Green Pea Hummus

16 Jan

I received free samples of Progresso Cooking Stock mentioned in this post at no cost. By posting this recipe, I am entering a recipe contest sponsored by Progresso Cooking Stock and am eligible to win prizes associated with the contest. I was not compensated for my time.

I’m all for new dishes, but sometimes a familiar, comforting appetizer is the right way to go. Well, maybe with a twist 😉 Progresso asked us to create comfort dishes with their cooking stocks, and this hummus is exactly that! It’s quick, easy, and is super healthy, with the addition of frozen green peas, and swapping in vegetable stock for the oil. This low-fat, high-protein dip is a perfect addition to your game-day parties, dinner with friends, or just to enjoy with some raw veggies while you cook dinner.

Green Pea Hummus | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Not sold on using peas in hummus? It’s not as crazy as using them in a protein smoothie! Oh, give it a try. You’ll be pleasantly surprised!

Green Pea Hummus | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

 

Green Pea Hummus

Makes 2 cups of hummus

  • 1-1/4 C cooked chickpeas (or 1 15oz can)
  • 2 C frozen sweet green peas
  • 2 cloves garlic, peeled
  • 1 C vegetable stock
  • 2 tbsp tahini
  • 2 tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • sea salt and black pepper, to taste

Add ingredients into your blender (preferably not the food processor) in the order they’re listed above. Puree until smooth, scraping down the sides of the blender with a spatula as needed.

Transfer to a serving bowl and serve immediately, or refrigerate up to one week.

Green Pea Hummus | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

As the first and only recipe challenge founded by registered dietitians, The Recipe ReDux aims to inspire the food lover in every healthy eater and inspire the healthy eater in every food lover. Thank you for visiting. We hope you enjoy!

(Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux posts only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.) 

22 Responses to “Green Pea Hummus”

  1. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets June 13, 2016 at 11:23 am #

    What a unique recipe! I like hummus and have seen so many different flavors, but this is a first! Yum!

  2. Debbie Woodruff June 13, 2016 at 12:46 pm #

    I’ve been loving the recipe redux so much this month. This sounds easy and delicious and a great way to reduce some of the oil and fat in hummus.

  3. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner June 13, 2016 at 1:20 pm #

    yum I love hummus and I am always looking for ways to switch it up

  4. sprint2thetable June 13, 2016 at 4:16 pm #

    What a fun idea! I have a huge bag for split green peas I need to use – this would be perfect!

  5. Wendy Joyce June 13, 2016 at 4:47 pm #

    Oh yum! I love different kinds of hummus. I make one with white beans and sundried tomatoes. So good!

  6. Emily @SinfulNutrition June 13, 2016 at 5:06 pm #

    I’ve never tried putting peas in hummus, but that’s all about to change!

  7. GiGi Eats Celebrities June 13, 2016 at 6:38 pm #

    Mmmm!!! Hummus is ridiculously addictive. I would stick my face into a TROUGH full of this stuff!!

    • xtinaluvspink June 13, 2016 at 7:55 pm #

      I so agree!!! Yeah, this stuff is easy to gobble up 🙂

  8. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health June 13, 2016 at 9:54 pm #

    why have i not thought about this..

    • xtinaluvspink June 13, 2016 at 10:16 pm #

      Haha, don’t worry, I did the hard work for ya 🙂

  9. Angela June 13, 2016 at 10:04 pm #

    This sounds fabulous! I can’t wait to try it!!!

  10. Glenneth R June 14, 2016 at 5:24 am #

    i love all things hummus! hummus is never pretty, but always tastes good. thanks for the recipe.

  11. acbrandt June 14, 2016 at 9:06 pm #

    I have never heard of green pea hummus…but I’m pretty crazy about hummus and I definitely want to try it!

Leave a Reply

