Blueberry Oat and Greek Yogurt Scones

4 Aug

Disclosure: By posting this recipe, I am entering a recipe contest sponsored by National Dairy Council and the Quaker Oats Center of Excellence and am eligible to win prizes associated with the contest. I was not compensated for my time.

Scones are something saved for lazy Sunday mornings, when you can sit around and sip coffee, catch up on your Netflix watching, and just enjoy the general happiness of a weekend. And that’s exactly how these blueberry scones came to be. Blueberry Oat and Greek Yogurt Scones | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com Well, that and a challenge by the Quaker Oats Center of Excellence and the National Dairy Council. The two associations partnered up and posed a challenge to all Recipe Redux participants to develop a recipe that incorporates a healthy serving of oats, paired with a healthy serving of low fat dairy. Blueberry Oat and Greek Yogurt Scones | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com Did you know: 99% of Americans don’t get the daily recommended serving of whole grains, and 85% don’t get their daily dairy recommendations? That’s so awful! I eat oats and low fat dairy ALL the time. So I’m glad to create a recipe that might inspire others to do the same. Oats, contrary to popular opinion, are DELICIOUS! Seriously. They’re so versatile and healthy that it’s almost absurd. And then there’s dairy. I’m a Wisconsin girl, so maybe it just comes naturally to me – I basically live for cheese! But there’s also Greek yogurt, which I go through as if it’s going out of style. Sweet, savory, or just in place of sour cream, it’s really your best bet. Blueberry Oat and Greek Yogurt Scones | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com Anyway, let’s get on with the scones. These taste like pie, and I’m not kidding. The naturally sweet blueberries burst in your mouth, surrounded by a wholesome, slightly sweetened oaty scone that pairs perfectly with a fresh cup of coffee. There is NO better way to spend your Sunday morning than with these scones, on the back porch, bathing in the summer sun. (Which is exactly what I was doing while writing this post!) Leftovers would be perfect for an afternoon snack, paired with a cup of iced tea. Blueberry Oat and Greek Yogurt Scones | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com Each serving gives you 8 grams of protein, 5 grams of fiber, and 50 grams of complex carbs. A perfect way to fuel up in the morning. Oh, and these come together so quickly – mix everything together, form into balls, and bake! Super easy, super tasty, and super healthy! Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

Blueberry Oat and Greek Yogurt Scones, adapted from Love. Eat. Sleep Food Serves 6 (2 scones each)

  • 1 C oat flour (grind old-fashioned oats in food processor, then measure)
  • 1 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 tbsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp almond extract
  • 1/3 C olive oil
  • 1/3 C skim milk
  • 1/3 C real maple syrup
  • 3/4 C (6 oz) plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1 C fresh blueberries, rinsed and drained

Preheat oven to 420 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and lightly grease with PAM or olive oil.

In a large bowl, combine all dry ingredients and whisk together. Mix in extract, olive oil, milk, maple syrup and nonfat Greek yogurt, but be careful not to over mix! Fold in fresh blueberries.

Use a large spoon and your hands to form dough into 2″ balls and place onto prepared baking sheet, leaving an inch or two between scones to allow for expansion in the oven. The dough will be sticky, so don’t worry about making these perfectly round. Just call them “rustic.” ๐Ÿ™‚

Bake for 15 minutes, or until scones are golden brown on top and the blueberries are a little wrinkly. Remove from oven, and transfer scones to a cooling rack – let sit a couple minutes before serving. These are amazing when still warm, but will also taste good after they’ve cooled! Leftovers? Store in a covered glass container up to a day, and microwave 60 seconds to reheat. Blueberry Oat and Greek Yogurt Scones | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com As the first and only recipe challenge founded by registered dietitians, The Recipe ReDux aims to inspire the food lover in every healthy eaterย andย inspire the healthy eater in every food lover. Thank you for visiting. We hope you enjoy! (Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux Contest Entries by Members only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.)ย 

18 Responses to “Blueberry Oat and Greek Yogurt Scones”

  1. Regan Jones (@ReganJonesRD) August 4, 2014 at 6:55 am #

    I’m a huge scone lover. Can’t wait to try these!

    • xtinaluvspink August 4, 2014 at 6:56 am #

      I used to shy away from scones as “traditional” ones require so much fat, but this was WAY better, in both flavor and health! Enjoy if you try them!

  2. teaspoonofspice August 4, 2014 at 7:31 am #

    Like Regan, I adore scones and I could whip this up right now with the ingredients I have on hand! I might need to try this with cherries too….. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • xtinaluvspink August 4, 2014 at 7:32 am #

      Ooooh, I bet these would be great with cherries! Those would explode in your mouth the same way the blueberries did ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. hungryhobby August 4, 2014 at 9:25 am #

    SCONES! SO CREATIVE! I want one right now!

  4. Emily @ Zen & Spice August 4, 2014 at 9:21 pm #

    Oooo, how creative! I love this idea! Love using Greek yogurt in all type of recipes.

    • xtinaluvspink August 5, 2014 at 11:55 am #

      Thanks! So do I – it’s so versatile and packs a healthy punch.

  5. Sarah Grace FFH August 5, 2014 at 7:46 am #

    These look delicious! Love how you used the milk and oats here for the contest, I have blueberry scones on my blog that I LOVE, so I’m sure these are increible too ๐Ÿ™‚

    xoxo Sarah Grace, Fresh Fit N Healthy.

    • xtinaluvspink August 5, 2014 at 7:47 am #

      Thanks! I’m most likely going to make these again very soon. I keep craving them!

  6. Jessie E. August 7, 2014 at 10:56 am #

    These scones look so delicious, and I’ll bet the combo of oat flour and WW flour give a delicious heartiness ๐Ÿ™‚ I love what you’ve done with these ingredients!

    • xtinaluvspink August 7, 2014 at 11:11 am #

      Thanks so much! They were fun to create & bake, but better to eat and share ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. The Fit Cookie (@thefitcookie) April 19, 2016 at 2:27 pm #

    These look delicious! My mom used to make scones all the time when I was growing up, they hold a special place in my heart ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Julie @ Running in a Skirt April 19, 2016 at 7:20 pm #

    I feel like I don’t have enough scones in my life! I need to fix that!

    • xtinaluvspink April 20, 2016 at 10:30 am #

      Me too, sadly. I need to bake them more often.

  9. Dixya @ Food, Pleasure, and Health April 19, 2016 at 7:47 pm #

    i love scones in general..but blueberries are my favorite!!!!!

Leave a Reply

