needs. This recipe makes one large smoothie, which is the perfect way to follow up an intense workout, or a session of exercising in the hot sun. Pull out that frozen ‘barb, or your farmer’s market haul, and get roasting & blending!

Honey Roasted Rhubarb Smoothie, adapted from Rhubarbarians
Serves 1

  • 2 C chopped rhubarb
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1/2 C plain Greek yogurt
  • 1/2 C canned coconut milk or soy milk
  • 1/2 cold banana, sliced
  • Chia seeds to garnish

Note: Roast the rhubarb ahead of time, either four hours before you plan to enjoy this smoothieย or the night before. This ensures a cold smoothie at the finish line.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line a baking sheet with foil and spray with PAM. Spread out chopped rhubarb and drizzle with honey. Bake for 15 minutes. Let the roasted rhubarb drain in a sieve, and then cool in the fridge (or freezer!) until ready to make your smoothie.

Blend together the chilled roasted rhubarb, yogurt, milk, and banana until smooth and creamy. Pour into your favorite smoothie glass and garnish with chia seeds and extra roasted rhubarb, if desired.

As the first and only recipe challenge founded by registered dietitians, The Recipe ReDux aims to inspire the food lover in every healthy eaterย andย inspire the healthy eater in every food lover. Thank you for visiting. We hope you enjoy!

(Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux posts only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.)

25 Responses to “Honey Roasted Rhubarb Smoothie”

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities June 21, 2016 at 8:09 am #

    I need to try rhubarb!! Never have I ever! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

  2. Serena Ball MS, RD (@tspcurry) June 21, 2016 at 8:20 am #

    I ADORE rhubarb – but have never roasted it! I’ve also never made a coconut banana shake….but I will! Maybe our next theme will be to explore strange new worlds?! (:

    • xtinaluvspink June 21, 2016 at 10:21 am #

      Hahaha! I did that in our Star Trek party a few months ago ๐Ÿ™‚ This was my first time roasting rhubarb, but certainly not my last!

  3. The Clean Eating Couple June 21, 2016 at 8:28 am #

    This looks super refreshing! I haven’t ever cooked with rhubarb.

  4. Sierra Bishop June 21, 2016 at 1:31 pm #

    This looks amazing! I love Rhubarb pie and think this smoothie is going to be awesome! Will try it soon!

  5. Trish @ Rhubarbarians June 21, 2016 at 2:01 pm #

    Awesome! So glad you were inspired by the smoothie bowl recipe!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    • xtinaluvspink June 21, 2016 at 2:06 pm #

      So delicious ๐Ÿ™‚ thanks for stopping by!

  6. Strength and Sunshine June 21, 2016 at 3:05 pm #

    Rhubarb season is too short!!!

    • xtinaluvspink June 21, 2016 at 3:06 pm #

      I totally agree! That’s why I chop and freeze a bunch of it ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run June 21, 2016 at 3:15 pm #

    I have actually never had rhubarb! I also had no idea it was a vegetable! For some reason, I thought it was considered a fruit! lol

  8. Emily @SinfulNutrition June 21, 2016 at 4:48 pm #

    This sounds SO good! I’m am totally team rhubarb right now. ๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Melissa (@melissagabbs) June 21, 2016 at 5:15 pm #

    Yay for rhubarb! I’m sad I didn’t get my hands on any this season but I should probably be on the look out so I make this awesome smoothie!

    • xtinaluvspink June 21, 2016 at 5:46 pm #

      I’ve seen it at farmers markets this past weekend.

  10. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets June 21, 2016 at 6:34 pm #

    I haven’t used rhubarb in a long time, love the idea of putting it in a smoothie!

  11. sprint2thetable June 22, 2016 at 10:53 am #

    I love this idea! I actually don’t like rhubarb pie (mostly because I don’t like pie… weird, I know), so I don’t really eat rhubarb. This is a way I could get on board!

    • xtinaluvspink June 22, 2016 at 10:56 am #

      Oddly enough, I’ve never had rhubarb pie! But I do love pie ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner June 22, 2016 at 8:38 pm #

    oh wow rhubarb! How interesting I love it

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 34 Post-Race Recipes and “First Call” Half Marathon Recap | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 10, 2017

    [โ€ฆ] Honey Roasted Rhubarb Smoothie,ย from Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! [โ€ฆ]

Leave a Reply

