Tailgating with Cheese

5 May

Tailgating, er I mean baseball season is well underway. And that means grilling out, coolers full of beer, and hanging out with friends in a massive parking lot. Don’t get stuck in a tailgate rut – whip up these recipes for a cheesy, successful tailgate experience all summer long! Head over to the Wisconsin Cheese Mart blog for these recipes and more.

Tailgating with Cheese | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Jalapeno Popper Pasta Salad

Tailgating with Cheese | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

I don’t know about your city, but Milwaukee is filled with sports bars. Almost every corner has a neighborhood sports bar, with tap lines, bar food, tons of TVs, and memorabilia from every possible local team you can think of. Most bar menus are packed with deep fried foods, burgers, fries, and pizza – certainly nothing meant for tailgating. Which is why I created a pasta salad version of jalapeno poppers! This salad is overflowing with the spice of jalapenos, which are included in three ways: sautéed, fresh, and within this delicious Monterrey Jack jalapeno cheese. What’s more: this is so easy to make the night before you head out tailgating, and the flavor will only intensify overnight! It’s the perfect side to whatever you throw on the grill.

Beer Cheddar Dip

Tailgating with Cheese | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Traditional beer cheese dip is delicious, but also gooey, hot, and messy. Not exactly tailgate-friendly. But the flavors sure are! This take on the classic brings out the taste of the beer and increases the amount of cheese. Take the time to reduce down a bottle of beer on the stove – it makes all the difference in this dip, as the flavor remains but the liquid evaporates. Add an entire block of sharp cheddar, and your tailgate party clamoring for more. It’s great with pretzels, raw veggies, or to spread on a bun for your grilled eats!

Sausage-Mozzarella Rollups

Tailgating with Cheese | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

These cute rollups are reminiscent of baseball bats, as slices of summer sausage get rolled around smoked mozzarella sticks. This goes out to all my meat-eating friends. Vegetarians, enjoy this smoked mozzarella on its own, it’s so flavorful!

Oatmeal, Almond & Cranberry White Cheddar Cookies

Tailgating with Cheese | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

I usually opt to bring something sweet to a tailgate party, because one can only eat so many grilled foods. These treats are like oatmeal raisin cookies to the extreme. They’re packed with oats (so they’re obviously healthy), chopped almonds for crunch, and cranberry white cheddar cheese. Yep! Cheese IN cookies! An entire block of cranberry white cheddar is chopped up and folded in, as you would do with raisins or chocolate chips. This sweet-salty cheese lends the perfect flavor profile to a cookie for tailgating. It’ll go great with that cold can of beer you just cracked open, and travels nicely with no mess. Make a batch and knock it out of the park with these sweet treats!

Tailgating with Cheese | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Chris and I enjoying the first Brewers game of this season!

19 Responses to “Tailgating with Cheese”

  1. Becki May 5, 2016 at 8:13 am #

    You’re speaking my language: cheese! I can’t wait to try the cookies, I’m so intrigued.

  2. Cheese is the reason I am not a vegan! Never heard of cheese in cookies yummy!

    • xtinaluvspink May 5, 2016 at 12:16 pm #

      Haha! Same for me 🙂 and, these cookies are so addicting, you’ll love the cheese in them!

  3. carmyy May 5, 2016 at 12:15 pm #

    oooooh I want to try the beer cheddar dip!

  4. Lex @ Flecksoflex May 5, 2016 at 7:05 pm #

    A girl after my own heart! Another cheese lover! You had me at, “Add an entire block of sharp cheddar.” 🙂 Love, love, cheese recipes, so thanks for sharing yours!

  5. lacey@fairytalesandfitness May 5, 2016 at 11:03 pm #

    That popper salad sounds tasty. And who doesn’t love cheese dip. Yum!

  6. Julie @ Running in a Skirt May 10, 2016 at 6:41 am #

    I have never met a cheese I don’t like! This all looks so very tasty!

  7. Glenneth R July 20, 2016 at 12:42 pm #

    i love all things cheese. that beer cheddar dip looks amazing. i love a good beer cheddar soup as well.

    • xtinaluvspink July 20, 2016 at 12:44 pm #

      I love beer cheese soup! I have one with quinoa on the blog, too 🙂

  8. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run July 20, 2016 at 2:47 pm #

    I love cheese! When I was a kid, I’d eat shredded cheddar cheese by the bowl. I stay away from cheese now for healthy dieting reasons, but that doesn’t mean I don’t think all of these recipes look AMAZING!!! So yummy!

    • xtinaluvspink July 20, 2016 at 2:52 pm #

      Aw, thanks! I love cheese too, and refuse to give it up. So, I make it a conscious choice in my overall diet, and enjoy it like crazy! I’ll eat some for you 🙂

  9. Debbie Woodruff July 20, 2016 at 3:47 pm #

    Sometimes I’m sad I don’t eat cheese anymore. These look pretty good!

  10. Natalie July 20, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

    oh my god yes! SO excited for football season!

  11. Heather Gannoe (@runfastermommy) July 21, 2016 at 6:24 am #

    Cheese is my weakness, the one thing that has kept me from going full vegan! These look good!

  12. Emily Knight (@OurKnightLife) July 21, 2016 at 11:38 am #

    Love cheese! I try to limit it, but it’s so hard!! I think those mozz sausage rollups would be a huge hit in our home!!

Leave a Reply

