Chipotle-Pumpkin Vegan Quesadillas

29 Apr

As much as I LOVE cheese, it has its time and place. Following last night’s run, all I wanted was a hearty, healthy, low fat, and quick dinner. I always keep multigrain tortillas stocked in the fridge, just like I keep canned pumpkin puree in the pantry. This base got my creative juices running WHILE I was running. Quesadillas are simple meal that’s easy to whip up when I’m sweaty and only thinking about a shower.

Chipotle-Pumpkin Vegan Quesadillas | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

To add some heat and flavor, I blend chipotle peppers with the pumpkin. This still needed a fillingΒ and a dose of protein, so I saute an onion with peas. The final product is a delicious, flavorful quesadilla that’s packed with complex carbs, potassium, protein and healthy fats. Make this the next time you need to refuel, or just want to get a quick dinner on the table for your family. This would pair nicely with any kind of salad, or even just sliced fresh vegetables!

Chipotle-Pumpkin Vegan Quesadillas

Serves 4

  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 1 large onion, quartered and sliced
  • 1.5 C frozen green peas
  • 1 15oz can pumpkin puree
  • 2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce
  • 4 10″ multigrain tortillas
  • sea salt, to taste

Heat coconut oil in a large skillet over medium-high. Cook the sliced onion and peas together, 5-7 minutes. You’re going for a slight char on the onion to provide flavor.

In the meantime, puree the pumpkin with the chipotle peppers in a food processor, scraping down the sides as necessary. NOTE: use more or fewer chipotle peppers depending on your spice preferences!

Once the onions & peas are cooked, transfer them to a bowl. Spread 1/4 of the pumpkin mix onto the surface of two tortillas. Top one with half of the onion mixture and sandwich the other tortilla on top. Spray the same skillet with PAM or melt more coconut oil – heat over medium-high again. Cook the quesadilla 2-3 minutes on each side; transfer to a plate, sprinkle with sea salt, and repeat the process with the other two tortillas and the rest of the mixes.

Slice each quesadilla into four quarters, serving two quarters to everyone. Enjoy hot!

Chipotle-Pumpkin Vegan Quesadillas | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

17 Responses to “Chipotle-Pumpkin Vegan Quesadillas”

  1. Kyra April 29, 2016 at 9:03 am #

    Quesadillas are a great quick dinner! I love these pumpkin quesadillas (who needs cheese anyway? :D) ❀

  2. Stephanie April 29, 2016 at 11:11 am #

    These quesadillas look delicious. I would have never thought to put pumpkin in a quesadilla. What a great idea!

    • xtinaluvspink April 29, 2016 at 11:47 am #

      Thank you! Pretty much anything creamy works as “glue” in a Quesadilla πŸ™‚

  3. Sandra Laflamme April 29, 2016 at 1:05 pm #

    I had never thought to use pumpkin in quesadillas! Thanks for inspiring me to give it a try!

    • xtinaluvspink April 29, 2016 at 1:05 pm #

      Yay! Let me know your thoughts if you do πŸ™‚

  4. nutritioulicious April 29, 2016 at 1:47 pm #

    I love making quesadillas with winter squash! I have a similar recipe for sweet potato quesadillas that have black beans in them too. So yummy!

  5. Julie @ Running in a Skirt April 29, 2016 at 2:10 pm #

    You seriously can’t go wrong with this flavor combination! And I’m always ready for a quesadilla!

  6. Rebecca @ Strength and Sunshine April 29, 2016 at 2:59 pm #

    I’d say that’s a fabulous dinner!

  7. The Fit Cookie (@thefitcookie) April 29, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

    These look like a delicious dinner! I bet they would taste great with Daiya cheese – it’s our favorite vegan cheese!

  8. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health April 29, 2016 at 10:15 pm #

    i have made chili with pumpkin and chipotle together..quesadilla sounds ahmazing!!!

  9. Kelli @ Hungry Hobby April 30, 2016 at 5:34 pm #

    Love pumpkin quesadillas! I usually make mine with eggs and goat cheese, I never thought about chipotle flavor I bet that hits the spot!

  10. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) April 30, 2016 at 7:37 pm #

    I have a pumpkin quesadilla recipe that I love love. This is a yummy twist on my favorite.

Leave a Reply

