Orange Creamsicle Avocado Protein Smoothie

13 Jul

It’s official: I signed up (read: paid) for a half marathon! It’s part of the Milwaukee Running Festival and will take place November 1. And the date seems closer than anything else.

There are a lot of negative thoughts constantly plaguing my mind about this:

  • I’m terrified
  • How crazy am I?!
  • Why do I think I can run 13.1 miles in one go?
  • What’s the mileage on tomorrow’s run?
  • Am I training right?
  • Do I need new shoes?
  • What if I can’t finish?

But also some positive ones:

  • I love a good challenge
  • My body is capable of amazing things
  • Each run makes me feel stronger and more alive
  • My training plan is solid
  • I am filled with motivation – internal and external (thanks, Chris!)
  • I’m going to feel amazing crossing that finish line
  • It’s so gorgeous outside, I picked the right time to train
  • I am quickly making running friends to help me along the way

Really though, I’m excited to conquer this next milestone and look forward to both the journey of training, and the experience of running! Please leave any advice you might have for me in the comments 🙂

Oh, and a recipe! Right, this is a crazy good smoothie. It’s perfect for post-workout refueling, especially when you want something cold and refreshing. The flavor is completely that of a creamsicle, but with the surprise ingredient of avocado for a healthy dose of fats with the protein powder. It’s delicious and easy, just the meal you need after a run!

Orange Creamsicle Avocado Protein Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Orange Creamsicle Avocado Protein Smoothie
Serves 1

  • 1/2 C orange juice
  • 1/2 nondairy milk or skim milk
  • 1 serving vanilla protein powder
  • 1/3 C cubed avocado (about half a small one, or 1/4 a big one)
  • 5 ice cubes

Blend all ingredients together until completely smooth. Pour into your favorite big glass and enjoy! You earned it 🙂

Here’s an exhausted post-running selfie for your enjoyment. This was after an hour+ of yoga AND a 4 mile run!

Orange Creamsicle Avocado Protein Smoothie | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

9 Responses to “Orange Creamsicle Avocado Protein Smoothie”

  1. athleticavocado July 13, 2015 at 10:14 am #

    orange creamsicle sounds great, reminds me of those orange creamsicle popsicles!

  2. Kyra @ Vie De La Vegan April 26, 2016 at 8:32 am #

    This smoothie sounds so creamy and delicious! You’ve inspired me to make this, I’ve got all the ingredients in my kitchen right now ❤

  3. Rebecca @ Strength and Sunshine April 26, 2016 at 3:01 pm #

    That dose of orange is just what we need!

  4. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) April 26, 2016 at 3:26 pm #

    I love adding avocado to smoothies.

  5. Melissa @ Mango About Town April 26, 2016 at 4:33 pm #

    I see running and I see November, there’s no way I could run a half marathon in Winnipeg in November – it’s too cold!! I wish you all the best with your training!

    • xtinaluvspink April 26, 2016 at 5:24 pm #

      Ha, that I believe! This is a post from last year – we got pretty lucky on the weather that day 🙂

  6. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health April 26, 2016 at 9:24 pm #

    congratulationssssss on signing up!!!!! i think thats the hardest part.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 34 Post-Race Recipes and “First Call” Half Marathon Recap | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 10, 2017

    […] Orange Creamsicle Avocado Protein Smoothie, from Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! […]

Leave a Reply

