Black Bean Pesto Pasta

2 Jun

This week seems to have me dashing between post-work activities. Whether that’s from the mall to yoga class, or from a run, to the shower, to orchestra rehearsal, I haven’t gotten much time at home!

But that’s no excuse for not cooking. Yep, you heard me: being “busy” does not automatically translate into “picking up something for dinner.” There is almost always time to whip up a healthy meal, and this recipe is a perfect example of that!

Black Bean Pesto Pasta | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

OK, it’s really more of a suggested pairing than a proper recipe. But, there is heat involved and mixing. So that counts, right? Regardless its classification, this pasta is DELISH. Black beans provide a ton of fiber and protein, whole wheat pasta is a nice load of carbs for when you’re running around, and the pesto adds the perfect flavor. I keep a jar of my favorite brand in the fridge for a quick flavor boost.

Black Bean Pesto Pasta
Serves 4

  • 8 oz shell pasta – whole wheat or gluten free, as desired
  • 1 15 oz can (or 1-1/2 C cooked from dry) black beans, rinsed & drained
  • 3 tbsp prepared vegan pesto sauce

Bring a pot of salted water to boil. Cook pasta to al dente, according to package directions.

Drain the cooked pasta and return to the warm pot. Mix in the black beans and pesto sauce.

Serve pasta garnished with fresh chives or chiffonade basil.

Black Bean Pesto Pasta | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

24 Responses to “Black Bean Pesto Pasta”

  1. Diana June 2, 2016 at 8:14 am #

    Totally digging that this is yummy AND healthy….whoda thunk that combination can be? thx!

  2. Becki June 2, 2016 at 10:42 am #

    We eat a ton of black beans in our house, now if I can just sell my boyfriend on pesto, haha. This really does sound delicious and super quick/easy.

    • xtinaluvspink June 2, 2016 at 10:43 am #

      Too funny! It’s my boyfriend who sold me on pesto!!

  3. Liz @ The Clean Eating Couple June 2, 2016 at 1:05 pm #

    Black beans are so versatile! I would’ve never thought to put them in a pesto – that’s so creative !

  4. Carmy June 2, 2016 at 1:29 pm #

    I have both pesto and black beans but never thought to put them together!

    • xtinaluvspink June 2, 2016 at 2:23 pm #

      Oh good, glad to hear this is a unique combination!

  5. Stephanie @ Wholesome Paradise June 2, 2016 at 2:03 pm #

    Looks yummy! Too bad I don’t eat gluten and I can’t have black beans during my Whole30 challenge.

    • xtinaluvspink June 2, 2016 at 2:24 pm #

      Aw, man! You could sub in some type of beef, maybe. And use GF pasta.

  6. Strength and Sunshine June 2, 2016 at 2:58 pm #

    The most perfect easy healthy meal!

  7. Lex @ Flecksoflex June 2, 2016 at 4:15 pm #

    What an unexpected combo! We just had a debate in our office the other day about our favorite beans, and it turned out I was the only one who likes black beans! Here I was thinking everybody loves them as much as I do. 😦

    • xtinaluvspink June 2, 2016 at 4:16 pm #

      I do, I do!! I make a crockpot of black beans every weekend, for eating during the week.

  8. Chrissy @ Snacking in Sneakers June 2, 2016 at 5:21 pm #

    I LOVE that this has only 3 ingredients! Talk about simple. I haven’t done too many pasta dishes with beans but can’t wait to try this one.

  9. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health June 2, 2016 at 8:17 pm #

    i need to utilize the basil from my garden and make pesto sooon.

    • xtinaluvspink June 2, 2016 at 10:14 pm #

      I need to learn how to keep a basil plant alive longer than a week! Haha!

  10. Julie Wunder June 3, 2016 at 11:33 am #

    Such a yummy idea! I cook with black bean so much!

    • xtinaluvspink June 3, 2016 at 11:42 am #

      Do you have a favorite recipe or way to use them?

  11. Angela June 3, 2016 at 2:05 pm #

    This looks fabulous! I can’t wait to try it, thanks for sharing!!

  12. GiselleR June 3, 2016 at 2:24 pm #

    I need to remember this for busy days. I usually do pasta with lentils and tomato based pasta sauce, but this would be an awesome alternative πŸ™‚

  13. Wendy Rivard June 3, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

    STOP with the yummy recipes! This sounds so delish. Pinning…again!

  14. Caitlyn April 27, 2017 at 7:17 am #

    Thanks for the excellent advice, it actually is useful.

Leave a Reply

