Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies

22 Apr

It feels like I grew up in the kitchen. Whether that was making German Kuchen (cake) with Oma, homemade pies with dad, dinners with mom, cookies with grandma, or eventually meals all on my own. I viewed the kitchen as a place to play, experiment, stir, learn and of course eat! And I still do.

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

This is my first month participating in Recipe Redux, a healthy food blogging challenge. For April, we’re supposed to use treasured cookware. When my grandma passed away four years ago, we lost not only a loving woman and family member, but also an amazing cook and baker.

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Stains from years of use – I promise these are clean!

I have fond memories helping her in the kitchen, so it means a lot that my sister and I inherited her bakeware, cookware, mixing bowls and utensils. While I adore my pink stand mixer, I also love to mix doughs and batters in grandma’s old and coveted mixing bowls, using the same spoons that made countless dozens of cookies. Every time I use these items, it feels like grandma is right there in the kitchen with me, guiding me to bake the best cookies.

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

In the spirit of Grandma, and this month’s theme, I wanted to make something she probably had memorized, using her bowls and spoons, but with a healthy twist to it.

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Instead of classic chocolate chip cookies, loaded with fats, sugars and white flour, I opted for a healthier but still completely satisfying version. This vegan recipe uses tahini, which is the paste that results from grinding sesame seeds. It imparts a subtle yet mature flavor to a childhood favorite. The small amount of brown sugar, plus pure maple syrup, make these just sweet enough without inducing cavities. Coconut oil and water replace the butter and eggs, reducing the fat content overall. And the whole wheat pastry flour increases the amount of fiber, without sacrificing the cookie texture we all know and love.

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Break out your hand-me-down mixing bowls, whip up a batch of these healthier cookies, and let the magic that is baking take you away to your happy place 🙂

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies, inspired by Hell Yeah It’s Vegan

Makes 20 cookies

  • 2/3 C tahini
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1/4 C pure maple syrup
  • 1/4 C coconut oil, melted and cooled
  • 1/4 C water
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 1/2 C whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp sea salt
  • 3/4 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375. Line two cookie sheets with parchment; set aside.

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

In a large mixing bowl, cream together tahini, sugar, maple syrup and coconut oil. Stir in water and vanilla.

In a separate, small bowl, mix together flour, baking soda and salt.

Without over mixing, stir flour into the wet mixture, a little at a time, until all is incorporated. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Using an ice cream scoop, place balls of cookie dough onto prepared sheets. Press the tops down to flatten them out a bit – these cookies will barely spread as they bake.

Bake in the oven for 10 minutes (not longer!). Remove and allow to cool on their sheets for 5 minutes before transferring to cooling racks to cool completely.

Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies | xtinaluvspink.wordpress.com

Enjoy this healthy take on a favorite classic…the edges will be crunchy while the interiors are soft and delicious!

As the first and only recipe challenge founded by registered dietitians, The Recipe ReDux aims to inspire the food lover in every healthy eater and inspire the healthy eater in every food lover. Thank you for visiting. We hope you enjoy! Click on the below frog link to view other posts featuring this month’s theme! (Please note that this is a closed link-up for Recipe ReDux posts only. Any links added to this collection for non-ReDux posts will be deleted.)

33 Responses to “Healthier Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies”

  1. Old Things R New April 22, 2014 at 7:56 am #

    I love the kitchen items I inherited from my mother. You are right, there is a feeling of connection when using them.

    • xtinaluvspink April 22, 2014 at 8:02 am #

      🙂 Nice that we can keep such old items in use. I have bowls from her which are older than the invention of the microwave!

  2. Jessica Levinson (@jlevinsonrd) April 22, 2014 at 9:11 am #

    Welcome to the Recipe ReDux! These cookies look great – so interesting to add tahini to them!

    • xtinaluvspink April 22, 2014 at 9:12 am #

      Thank you! The tahini gives them such a great flavor.

  3. thenutritiouskitchen April 22, 2014 at 2:13 pm #

    I am the BIGGEST cookie addict! I bake them weekly and these seriously look delicious! I have never used tahini in my cookie recipes, definitely going to pin these 🙂 I can’t believe how healthy they are!

