Blackberry Walnut Protein Smoothie

7 Jun

By posting this recipe I am entering a recipe contest sponsored by the California Walnut Commission and am eligible to win prizes associated with the contest. I was not compensated for my time.

I’ve tried something new recently: adding nuts to my protein smoothie. Normally, my smoothies are made up of a protein powder, fruit, greens, chia seeds or flaxseed meal, and cinnamon or fresh ginger. Now, I’ve totally added peanut butter before, but I’ll put peanut butter on almost anything.

Blackberry Walnut Protein Smoothie |xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

This was different. I added a 1/4 cup serving of raw, whole walnuts to my smoothie and was BLOWN AWAY. Blended with the traditional smoothie ingredients, the walnuts made for a creamier, heartier smoothie than I could have imagined. A smoothie is usually a mid-point kind of food for me. I’ll blend one up following a tough workout, which revives me enough to shower and come down from that exercise high before I can actually make a “real” meal. They tide me over if dinner is going to be super late, or if I know I won’t be eating until brunch time on the weekends and need to calm my awoken stomach.

But this smoothie, loaded with protein, natural sugars, iron and fiber, are given an even great nutrient boost with an ounce of walnuts. These nutty gems provide 2.5 grams of plant-based Omega-3 ALA (which is super important for those who don’t consume meat), 4 grams of protein (yay!), and 2 grams of fiber (can’t get enough of that). They add a subtle flavor and the texture is hardly changed from nut-less smoothies, so there’s nothing to worry about there.

Blackberry Walnut Protein Smoothie |xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Add some walnuts to your next smoothie and prepare to be wowed! Better yet: try this one on for size. The blackberry puree is such a great flavor, only enhanced by the walnuts.

Thanks to the California Walnut Board for prompting the creation of this smoothie! Look for more walnutty recipes to come this week 🙂

Blackberry Walnut Protein Smoothie
Serves 1

  • 1 C cold water
  • 1 scoop vanilla protein powder
  • 4 oz frozen blackberry pulp (or 1/2 cup frozen blackberries)
  • 1/3 block frozen spinach (or 1 packed cup fresh spinach)
  • 1/4 C raw walnuts

Add all ingredients (minus the garnish) to the jug of your blender. Puree until smooth. Pour into your favorite smoothie glass and garnish with additional walnuts. Enjoy cold!

Sponsor website & social sites:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cawalnuts
Twitter: https://twitter.com/CaWalnuts
Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.com/cawalnuts/
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/cawalnuts/ 

As the first and only recipe challenge founded by registered dietitians, The Recipe ReDux aims to inspire the food lover in every healthy eater and inspire the healthy eater in every food lover. Thank you for visiting. We hope you enjoy!

(Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux posts only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.)

27 Responses to “Blackberry Walnut Protein Smoothie”

  1. Deanna Segrave-Daly (@tspbasil) June 7, 2016 at 9:41 am #

    Ooh -now you’ve inspired me to add some walnuts to my morning mocha banana frappe!

  2. Becki June 7, 2016 at 10:08 am #

    I love the flavor of walnuts, so this is totally something I would do. Maybe I can somehow convince myself I’m eating my mother’s walnut cake that she makes at Christmas.

    • xtinaluvspink June 7, 2016 at 10:09 am #

      Hahaha! Come back tomorrow for a healthier take on an old walnut favorite 🙂

  3. Sierra Bishop June 7, 2016 at 12:13 pm #

    This is awesome! I make smoothies on the regular and save leftovers for popsicles for kids and think I will have to throw in more nuts! I do have a very nutty family! 🙂

  4. Amanda Brooks (@RunToTheFinish) June 7, 2016 at 1:26 pm #

    huge fan of finding new ways to make my smoothie awesome!! rotating ingredients is key to getting our nutrition right!

  5. Hollie June 7, 2016 at 2:41 pm #

    I love the taste of walnuts! I’m sure they give this recipe a great flavor twist! And adds another punch of protein! Looks really good, will have to try!

    • xtinaluvspink June 7, 2016 at 2:48 pm #

      Thank you!! Yes, the walnuts really round out the smoothie!

  6. Emily @SinfulNutrition June 7, 2016 at 5:34 pm #

    This sounds so good! I never thought to put nuts in my smoothie, but am totally trying it sometime!

  7. Cindy Kerschner June 7, 2016 at 5:50 pm #

    Great idea of putting walnuts in your smoothie! Time to give it a whirl! 😉

  8. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health June 7, 2016 at 6:29 pm #

    nice way to get your protein and fats in.

  9. GiGi Eats Celebrities June 7, 2016 at 6:55 pm #

    Black Berries and WALNUTS huh?! That’s an interestingly sweet combo!

  10. Julie Wunder June 7, 2016 at 8:01 pm #

    Love the addition of walnuts here! So unique and delish.

  11. ilkasblog June 8, 2016 at 6:41 am #

    Love adding walnuts to my smoothie, too! Great morning fuel!

  12. Angela June 8, 2016 at 9:35 am #

    This looks so delicious! I can’t wait to try it, Pinned 🙂

  13. Carmy June 8, 2016 at 3:06 pm #

    Looks delicious! I’ll need to pin this for later!

  14. Lucie @WIN-WIN FOOD June 8, 2016 at 7:51 pm #

    I love nuts and seeds in smoothies! Combining walnuts and blackberries sounds fantastic 🙂

  15. Courtney's Cookbook June 9, 2016 at 6:50 pm #

    I love smoothies– such a great idea to add walnuts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

