Orange Juice Blackberry Muffins

28 May

I think yoga has helped me become a better baker. No, not because I’m more flexible and can reach the top shelf of our pantry. Sure, physically it’s insanely beneficial: I’m stronger, leaner and indeed more flexible than I ever was before I began my yoga practice.

But I mean mentally. Yoga is amazing for clearing out the mind, letting go of stress and harmful thoughts, and really embracing yourself – essence, soul, whatever you prefer to call it – and nothing else. In the same hour-long class, I can sweat bullets, stretch through downward dog, and feel completely serene and “at one with myself.” It’s a detoxification of the mind, body and spirit.

So how has that affected my baking? Well, I used to stress over exact measurements, perfect baking temps and even division of batter among cupcake tins. Do I still care about these things? Of course. I DO want to produce a lovely product in the kitchen. But does it define my baking? Not anymore! In fact, I am now more able to improvise when I feel like throwing in random ingredients, substitute items when I don’t have what’s called for, and even go it alone – without a recipe, that is. I’ve gained confidence in my abilities – the same way yoga has helped me gain confidence in my body.

Today’s recipe is a reflection of this newfound confidence. Desiring muffins, I went in search of ingredients that would please both myself and my boyfriend, and make for a good flavor combination without being loaded of sugar and white flour. The result? An improvised muffin loaded with oats and whole wheat, sweetened mostly with orange juice, made moist by protein-rich Greek yogurt, and topped with juicy berries. These are perfect as breakfast, post-yoga or just because πŸ™‚

Orange Juice Blackberry Muffins | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Orange Juice Blackberry Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

  • 1/2 C old-fashioned oats
  • 1/2 C orange juice
  • 1 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1/4 C brown sugar
  • 6 packets stevia powder
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 C plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 24 blackberries

Preheat oven to 400. Line a muffin pan with paper lines and spray lightly with PAM.

In a small bowl, mix together the oats and orange juice. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together all dry ingredients. Use a spatula to mix in the yogurt and egg. Then mix in the oat-juice mixture. Scoop batter into prepared muffin tin, filling each cup nearly full.

Press two blackberries into each muffin. Bake at 400 for 15-17 minutes. Remove and let cool a few minutes before eating. Let any leftovers cool completely before storing in an airtight container in the fridge, up to 3 days.

Orange Juice Blackberry Muffins | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

20 Responses to “Orange Juice Blackberry Muffins”

  1. Chris Harris (@LrdHarris) May 28, 2015 at 8:19 am #

    Very tasty, and the blackberry adds a perfect sweet/tart to it

  2. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets June 20, 2016 at 7:47 am #

    These muffins look delicious! Unfortunately I’m not confident enough in my baking to go without a recipe, but I’m hoping to get better with more practice! Such a creative idea and I bet so flavorful!

  3. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables June 20, 2016 at 9:42 am #

    Oh wow, these sound so yummy!!! I’m not so great at measuring things, haha but I’ve had to teach myself how to really measure things so I can track my recipes to make them again!

    • xtinaluvspink June 20, 2016 at 9:48 am #

      Yes! It’s definitely important to note what you did so you can recreate it.

  4. Debbie Woodruff June 20, 2016 at 10:26 am #

    The muffins look delicious, but even more thank you for the insight as to why I prefer simple cooking over baking. I’ve always been a non-measurement type of cook. A little of this, a little of that, etc. That doesn’t work very well with baking, where a little too much of one thing can spoil the entire results. I don’t feel confident enough to let go of my measuring spoons just yet.

    • xtinaluvspink June 20, 2016 at 10:28 am #

      Glad I could help you see that! My journey in the kitchen is ever evolving, and I have learned that some baked goods require more precision than others. Cake needs structure and chemistry to turn out perfectly. But dense muffins, not so much.

  5. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner June 20, 2016 at 11:00 am #

    I bet the orange juice gives a great flavor to those! Thanks for sharing

  6. Abbey June 20, 2016 at 12:56 pm #

    These looks amazing! I love muffins as an easy after school snack

    • xtinaluvspink June 20, 2016 at 12:58 pm #

      Yes!! They’re a great way to hold off until dinner.

  7. Glenneth R June 20, 2016 at 5:35 pm #

    these sound delicious. i would have never thought to combine orange juice and blackberries!

    • xtinaluvspink June 20, 2016 at 5:59 pm #

      Hunger makes one develop some interesting flavor profiles!

  8. ilkasblog June 20, 2016 at 10:27 pm #

    Those muffins look delicious! Great carb fuel for running!

  9. Kimberly June 21, 2016 at 8:07 am #

    These sound delicious! I love the flair of orange taste too.

  10. Angela June 21, 2016 at 8:17 am #

    These sound wonderful! I love the combo with OJ!!

  11. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) June 21, 2016 at 7:37 pm #

    Very creative idea to include OJ. I bet they’re so good!

Leave a Reply

