Rhubarb Oat Muffins {gluten free, vegan}

11 Aug

When I began working out, I experienced all of the advertised benefits: endorphins, weight loss, happiness, confidence. But I also experienced the negatives: increased hunger and thirst, tired feet, sore muscles and the need to rearrange my social schedule to fit in exercise time. Hunger and thirst are easily quenched, feet can be soaked, and plans can be altered. It’s the sore muscles that really get to me, which is why it’s so important to rest and recover – a body cannot improve if it’s always under constant pressure.

So what’s the best way to do that? It differs for everyone. I practice yoga several times a week, which is great for stretching and using body weight. And about once a month, I get a deep-tissue massage. While some view this as a pampering treat, I see this as a necessary part of recovery. Our muscles become tense, over-worked, and tired. A massage can fix all that, and a good massage therapist can advise you on the stretches and techniques to prevent such pain in the future.

Another way to take care of your body is food! My absolute favorite recovery method 🙂 These rhubarb muffins are perfect before or after your workout. They’re full of oats and tart rhubarb, and crumble apart just the way you want a muffin to. Spread on some nut butter and you’ve got the perfect breakfast or snack.

Rhubarb Oat Muffins {gluten free, vegan} | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Rhubarb Oat Muffins, inspired by The Freutcake

Makes 21 muffins

  • 1  1/2 C gluten free flour
  • 1 1/4 C ground oat flour
  • 1/2 C organic brown sugar
  • 3/4 organic cane sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed meal + 3 tbsp water
  • 1 C nondairy milk + 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 C canola oil
  • 1 3/4 C chopped rhubarb

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Line 2 muffin tins with 21 papers.

In a small mixing bowl, combine flaxseed meal with water (this replaces an egg). In another small bowl, mix the milk with lemon juice (this mimics the properties of buttermilk without the dairy and fat). Set both aside. Let them sit at least 5 minutes.

In a large bowl, combine all the dry ingredients. Whisk together thoroughly.

In the small mixing bowl with the flax egg, add the curdled milk, vanilla, oil and rhubarb. Mix well and pour into the dry ingredients. Mix until combined.

Spoon batter into muffin tin cups, 2/3 full. Be sure to get a good amount of rhubarb in each one!

Bake at 400 for 15-17 minutes. Remove and let cool in tins 5 minutes. Remove and cool completely on a wire rack.

16 Responses to “Rhubarb Oat Muffins {gluten free, vegan}”

  1. Strength and Sunshine August 11, 2015 at 1:35 pm #

    Yay more muffins! I have been loving rhubarb this summer! I just made a great rhubarb granola!!!

    • xtinaluvspink August 11, 2015 at 1:42 pm #

      Do you have a recipe for the granola? I’d love to make some – froze some rhubarb for future use.

  2. Debbie Woodruff May 9, 2016 at 11:14 am #

    These look delicious! Light and fluffy.

  3. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health May 9, 2016 at 2:02 pm #

    send me some rhubarb please..i have been looking for some in dallas and i havent had luck yet 😦

    • xtinaluvspink May 9, 2016 at 2:11 pm #

      I am lucky to have a friend with a very abundant rhubarb patch, so she cuts off as much as I can take! When you do find it, clean and chop, and it freezes nicely.

  4. I don’t think I’ve ever cooked with rhubarb! How interesting and creative

  5. Glenneth R May 9, 2016 at 3:37 pm #

    i am not sure i have ever tried rhubarb – but this sounds delicious! thanks for sharing!

    • xtinaluvspink May 9, 2016 at 3:38 pm #

      It’s tart and wonderful and I hope you try it!

  6. wendyistakingthelongwayhome May 9, 2016 at 3:56 pm #

    My father in law and my husband love rhubarb! I’ll pass this along to them.

  7. nicoleculver1 May 9, 2016 at 4:45 pm #

    these look delicious! I admit…I don’t think i’ve ever had rhubarb before!

  8. Sandra Laflamme May 9, 2016 at 9:43 pm #

    Oooh! Rhubarb season is upon us! I would love to make these!

  9. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) May 10, 2016 at 2:12 am #

    I’ve enver made anything with rhubarb. Actually I don’t remember ever eating rhubarb. Surely I must have. I’m going to try these.

Leave a Reply