    • xtinaluvspink April 22, 2014 at 2:20 pm #

      I’m right there with you on the cookie addiction! These were baked and eaten all in the same day 🙂 Let me know how you like them, once you give ’em a try!

  4. dr barb, nutrition budgeteer April 22, 2014 at 5:19 pm #

    Welcome,, Christina, to Recipe Redux. It’s a lot of fun to read each other’s posts. Your cookies look and sound fabulous. I’ve been thinking about making chocolate chip cookies this week, and I really like your healthy variation.

    • xtinaluvspink April 22, 2014 at 6:19 pm #

      Thank you! I’m excited to be a part of this group. Let me know if you try the recipe, and how you like them 🙂

  5. Rachael@AnAvocadoADay April 22, 2014 at 7:43 pm #

    Welcome to Recipe Redux! Your cookies look delicious!

  6. Lena July 9, 2014 at 8:49 pm #

    Perfect for my dairy intolerant daughter, the tahini is good calcium source. Thank you!

  7. alexandracaspero February 10, 2016 at 6:20 pm #

    I love the idea of adding in tahini for chocolate chip cookies! I’ve been wanting to do some baking with it, these cookies look amazing!

    • xtinaluvspink February 10, 2016 at 6:22 pm #

      Thank you! The tahini lends a wonderful and subtle nutty flavor to them.

  8. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner April 6, 2016 at 8:07 am #

    What an interesting idea with the tahini! I never would have thought of adding that to something sweet. Neat!

    • xtinaluvspink April 6, 2016 at 8:09 am #

      I love putting tahini in everything. Currently creating a tahini protein shake recipe!

  9. Kyra April 6, 2016 at 8:16 am #

    I love the tahini in these cookies! I’m always looking for ways to hide tahini – my son claims he hates it, but I think these cookies might fool him 😀
    I also have fond memories of baking with my grandmother – that is so nice that you inherited her bakeware and kitchen utensils ❤

    • xtinaluvspink April 6, 2016 at 8:18 am #

      Thank you! It’s such a subtle taste, that I bet he’d love the cookies. Just make sure he’s not around to see you make them!

  10. wendyistakingthelongwayhome April 6, 2016 at 11:24 am #

    What a creative recipe! We always have so much tahini at our house–it usually goes bad before we use it up, so I’m definitely going to pin this recipe!

    • xtinaluvspink April 6, 2016 at 11:26 am #

      Oooh, I’ve never heard of tahini going bad. Maybe store it in the fridge? I buy large jars and haven’t had a problem.

  11. Liz @ The Clean Eating Couple April 6, 2016 at 1:13 pm #

    These look absolutely delicious! I love adding in tahini into baked goods – gives them such a nice texture!

  12. Michelle April 6, 2016 at 2:18 pm #

    I need to get some tahini! I have never used it but I keep seeing it listed in recipes. It will be on my grocery list this weekend!

    • xtinaluvspink April 6, 2016 at 2:19 pm #

      It will blow your mind. Dressings, sauces, baked goods, glazes, in smoothies, in dips…. You’ll be happy!

  13. Strength and Sunshine April 6, 2016 at 2:55 pm #

    Best combo! Chocolate and tahini ❤

  14. Glenneth R April 6, 2016 at 3:45 pm #

    i bought some tahini yet haven’t figured out how to use it. now i know – COOKIES! thanks for sharing!

  15. Aliah April 6, 2016 at 9:03 pm #

    These cookies look amazing! I have never baked with tahini. I may have to try these because you had me at ::cookies::

  16. jillconyers April 7, 2016 at 3:08 am #

    Tahini in a cookie? I have to try it.

  17. Julie @ Running in a Skirt April 7, 2016 at 7:29 am #

    Oh wow! These look so wonderful! What a great secret addition.

    • xtinaluvspink April 7, 2016 at 8:22 am #

      Just different enough for people to notice 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Tahini-Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Carrots with Coconut Oil Fried Eggs | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 7, 2016

    […] to your natural peanut or almond butter, with a slightly tangy flavor. This makes it great for both sweet and savory applications! Buy a jar and try it […]

Leave a Reply

