Zucchini Bread Protein Breakfast Loaves

31 May

Do you tend to over-buy produce because it’s in season and on sale? I am notorious for this, which means that my freezer usually ends up stocked full of unmarked containers holding various chopped fruits and vegetables. A family friend has rhubarb to unload? I’ll take the lot! Zucchini season? Give me all of it! Tables of fresh berries at the farmer’s market? I’ll buy as much as I can hold!

This recipe came about when I remembered a container of zucchini in my freezer that I had shredded prior to storing. In an effort to make something healthy, rich in protein, and chock full of flavor, I developed a vegan, gluten free, no sugar added version of zucchini bread.

Zucchini Bread Protein Breakfast Loaves | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Now, my Oma’s zucchini bread is and will always be the absolute best. But it’s also a treat that I can’t justify as a regular breakfast food. These mini loaves, however, are perfect for breakfast! They contain just the right balance of carbs, fat, protein and fiber to keep you full and satisfied until lunch time. They also make great snacks to enjoy pre- or post-workout. It’s basically an acceptable and healthful way to eat “cake” anytime throughout the day!

Bake up these quick & easy zucchini bread protein breakfast loaves the next time you have too much zucchini around – you’ll definitely be glad you did! I enjoyed one as pre-run fuel for the Chocoholic 5K I did this weekend with my mom. I ran it, finished, and went back in to walk with mom as she finished. We both managed to beat our own time goals! I suspect it was because chocolate was promised at the end 🙂

Zucchini Bread Protein Breakfast Loaves | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Zucchini Bread Protein Breakfast Loaves | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Finally, check out the sharing buttons below this post – I’ve (finally) added a YUM button, so if you’re on Yummly, be sure to save your favorite recipes to your Recipe Box! If you’re not signed up, I highly recommend it – Yummly is the perfect place to discover and save recipes that are just right for you.

Zucchini Bread Protein Breakfast Loaves
Makes 7 mini loaves

  • 1 C shredded zucchini, water squeezed or drained out
  • 8 oz unsweetened, natural applesauce
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil, melted
  • 1 egg, whisked
  • 6 tbsp water or nondairy milk
  • 1-1/2 C oat flour (grind oats in your food processor)
  • 1/2 C almond flour
  • 1 scoop (30g) vanilla protein powder (preferably plant-based)
  • 1-1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • sea salt
  • 1/3 C mini chocolate chips or chopped cacao nibs

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a mini loaf pan with olive oil PAM. No mini loaf pan? Just make muffins!

In a large bowl, mix together the shredded zucchini, applesauce, melted coconut oil, egg and water. Mix in all the dry ingredients until thoroughly combined. Finally, fold in the mini chocolate chips.

Scoop batter into greased mini loaf (or muffin) pan. You will get 7 loaves, with the cavities filled about 3/4 up.

Bake at 350 for 25 min. Remove from oven and let cool 10 minutes before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Store cooled loaves in the fridge in an airtight container up to 5 days, or freeze in freezer bags for a couple months. If frozen, let thaw in the fridge overnight before eating for breakfast.

Linking up with Running on Happy & The Fit Foodie Mama, and Confessions of a Mother Runner & A Whisk and Two Wands for #MeatlessMonday and Ilka’s Blog and Marathons & Motivation for Sunday Fitness & Food Linkup!

25 Responses to “Zucchini Bread Protein Breakfast Loaves”

  1. GiGi Eats Celebrities May 31, 2016 at 8:39 am #

    Mmmmm!!! it looks so moist!

  2. Kyra @ Vie De La Vegan May 31, 2016 at 8:46 am #

    This zucchini bread sounds so yummy (especially with the chocolate chips! I’ve never tried a choc chip zucchini bread before!) ❤ the Chocoholic 5K sounds like a lot of fun too – the promise of chocolate at the end would definitely motivate me too 😀

  3. Liz @ The Clean Eating Couple May 31, 2016 at 12:30 pm #

    This looks so good! Pinned it so I can make it when we have an abundance of zucchini from the garden 🙂

  4. Glenneth R May 31, 2016 at 5:15 pm #

    i used to eat zucchini bread all the time when i was young. can’t remember the last time i had it. thanks for the recipe!

  5. masala girl May 31, 2016 at 6:42 pm #

    yum, that’s just how i make mine! TONS of zucchini, clean ingredients 🙂 i hate when people are like “zucchini bread: 1/2 c zucchini, 3 c flour, 1.5 c sugar….” not enough zucchini!

  6. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) May 31, 2016 at 7:03 pm #

    This looks delicious! I love baking with zucchini. It keeps recipes moist.

  7. kstewjones May 31, 2016 at 8:29 pm #

    Yum! I will be making this once I have some zucchini in my garden! I love making double chocolate Zuchinni bread! I love how moist it turns out

  8. Amber Keech May 31, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

    This sounds delicious! I always buy too much zucchini this time of year because it is so dang cheep! I love zucchini bread and will definitely have to give this a try!

  9. Natalie @ A Fit Philosophy May 31, 2016 at 11:34 pm #

    Oh my gosh, this looks delicious! I love using zucchini when baking!

  10. Julie Wunder June 1, 2016 at 7:19 am #

    How yummy! Zucchini really makes bread delish! Can’t wait to try it.

  11. Melissa (@melissagabbs) June 1, 2016 at 8:44 am #

    Totally filing this one away for when I have zucchini on zucchini from my CSA share!

  12. GiselleR June 1, 2016 at 11:44 am #

    I never thought of shredding and freezing zucchini before but I’m definitely going to give it a try. I’m always buying way too much and I never get a chance to use it all before it goes bad.

    • xtinaluvspink June 1, 2016 at 11:51 am #

      I highly recommend it! Most uses of zucchini require it shredded anyway, might as well reduce food waste and save for when you’ll use it. Or, just plan a day to bake A LOT and freeze the baked goods.

  13. Angela June 3, 2016 at 9:22 pm #

    These look wonderful, I can’t wait to use some zucchini from my Garden to try these!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tropical Protein Baked Oatmeal | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - June 24, 2016

    […] once. Sometimes that’s a batch of breakfast chia puddings, a dozen veggie egg muffins, a loaf of hearty breakfast bread, a panful of granola, or in this case, a dish of baked […]

  2. 34 Post-Race Recipes and “First Call” Half Marathon Recap | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 10, 2017

    […] Zucchini Bread Protein Loaves, from Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! […]

Leave a Reply

