Training for my 2nd Half Marathon + Running Belt Giveaway!

4 Mar

It’s March. And it’s still averaging 30 degrees out during my runs. But I’ve signed up for my second half Marathon, on May 14, which means training is in full swing! Honestly, I feel more laid back about this one. Maybe because it’s no longer a “first” for me. Maybe because it’s so cold out that I don’t feel nearly as motivated to go running as I did the first time around. Either way, my training plan keeps moving, and I need to move with it!

To help me get there, SLS3 sent me a running belt to try out. Previously, I’ve only ever used an armband for my phone. That can get clunky, especially if you have a bigger device. Sometimes it falls down my arm, gets turned around, and the phone’s buttons can be hard to reach. Still, it’s been my go-to so far, as my phone acts as both my music/podcast player AND running tracker.

When SLS3 offered to send me a running belt, I was elated! I’ve been wanting to try one out, and here was a perfect opportunity. One of their newer running belts is this Dual Pocket Water Resistant Running Belt. It’s slim, has two zipper pockets, and the adjustable straps make it easy to fit your body.

running belt

So what did I think of it? I’ve run a few times exclusively with the belt – left the armband at home – and here are the pros and cons:

Pros –

  • It’s small and light-weight, so you can forget that you’re wearing it.
  • The two pockets are ideal for keys, ID & money, salt tablets, snacks for longer runs, and your phone.
  • Once you’ve adjusted the fit, it’s pretty much set for you to use over and over again.
  • It comes in four colors, to match your running style.
  • It’s water resistant, which is obviously a plus, especially when you get caught in the rain or snow.
  • It folds up to be nicely compact, for runners who are traveling.

Cons –

  • It tends to ride up on your belly. At first, this was uncomfortable, but I did get used to it. However, this seems to be true for most running belts.
  • The pockets are slim, so it won’t fit all phones. Mine phone is 5.4″ and only just fits.
  • The zippers aren’t made to be opened while running. The zip pulls are small, and you pretty much need to slow to a walk to take out anything.
  • If you’re using your phone for music or tracking, the above con makes it very difficult to pull out the phone to switch songs or check your miles/pace/location. Again, must slow to a walk.
  • There’s no slit for headphones. I had to zip up my phone just so, allowing the headphone-jack side to stick out of the end of the zipper.
  • The buckle clasp is sturdy, but requires both hands to open and close.

Overall, I can see myself using this belt frequently, especially for my long runs. The ability to store all the essentials in one compact place, rather than the tiny pocket in my running tights, is ideal.

Training for my 2nd Half Marathon + Running Belt Giveaway! | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Post-run, sporting the belt!

This Rafflecopter giveaway has ended.

 

6 Responses to “Training for my 2nd Half Marathon + Running Belt Giveaway!”

  1. Diana March 4, 2016 at 8:23 am #

    Thanks for trying this out and sharing the pros and cons. Often thought about getting one of these just for that same reason of all in one place. As summer comes, there is less material on me and less places to ‘store’ my essentials. this is a ‘must check out and purchase’ on my next store visit…unless the lucky winner is…? (JK!). Thanks for the update on the product…and i’ll assume my tummy will keep it in check! 🙂 Diana

  2. Rosey Rebecca March 7, 2016 at 8:47 am #

    I love running belts. I have a spibelt and it’s awesome. To be honest I use it more for biking and walking since I don’t run much these days. I agree that it’s annoying to have to unzip to look at your phone and that’ there’s no slit for headphones. Great review! Glad you like it– maybe you can continue using your armband for your phone and just use the running belt for keys and other essentials!

    Good luck with your training!

    • xtinaluvspink March 7, 2016 at 8:51 am #

      I could totally see this for biking and walking too. Someday, we’ll all have built in tech and pockets with keyrings 🙂

  3. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner March 7, 2016 at 3:31 pm #

    I tried out that belt as well and really liked how it stays in place while I am running. Good luck with the race1

  4. Glenneth Reed (@YourPathToFit) March 7, 2016 at 5:01 pm #

    that looks perfect for running, walking, biking, or hiking. i tend to carry a LOT with me everywhere i go.

  5. jillconyers March 8, 2016 at 3:04 am #

    Good luck with your training! Keep us updated on how it’s going.

Leave a Reply

