Thin Mint Smoothie Ice Cream Bowl

8 Dec

It’s December…in Wisconsin. I won’t sugarcoat it: training in the winter is not easy. What is easy: making excuses, such as “it’s too cold,” “it might snow,” and “my gloves, fleece headband, warm socks and 2nd layer of pants need to be washed.” But I’m learning that running is as much about the physical endurance as it is the mental endurance. I KNOW I can endure the colder temps. I KNOW a few miles on the road won’t lead to frostbite, because I have the right cold-weather gear. I KNOW that if I don’t train over the winter season (which realistically lasts 5 months in WI), the springtime will be much more difficult.

And yet, despite all this that I know, it’s still hard to lace up and go for that run when the temp is at freezing and it snowed two days before. Which is why certain motivations are necessary! I’ve found that just like colorful running clothes are nice in the summer, they’re equally desirable in winter. In fact, I am building a winter running wardrobe with bright, colorful clothing. Partially because I like those hues, but also because most of my running happens after sundown, and the brighter and more visible I can make myself, the safer I am.

An even better motivation: food! In the summer, I love coming home, cooling off, making a tasty post-workout snack, and having a refreshing shower. Not so in the winter. When I get home, I want nothing more than to take the hottest possible shower. Standing around in sweaty clothes is just not going to happen. Which is why it’s vital to prepare your post-workout snack before you head out. Not only does this make it easier to get all your nutrients after your run, but it creates something you can look forward to in the immediate future.

Thin Mint Smoothie Ice Cream Bowl | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

And boy was I looking forward to this “ice cream” bowl! It combines chocolate, protein, healthy fats and mint to make just the right flavor. What’s more: it’s vegan, gluten free, and so freaking delicious. (yes, despite the cold, us weird Wisco folks still enjoy ice cream in the winter!)

Blend up this tasty bowl of goodness before your next run!
Thin Mint Smoothie Ice Cream Bowl | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Thin Mint Smoothie Ice Cream Bowl
Makes 1 bowl

1 C non dairy milk
1/2 ripe avocado
1 serving vegan chocolate protein powder (about 30g)
1 tbsp flaxseed meal or chia seeds
1 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
1/8 tsp peppermint extract
1/2 tbsp cacao nibs, to garnish

Thoroughly blend all ingredients together, except the cacao nibs.

Pour into a bowl and garnish with cacao nibs. Freeze for 30 minutes, and enjoy!

32 Responses to “Thin Mint Smoothie Ice Cream Bowl”

  1. Strength and Sunshine December 8, 2015 at 3:02 pm #

    I’d eat this anytime! Chocolate mint is the best!

  2. oh goodness that looks delicious!

  3. Powered by BLING (@PoweredbyBLING) July 8, 2016 at 10:48 am #

    Great idea! I’m all about protein pudding-type desserts. This is a great way to make it “ice cream”!

    • xtinaluvspink July 8, 2016 at 11:00 am #

      Thank you!! It’s a nice way to enjoy a treat, but healthy!

  4. SuzLyfe July 8, 2016 at 10:52 am #

    It has been so long since I made a chocolate avocado creation! This looks awesome!

    • xtinaluvspink July 8, 2016 at 11:00 am #

      Thanks! I find it difficult to save avocados to be used in such applications, do I always have to buy more than I plan to eat plain 🙂

  5. Michelle @ Running with Attitude July 8, 2016 at 10:53 am #

    Hadn’t thought to try a protein dessert. Chocolate and mint always work!

    • xtinaluvspink July 8, 2016 at 11:01 am #

      Oh gosh, protein desserts are my jam! Mug cakes, baked goods, ice creams, etc. They’re amazing!

  6. Emily @SinfulNutrition July 8, 2016 at 3:38 pm #

    Yum! This sounds like the perfect refreshing breakfast on a hot summer day. Plus I have some fresh mint I need to use up!

  7. Enna July 8, 2016 at 5:47 pm #

    OMG! Absolutely sounds yummy. Thin Mint is my fav flavor. Definitely trying this

  8. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health July 8, 2016 at 5:54 pm #

    2 of my fav combo together!

  9. ilkasblog July 8, 2016 at 6:04 pm #

    Love this flavor combo! Yum!

  10. Chrissy @ Snacking in Sneakers July 8, 2016 at 6:14 pm #

    I must be one of the only people on planet that doesn’t like the chocolate and mint combo (I know, crazy!). Butttt I can totally see myself making this sans peppermint and lovin’ it!

    • xtinaluvspink July 9, 2016 at 8:31 am #

      This can totally be made without the mint! Maybe add in some PB2?

  11. wendyistakingthelongwayhome July 8, 2016 at 8:38 pm #

    Oh sure, post this when I’m craving ice cream…looks yummy!

    • xtinaluvspink July 9, 2016 at 8:30 am #

      Haha, hey, at least it’s a healthy alternative!

  12. Miss Whisk (@Miss_Whisk) July 9, 2016 at 1:39 am #

    This looks so good! My oldest and her friend are obsessed with Thin Mint Cookies, I’ll have to whip this up for them!

  13. Heather Gannoe (@runfastermommy) July 9, 2016 at 6:32 am #

    Thin mints/peppermint patties/anything chocolate + mint is my FAVORITE! This looks far too delicious to be full of protein and healthy. I’ve GOT to try it!

  14. GiselleR July 9, 2016 at 12:51 pm #

    Post workout snacks are always a huge motivator for working out and this one looks perfect for the current weather 😀

  15. Mikki July 9, 2016 at 3:00 pm #

    Wow! That looks simply delicious!!

  16. Lex @ Flecksoflex July 9, 2016 at 7:06 pm #

    I don’t think I’ve ever had chocolate and avocado together, but it definitely sounds interesting!

  17. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) July 10, 2016 at 2:34 am #

    Mint chocolate is one of the best flavor combos ever.

  18. Lindsey Pine July 10, 2016 at 4:20 pm #

    I love chocolate and mint! this sounds yummy!

Leave a Reply

