Vegetable Enchiladas with Homemade Enchilada Sauce

17 Feb

My new favorite cooking game is to wander the aisles of the grocery store, looking for dinner inspiration. One night is Israeli couscous, the next is Chinese stir-fry, and then sometimes we go south to Mexico. I picked up a can of red enchilada sauce the other day, while “playing” this game with my boyfriend. Enchiladas sounded like a great idea, so we stocked up on the necessary produce, black beans and freshly-made corn tortillas. Everything would be homemade…except this can of sauce.

Vegetable Enchiladas with Homemade Enchilada Sauce

In a moment of brilliance, I checked the ingredient list – tomato paste, water, oils, chemicals, red pepper paste, sodium, and more chemicals. “Hmm,” I thought to myself, “I bet I could make this from scratch!” The ingredients had to be simple, right? Tomatoes, spices, red pepper paste, and a bit of liquid. Easy! I went with my chef-intuition and searched for what we’d need to make the sauce ourselves. While the red pepper paste is certainly not homemade, this was a better option than canned sauce.

What’s even better is that the sauce is SO simple to make! All the ingredients go in a food processor (or blender) and you’re done. Hardly any mess, and the result is much more satisfying. Both my boyfriend and I were happily pleased with this dinner, and look forward to making it again. So filling, so tasty, and so fresh!

Vegetable Enchiladas with Homemade Red Enchilada Sauce

Serves 6

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 small onions, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, diced
  • 1 jalapeño
  • 1 can diced green chiles, drained (not rinsed)
  • 2 15-oz cans black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 12 6″ corn tortillas (gluten free if needed)
  • 1 batch red enchilada sauce (below)
  • 1/2 C shredded cheddar cheese (vegan or dairy)
  • chopped scallions and fresh cilantro, for garnish

Red Enchilada Sauce

  • 1 15-oz can organic chemical-free diced tomatoes, drained (not rinsed)
  • 4 oz sun-dried red hot pepper paste (add one ounce at a time, tasting as you go – I liked it spicy)
  • 1/2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 tbsp water
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 tbsp cumin
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp garlic powder

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a 9×13 glass casserole dish and set aside.

Heat oil in a saute pan on medium and saute onions, peppers and chiles for 10-15 minutes. Add black beans and spices and cook another 5 minutes.

While that cooks, combine sauce ingredients in your food processor. Taste and adjust spiciness as needed.

Spoon about 1/3 C vegetables into a tortilla. Roll it up, and place seam-side down in the dish. Continue doing this with all 12 tortillas, lining them up in the dish next to each other. Cover the rolled tortillas with your prepared sauce.

Cover the dish with foil and bake at 350 for 10 minutes. Remove foil, and sprinkle cheese on top. Bake, uncovered, for another 5 minutes.

Serve enchiladas, two to a person, and garnish with scallions and cilantro. Enjoy, and be amazed at your homemade deliciousness!

18 Responses to “Vegetable Enchiladas with Homemade Enchilada Sauce”

  1. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner June 17, 2016 at 9:21 am #

    Black bean enchiladas are a fan fave over here!

  2. Natalie June 17, 2016 at 5:17 pm #

    omg YES!!!! Love enchiladas!!!

  3. Wendy Joyce June 17, 2016 at 8:59 pm #

    We make a lot of enchiladas at casa Rivard.. I like the idea of veggie ones!

  4. Sierra bishop June 17, 2016 at 9:09 pm #

    These really do look awesome. Thanks for the tip on making my own red sauce. I make a homemade tomatillo green sauce for mine too! Love it!

    • xtinaluvspink June 17, 2016 at 9:11 pm #

      Oooh, that’s something I haven’t tried yet. I’ll look into it!

  5. SuzLyfe (@suzlyfe) June 18, 2016 at 5:51 am #

    My pumpkin enchiladas are my go to for Thanksgiving. I should come up with a summer version!

  6. Angela June 18, 2016 at 12:04 pm #

    I love enchiladas and your recipe looks fabulous! Can’t wait to try it, YUM!!!

  7. Michelle @ Running with Attitude June 18, 2016 at 1:42 pm #

    Big fan of enchiladas here! I like that you made your own red sauce – it is a little scary what you can find in some of those canned sauces.

  8. jillconyers June 18, 2016 at 9:05 pm #

    Veggie enchiladas are one of my favorite mexican dishes. yum.

  9. GiselleR June 19, 2016 at 12:22 pm #

    I’ve only ever had enchiladas once (at a restaurant) and they were kind of gross. But you’re definitely inspiring me to give them a go myself one of these days!

    • xtinaluvspink June 19, 2016 at 12:23 pm #

      Oh no!! You must correct that! Let me know if you try making some yourself 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. On Tour: The Vegetarian Flavor Bible | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - March 23, 2015

    […] took a recipe I know and love, and upgraded its flavor. Instead of diced canned green chiles in my homemade black bean enchiladas, I used fresh jalapeno pepper. And for my homemade red enchilada sauce, I pureed in some chipotle […]

  2. One Month, Two Challenges and Vegan Chorizo Enchilada Soup | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - October 1, 2015

    […] 1 1/4 C homemade red enchilada sauce […]

Leave a Reply

