Carrot Cake Hummus

17 Sep

I’m lucky in that I have no food allergies or restrictions, aside from the self-imposed ones I follow. All throughout my life I’ve had friends who are allergic to nuts, legumes, fruits, veggies, gluten, dairy, eggs, chocolate, coffee…you name it!

One allergy must be bad enough to avoid. I can’t even fathom having multiple allergies and restrictions such that there’s more you CAN’T eat than what you CAN. Or at least that’s how it seemed.

My close friend recently had to alter her diet drastically. No dairy, soy, sugar, processed foods, chocolate, coffee, spices or gluten. Whew! That’s a lot she can’t have. I’ve been scouring my own blog and the blogs I follow for recipes that could suit her new needs. And I’m reminded of the years I’ve participated in October Unprocessed: we’re taught to reframe how we approach food and ingredients. Food has to be approached from the mindset of what we CAN have, not what we can’t.

If you can’t have items that contain gluten, all you’re going to want is gluten! And you’re going to suffer mentally as a result. Reframing your approach will allow you to think of all the fruits, vegetables, legumes, and grain-free goodies you can have.

I hope to help my friend get through her new diet. This recipe was created out of her necessity to have an easy-to-eat snack that also tastes good. And boy does it! Whether an afternoon snack, pre-workout pick me up or late night nibble, this carrot cake hummus tastes decadent but contains none of the guilt. Let the flavors develop overnight for a delicious treat!

Carrot Cake Hummus | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Carrot Cake Hummus
Makes 2 cups of hummus dip

  • 1 can chickpeas, rinsed VERY well and drained
  • 1 C baby carrots, rinsed and dried
  • 1-2 tbsp pure honey
  • 2 tbsp shredded unsweetened coconut
  • 2 tbsp canned coconut milk
  • 1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tbsp coconut butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • To serve: Graham crackers, apple slices, nilla wafers

Pulse carrots in the food processor to begin breaking them down. Add the rest of the ingredients and blend first, then puree to make it smooth. You will need to scrape down the edges of the bowl once or twice. Taste and adjust as necessary. You may need to add more milk.

Transfer to a dish and refrigerate at least one hour, but overnight is even better to let the flavors develop.

Carrot Cake Hummus | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

2 Responses to “Carrot Cake Hummus”

  1. Emily @Sinful Nutrition September 17, 2015 at 5:45 pm #

    Gah I LOVE all things carrot cake! Never thought to make it with hummus though. Genius!

Leave a Reply

