Breakfast Pizza Quesadilla

22 Feb

We ate a lot of pizza for breakfast growing up. And if you saw my post on breakfast bundt cakes, you’ll start to see I’ll eat almost anything for breakfast. And how can you deny a piece of cold, leftover, delicious pizza as the first meal of the day? Or indulge in my mom’s breakfast pizza made from crescent rolls? Pizza does have all the major food groups: bread, vegetables, dairy, and (back then) meat. Ok, fine, it’s not exactly the breakfast of champions, which is why this idea of a breakfast pizza quesadilla struck me as the perfect recipe for this month’s Recipe Redux challenge to break out of breakfast boredom!

Breakfast Pizza Quesadilla | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Instead of a white flour or corn tortilla, I buy 13-grain rounds from our local international foods grocery store. They’re hearty and healthy, and the perfect size for quesadillas! To make this a protein-rich breakfast, I scrambled up two eggs per serving, making sure to break them down into smaller egg curds, rather than the typical larger pieces you’d normally aim for in scrambled eggs. I get my pizza sauce from Trader Joes – it’s simple and made of real ingredients, and until tomatoes are back in season, I’m fine using store-bought sauce! Many would argue you can’t have pizza or quesadillas without cheese, so I have shredded in just enough to impart that salty, melty quality. Use any cheese you like or have on hand. And finally, to up the veggie ante, I included some sauteed onion and bell pepper.

Breakfast Pizza Quesadillas

Serves 2, easily doubled

  • 1 C sautéed veggies, such as onion, bell pepper, mushrooms, spinach, artichoke hearts, or any other favorite pizza topping
  • 4 eggs + 4 tbsp milk of choice
  • Black pepper, to taste
  • 1 tsp pizza seasoning, (or use Italian seasoning)
  • 2 10” multi-grain tortillas
  • 2-3 tbsp pizza sauce
  • 2 tbsp shredded cheese of choice

First, saute veggies of choice in a large, lightly oiled pan. Cook 7-10 minutes. Transfer to a bowl to set aside.

Wipe the pan clean with a wet cloth, heat it to medium-high, and spray with PAM. You want a hot pan to scramble the eggs. Whisk together the eggs and milk. Season with black pepper and pizza seasoning (optional). Pour in the egg mixture and turn off the heat. Work quickly to scramble the eggs with a spatula. You’ll want to make sure the eggs don’t scramble too large, so they can fit into the quesadilla.

Transfer the eggs to another bowl and wipe the pan clean again.

Return the pan to the stovetop and heat over medium-high; spray with PAM. Spread 2 tbsp pizza sauce over one tortilla and lay face-up in the hot pan. Top with sautéed veggies, then the eggs, and finally the shredded cheese. Spread a little more pizza sauce on the second tortilla and lay sauce-side down on top. Cook the quesadilla until the bottom tortilla browns and becomes crisp. Carefully flip to cook the other side, another 2-3 minutes.

Remove to a large plate and cut into 4 or 6 wedges. Serve warm with a dollop of plain Greek yogurt or additional heated pizza sauce for dipping. Enjoy!

As the first and only recipe challenge founded by registered dietitians, The Recipe ReDux aims to inspire the food lover in every healthy eater and inspire the healthy eater in every food lover. Thank you for visiting. We hope you enjoy!

(Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux posts only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.)

38 Responses to “Breakfast Pizza Quesadilla”

  1. thecrowdedtableblog February 22, 2016 at 8:19 pm #

    What a creative breakfast idea, I have a feeling my kiddos will LOVE it! 🙂

    • xtinaluvspink February 22, 2016 at 8:32 pm #

      Thanks! They’re definitely perfect for kids – load them up with their favorite toppings!

  2. GiGi Eats Celebrities July 18, 2016 at 9:10 am #

    PIZZA FOR BREAKFAST reminds me of when I was little and we had pizza leftovers from the night before – I would be so excited to eat them for breakfast! 😉

  3. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables July 18, 2016 at 9:13 am #

    YES to pizza for breakfast! haha I love that idea! I think it would actually keep me full until lunch!

  4. Chrissa- Physical Kitchness July 18, 2016 at 11:26 am #

    Mmmmm you can never ever go wrong with pizza. My husband pretty much wants it every night – I know if I made this for breakfast he would be in love (and maybe stop asking for that greasy, icky takeout pizza)!!

  5. Debbie Woodruff July 18, 2016 at 12:03 pm #

    This would work with a tofu scramble and vegan cheese too! It looks delicious.

    • xtinaluvspink July 18, 2016 at 12:42 pm #

      Definitely!! Or even without cheese entirely.

  6. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner July 18, 2016 at 12:33 pm #

    I am all about breakfast pizza and eggs over here!

  7. Julie Harris July 18, 2016 at 2:43 pm #

    I love homemade pizza, although, I haven’t been one for breakfast pizza. This could easily change my mind. Lovely blog!

  8. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run July 18, 2016 at 2:57 pm #

    I love any kind of breakfast quesadilla! Yum!

  9. Glenneth R July 18, 2016 at 4:17 pm #

    love this idea! would be perfect for brunch on the weekends!

  10. Emily @SinfulNutrition July 18, 2016 at 7:18 pm #

    Pizza AND Quesdillas for breakfast?! Sign. Me. Up!

  11. awhiskandtwowands July 18, 2016 at 9:45 pm #

    This is a great idea for all the kids on summer vacation! I’ll have to see if I can get my girls to eat it. They are all over muesli bowls, fruit bowls, and smoothie bowls for breakfast!

    • xtinaluvspink July 18, 2016 at 10:56 pm #

      I don’t blame them! I go back and forth between sweet and savory breakfasts.

  12. ilkasblog July 18, 2016 at 10:10 pm #

    Breakfast quesadillas are such a great idea! I could even have this for dinner 🙂

    • xtinaluvspink July 18, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

      It would be liked pizza for breakfast for dinner! Love!

  13. GiselleR July 18, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

    This sounds insanely good. Need to give a vegan version of this a try ASAP 😀

    • xtinaluvspink July 18, 2016 at 10:57 pm #

      For sure! Tofu scramble and vegan cream cheese would do the trick!

  14. fitfoodiemama July 19, 2016 at 6:48 am #

    Mmmmm now I am drooling and want that for breakfast 😛

    • xtinaluvspink July 19, 2016 at 7:04 am #

      Make it!! Bet you have the ingredients on hand 🙂

  15. Heather Gannoe (@runfastermommy) July 19, 2016 at 8:16 am #

    Yes! I love breakfast quesadillas! Actually, I love quesadillas any time of the day, haha!

    • xtinaluvspink July 19, 2016 at 8:18 am #

      Haha, ditto!! Dessert quesadillas, anyone? 🙂

  16. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) July 19, 2016 at 8:19 am #

    This would be easy to make and would work well with a variety of different ingredients.

  17. Powered by BLING (@PoweredbyBLING) July 19, 2016 at 2:45 pm #

    Who doesn’t love pizza for breakfast! This is a much healthier way to enjoy it.

  18. Kimberly July 19, 2016 at 3:44 pm #

    I never think of quesadillas for breakfast! But I love this. It look so good! Stuffed with yumminess.

  19. Angela July 19, 2016 at 6:45 pm #

    YUM!!! I love quesadillas, can’t wait to try these!!

Leave a Reply

