Black Tea Risotto

22 May

It’s time for another Recipe Redux! This month’s challenge was “cooking with tea.” And boy, was it a challenge!

I love to drink tea, and have since a very young age. My Opa ALWAYS drinks tea, and in my family, tea is a cure-all potion. Stomach ache? Drink tea. Headache? Drink tea. Foot ache? Drink tea. Ok, you get the point. We were taught that tea is a beneficial, tasty, and versatile drink, and because of Opa’s love for tea, I now drink many kinds multiple times a day! From fruit-flavored, to green, to herbal, to black. I love it all, and have successfully gotten even my boyfriend to enjoy the warm beverage!

When I found out that the challenge for this month required that we cook with tea, I was pretty excited – the options are endless! But in an effort to be creative and really shine in the kitchen, I wanted to do something different, rather than just bake with tea. I’ve made oatmeal with tea, in place of water or milk. But what recipe could I develop that would really set it apart? The answer: tea risotto. Yep.

Black Tea Risotto

Risotto is traditionally made with butter, onion, rice, wine, broth and cheese. Pretty easy, despite the generally large amount of time and effort that goes into the dish. That’s also a fairly unhealthy combination, especially if you indulge in this frequently. Rice is high-carb, wine is…well alcohol, and the broth and cheese are really high in sodium. SO: to cook with tea, and to make a healthful dish, I decided to experiment and replace the broth with freshly-steeped antioxidant-rich black tea.

Aside from upping the antioxidants, using tea instead of broth drastically reduces the sodium count. Even low-sodium vegetable broth still has a fair amount of salt in it. And while sodium IS necessary in a balanced diet, Americans often get far too much of the stuff, and reducing it is a step in the right direction. Of course, we ARE still using cheese. But that can even be made better by using high-quality cheese. My friends Mitch and Matt at the local cheese shop and tap room were kind enough to provide the cheese for this experiment: award-winning SarVecchio Parmesan (being a Wisconsinite has its perks!). Improve the flavor of your end product and use good cheese, please! It’s worth it, and much better than the kind that comes in a shaker bottle, filled with chemicals.

You didn’t think I’d ditch the wine, though, did you? Instead of the traditional red wine, which is usually used in risotto, I wanted to make sure the black tea didn’t become overpowered. So, I opted for a white zinfandel (at the suggestion of my boyfriend). The sweetness of the white zin played well with the hearty black tea – a combination that makes this light enough for a spring dinner.

Alright, enough of the healthy talk. Quality ingredients + patience + love = this delicious dish, which I suggest you test out for yourself!

Black Tea Risotto

Black Tea Risotto

Serves 4-6 as a side dish

  • 6 tsp loose black tea
  • 5 C water, to boil
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 1.5 C risotto rice
  • 1/2 C white zinfandel wine
  • sea salt and fresh black pepper
  • 1/2 C high-quality shaved/shredded Parmesan cheese

Bring 5 cups of water to an almost-boil. Steep black tea for 4 minutes. Remove tea leaves and set aside. If you don’t have a large teapot, then simply steep the tea in a stainless steal bowl, and separate the tea leaves using a fine-mesh strainer.

Black Tea Risotto

Loose leaf black tea – it smelled so good!

Heat olive oil over medium-high in a large saute pan. Cook the diced onion for 5 minutes. Once the onions start to brown, add the rice and the wine. Stir and continue to cook until the liquid has been absorbed. Sprinkle in some salt and pepper. TIP: my friend Anna told me that her Italian family has a trick: let therice brown in the pan a couple minutes before adding the wine. The end result is supposed to be even better!

Black Tea Risotto

Pour in one cup of tea, stir, and let it cook off before adding more tea. Continue to do this, cup by cup, until all tea is used up and the rice absorbs the liquid.

Remove from heat when the rice looks moist and a bit sticky. Stir in the Parmesan cheese until completely melted.

Serve hot and sprinkle with extra freshly cracked pepper and leftover parmesan cheese. Enjoy!

Black Tea Risotto

Melty deliciousness

Feeling bold? Why not try this with other varieties of tea? Green tea might do well, if paired with a light white wine. You could even test this with other flavors of Parmesan. Sartori makes a raspberry kind, and even a basil & olive oil kind! Play around with this, make it your own, and impress your friends and family – without giving them a sodium overload.

As the first and only recipe challenge founded by registered dietitians, The Recipe ReDux aims to inspire the food lover in every healthy eater and inspire the healthy eater in every food lover. Thank you for visiting. We hope you enjoy! Click on the below frog link to view other posts featuring this month’s theme! (Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux posts only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.)

21 Responses to “Black Tea Risotto”

  1. Melinda Massie May 22, 2014 at 6:56 am #

    Oh wow! I would have never thought of that. SO creative!

    • xtinaluvspink May 22, 2014 at 6:58 am #

      Thanks!! Turned out so well, I can’t wait to make it again!

      • Melinda Massie May 23, 2014 at 7:21 am #

        Mmmmmm…I don’t make risotto that often but I’ll have to try this version sometime.

      • xtinaluvspink May 23, 2014 at 7:22 am #

        Let me know if you do!

      • Melinda Massie May 24, 2014 at 3:46 pm #

        But of course!

  2. Julie Harris May 27, 2016 at 9:45 am #

    I like this idea! and I like your other ideas of other teas!

  3. cassi9879b May 27, 2016 at 2:15 pm #

    Why did I see this as black BEAN risotto? LOL I wouldn’t have thought to use tea in rice.

    • xtinaluvspink May 27, 2016 at 2:17 pm #

      Haha! I’d try a black bean risotto! But yeah, tea can do a lot 🙂

  4. Angela May 27, 2016 at 2:53 pm #

    This is such a creative dish! I love risotto, but have never tried anything like this! Thanks for sharing, I pinned this 🙂

  5. Amber Keech May 27, 2016 at 6:06 pm #

    I LOVE tea but I have never tried cooking with it, I will have to give this a try, very creative!

  6. balancedberry May 28, 2016 at 12:02 am #

    The addition of the black tea here sounds amazing! It would be such an awesome flavor profile.

  7. GiselleR May 28, 2016 at 11:24 am #

    Such a genius idea! I definitely need to give this a try 😀

  8. How interesting to add tea into there-looks great!

  9. Beach Body Bliss May 28, 2016 at 4:58 pm #

    Looks delicious and super creative. I love risotto but have never made it and usually don’t eat it often due to it being so unhealthy but this seems like a nice balance!

    • xtinaluvspink May 28, 2016 at 11:25 pm #

      Definitely! It’s usually super unhealthy and full of sodium, which prompted me to develop this alternative 🙂

  10. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) May 28, 2016 at 7:53 pm #

    I never would have thought to add black tea.

Leave a Reply

