Soy Chorizo and Garden Veggie Bolognese

22 Jul

Summer is a time for fresh vegetables, plump fruit and the freshest herbs. This month’s Recipe Redux challenges us to create a dish featuring the garden’s jewels. This bolognese recipe combines a myriad of vegetables that while you can get year-round, taste infinitely better when grown locally and in the summer.

It also uses a soy version of chorizo, which I recently discovered and fell in love with. This faux-meat is not only much better for you than real meat, but is so flavorful and versatile, it can be used in many ways, from quesadillas to breakfast scrambles, to this delicious bolognese sauce. Cook together a bunch of fresh, spicy veggies, some black beans, and chorizo, mix in a simple tomato sauce with southwestern spices and you’ve got a perfect vegan dinner.

Soy Chorizo and Garden Veggie Bolognese | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Soy Chorizo and Garden Veggie Bolognese

Serves 4

  • 10 oz soy chorizo, such as Cacique
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, finely diced
  • 1 bell pepper, finely diced
  • 3 stalks celery, finely diced
  • 2 jalapeños, finely diced
  • 1 can black beans, rinsed & drained
  • 3/4 C plain tomato pasta sauce
  • 1 can peeled whole tomatoes
  • salt & pepper
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 tbsp dried parsley
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 8 oz spaghetti or angel hair pasta (whole wheat, gluten free, whatever your fancy)

Heat a pan over medium-high and cook the soy chorizo until it’s shrunk down in size and is thoroughly cooked, about 5-7 minutes.

In a pot, heat oil and saute onion, peppers, celery and black beans until the veggies are translucent.

Puree the whole tomatoes, and add that plus the pasta sauce to the veggie mixture. Add the spices and stir well. Cover with a lid and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and let simmer, developing the spices, about 5 minutes. Stir in the cooked soy chorizo and let simmer another minute.

While that’s cooking, boil your pasta of choice in salted water.

Divide pasta into bowls and top with chorizo and veggie bolognese. Serve hot and enjoy!

Soy Chorizo and Garden Veggie Bolognese | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Check out below to see what the other Recipe Reduxers did with this fun challenge!

As the first and only recipe challenge founded by registered dietitians, The Recipe ReDux aims to inspire the food lover in every healthy eater and inspire the healthy eater in every food lover. Thank you for visiting. We hope you enjoy!

(Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux posts only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.) 

35 Responses to “Soy Chorizo and Garden Veggie Bolognese”

  1. Sarah Reid, CNP (@jo_jo_ba) July 25, 2015 at 8:31 am #

    Definitely my kind of food!

  2. Wholesome Paradise June 6, 2016 at 9:08 am #

    Give me real chorizo over zoodles and I’ve got a meal. Luckily this delicious looking recipe can be easily modified. I can’t do gluten and won’t do soy for so many reasons.

    • xtinaluvspink June 6, 2016 at 9:12 am #

      That’s the beauty of most recipes: ability to alter them to suit individual needs!

  3. Julie Harris June 6, 2016 at 10:01 am #

    I love this recipe! Packed full of protein and veggies! Thank you for sharing.

  4. SuzLyfe June 6, 2016 at 10:55 am #

    I love faux-lognese! I make it all the time!

  5. Debbie Woodruff June 6, 2016 at 12:29 pm #

    I love soyrizo! This recipe looks so good! I definitely will be trying it.

  6. Hollie June 6, 2016 at 1:18 pm #

    Yum! My husband would absolutely love this! I’ll have to surprise him with it for dinner 🙂

  7. Becki June 6, 2016 at 2:12 pm #

    I’ve never had soy chorizo. I’m going to have to track some down asap for tacos!

  8. Liz @ I heart vegetables June 6, 2016 at 2:22 pm #

    Wow this looks delicious! I’ve tried the soy chorizo from Trader Joe’s and I really liked it. Plus, it was packed with protein!

    • xtinaluvspink June 6, 2016 at 2:23 pm #

      Yeah! That’s what I love about it 🙂 and the flavor is incredible.

  9. I have not tried the soy chorizo yet but yum this looks great! Hope you will link up to meatless Monday as well.

  10. sprint2thetable June 6, 2016 at 5:16 pm #

    Ohhhhh… I LOVE chorizo! I actually made my own chorizo seitan loooooong ago when I went Vegan for a hot minute. I should try it again in this; it was really good. I love the bolognese idea!!

  11. Glenneth R June 6, 2016 at 5:28 pm #

    looks delicious! need to try chorizo!

  12. Angela June 6, 2016 at 9:58 pm #

    I LOVE chorizo! This looks fabulous, thanks for sharing 🙂

  13. jillconyers June 7, 2016 at 1:56 am #

    I’ve never eaten a chorizo dish but I Iove different types of bolognese.

    • xtinaluvspink June 7, 2016 at 6:21 am #

      If you like spice and big flavor, I highly recommend it!

  14. Julie Wunder June 7, 2016 at 7:18 am #

    I’ve got some soy chorizo in the fridge with this all over it! Another great recipe!

  15. nicoleculver1 June 7, 2016 at 3:02 pm #

    Great recipe!

  16. GiselleR June 7, 2016 at 7:25 pm #

    I’ve never had soy chorizo before but I definitely need to get some so I can try this one 😀

  17. Aliah June 7, 2016 at 9:38 pm #

    WOW! When I think Bolognese sauce, I think meat especially pork which I don’t eat. This sounds amazing and great for Meatless Monday!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Quick Tempeh Bolognese with Pasta {vegan, gluten free} | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - July 19, 2016

    […] for something spicier? Check out this soy chorizo Bolognese, which is sure to turn up the […]

Leave a Reply

