25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes

18 Dec

Happy Birthday to ME!

Today marks my 25th year of life on planet earth, and I couldn’t be happier! So much has happened in the past year, that’s been truly amazing. In just one year, I was hired on full time at work in a job I love, found myself the most wonderful boyfriend, became a licensed Zumba instructor with my very own classes, explored & found enjoyment in yoga, moved into a lovely apartment with my sister, made new friends but kept the old, had a fantastic weekend in Boston, took a BFF road trip to Memphis, explored the world of and improved my skills in healthy cooking & baking, started watching Classic Doctor Who (and dressed as the TARDIS for Halloween), celebrated a year+ of blogging, and have grown this food blog to become more read by people like YOU! Oh, and I bought myself this gorgeous hot pink KitchenAid Stand Mixer!

25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes

I literally jumped for joy when I saw the package on the front porch!

But that begs the question: what will the next year hold? What about the next 25 years? I suppose that’s up in the air, but I think I’ll take the opportunity now to work on my bucket list. All I know for certain is that I welcome the future with open arms 🙂

In celebration of this joyous and momentous occasion, and desperately wanting to use my new stand mixer, I baked up these adorable mini gold cakes to share with my co-workers. This recipe is ideal once you’ve collected a decent amount of egg yolks. Yep, that gold color isn’t from dye, but from luxurious egg yolks! If you don’t already, when you’re baking something that calls for egg whites only, save the yolks in an air-tight container, and freeze for future use. Once you’re ready to bust out the yolks, let them thaw overnight in the fridge (or on the counter for a few hours), and you’re ready to bake! This is also a great reminder that’s super easy to reduce food waste – every little bit helps. And having cake as a result is always nice! I of course lightened up the original recipe by replacing some of the butter and sugar with unsweetened apple sauce. No recipe can run from Health Food MacGyver!

Mini Gold Cakes, adapted from All Recipes

Makes 36 mini cakes

  • 1/2 C unsalted butter (one stick)
  • 1 C granulated sugar
  • 3/4 C unsweetened apple sauce
  • 1 C egg yolks (I had 15 yolks)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1-3/4 C all purpose flour (could use a blend of AP and whole wheat)
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 C skim or nondairy milk

Preheat oven to 350. Grease 3 one-dozen mini muffin pans, set aside. (Could also use regular muffin tins, or two 8″ round cake pans)

Beat together butter, sugar and apple sauce and creamy.

25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes

Look at that big bowl! I like big bowls and I cannot lie.

Beat in the egg yolks and vanilla until fluffy.

25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes

Already a natural!

In a small bowl, whisk together flour, powder and salt.

25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes

So happy 🙂 What should I name her?

Add flour mixture and milk alternatively to the mixing bowl, beating after each addition.

Spoon into prepared mini muffin pans. Bake at 350 for 15 minutes. If baking normal sized muffins, increase time to 20 minutes. If baking in round cake pans, increase time to 25-30 minutes.

25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes

The name doesn’t leave much to the imagination, eh?

Remove from oven and allow to cool in the pan for 10 minutes before carefully removing. Let cool completely on a wire rack. Store in an airtight container and enjoy! These taste wonderful all on their own, but you could drizzle a chocolate glaze on top, or sprinkle some powdered sugar on them.

What will you make for your next birthday treat?

25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes

So tiny and sweet!

5 Responses to “25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes”

  1. Melinda Massie December 18, 2013 at 9:12 pm #

    Happy birthday!!! I *wish* I’d been as interested in cooking and unprocessed eating when I was your age. I wish you all the best for a most FABULOUS upcoming year!!!

    • xtinaluvspink December 19, 2013 at 8:12 am #

      Thank you so much, Melinda! This past year was marvelous, and I’ll make sure the next year is even more so!

  2. mmmarzipan December 19, 2013 at 2:32 pm #

    happy birthday!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Liebster Award: Discover New Bloggers | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - April 17, 2014

    […] What are your most used kitchen items? (besides silverware, the fridge, sink or dishwasher) My food processor! Between my sister and myself, the motor on that poor little processor takes a beating. I think we collectively use it every other day for something. My cooking life has much improved with this gadget. My most BELOVED kitchen item is of course my hot pink KitchenAid Stand Mixer. […]

Leave a Reply

