Whole Wheat Protein Waffles

5 Dec

All my life I’ve loved pancakes. My dad makes a mean, and huge, pancake, which he always let us dress up with chocolate chips & chopped nuts. I’ve made many a vegan banana oat pancake in my time since moving out. I’ve even attempted zucchini & brie pancakes! But I’ve always neglected pancake’s sibling: the waffle.

I’m accustomed to the frozen variety that comes from the grocery store – a minute in the toaster and it’s good to go. But somehow still tastes like cardboard, despite the amount of sugar and chemicals that goes into them. When I learned that my boyfriend actually prefers waffles to pancakes, I knew I had to at least give them a shot. Nearly 26 years old and I had never ever made a waffle that didn’t come from the freezer section. Until now.

I knew my parents had a waffle iron somewhere, so with their loan of the TOASTMASTER, I got to cooking!

Whole Wheat Protein Waffles | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

These waffles are simple, healthy, delicious, and have just the right amount of sweetness to them. Protein powder and whole wheat flour really do make these healthy, and keep you full like a real breakfast should. Only a bit of olive oil and no added sugars make these good for the waistline as well. And the texture is just superb! Crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside. Fill those little squares however you see fit 🙂 I happened to have leftover cranberry sauce, homemade by my Oma, which went perfectly on top of these waffles.

Whole Wheat Protein Waffles | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Whole Wheat Protein Waffles, adapted from Healthy Delicious

Serves 4

  • 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 single-serve packet of vanilla protein powder (or one scoop’s worth)
  • 1/4 C cornstarch
  • 2 tbsp nondairy powdered milk
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 1 C nondairy or skim milk
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 egg, separated

Turn on your waffle iron to its highest setting – mine goes to 450 degrees.

In a large bowl, whisk together all the dry ingredients. Mix in the milk, olive oil and egg yolk.

In a small bowl, beat the egg white – either with a fork, or with a hand mixer – until light and fluffy. Fold this into the batter.

Spray the hot waffle iron with PAM. Scoop 2/3 C of batter into the middle of the iron, let it spread out, and close. Cook for 2 minutes and use a fork to remove to a plate. Repeat with the rest of the batter.

IMG_20141130_121250

Serve hot with your choice of toppings: maple syrup, coconut butter, fresh fruit, applesauce, peanut butter, whipped cream…whatever suits your breakfast-time fancy!

Leftovers? Cover them in foil and keep in the fridge. Heat in a clean frying pan for 30 seconds on each side. Boom!

2 Responses to “Whole Wheat Protein Waffles”

  1. genevieve y December 5, 2014 at 11:09 am #

    I love waffles! I used to be a pancake girl but I think I’ve gone over to the side of waffles. There’s just something so satisfying about biting into one of the ridges!

    • xtinaluvspink December 5, 2014 at 11:19 am #

      Agree! It’s like I’m a new woman with waffles! Haha 🙂

Leave a Reply

