Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread

11 Nov

I have a strange obsession with cornbread. I love it. Sweet or savory, moist or crumbly, with or without corn kernels…I love it all. My only problem is that no one else in my family does except my dad. It’s hard to justify baking an entire batch of cornbread when two people or less are willing to eat it.

Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread

And then I found a recipe incorporating fresh avocado! What a strange but good combination. I just had to make it…and hope that I A) like it and B) would happily eat the leftovers. The avocado chunks provide the most amazing creaminess to the otherwise savory, crunchy corny goodness of this bread. I made a few adjustments from the original recipe to up the health factor of it, including using whole wheat flour and a skim milk + lemon juice mixture in place of the buttermilk. Whip this up for your family, or yourself, and enjoy!

Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread

Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread

Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread adapted from Food52

Makes one 9″ round cornbread

  • 6 tbsp butter, divided
  • 2 tsp cumin, divided
  • 1 C course ground cornmeal
  • 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 1.5 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tspΒ chili powder
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 C skim or non-dairy milk + 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1 egg
  • 1.5 C corn kernels (if using frozen, allow to thaw first)
  • 1 ripe avocado, diced

Heat oven to 375. Add two tbsp of the butter to a 9″ cast iron or oven-proof skillet, or 9″ cake pan. Sprinkle in one tsp of cumin. Transfer to preheating oven while you prepare the cornbread.

In a large mixing bowl, combine milk and lemon juice so it has time to curdle. Set aside for now.

In a medium mixing bowl, combine all the dry ingredients and whisk together.

In a small mixing bowl, combine corn and avocado.

In a small microwave-save bowl, combine honey and the other four tbsp butter. Melt together.

Going back to the now-curdled milk, whisk in the egg. Then whisk in the melted butter-honey. Now whisk the dry ingredients into the wet.

Grab a spatula and fold in the corn and diced avocado. Stir just to combine.

Using oven mitts, take the skillet or cake pan out of the oven. Pour in the cornbread mixture. Return to oven and bake 25-30 minutes, or until a tester comes out clean.

Let cool for 10-15 minutes before slicing, serving, and nomming. πŸ™‚ I ate this with a simple tomato salad dressed with balsamic vinaigrette, but I bet it would pair wonderfully with soup or chili! Perfect for a fall day.

Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread

Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread

Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread

What will you eat this with? Let me know in the comments! And don’t forget to subscribe to receive new blog updates in your email!

Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread

Fork attack!

33 Responses to “Whole Wheat Avocado Cornbread”

  1. Lauren S (@BreatheBlog) November 11, 2013 at 8:58 am #

    Great recipe! I’ve been making more chili as it gets colder so this is the perfect side!

  2. Becki @ Fighting for Wellness June 22, 2016 at 8:53 am #

    I too am a cornbread lover (in just about any iteration). I’ve added all sorts of things before, but never avocado! What a fun idea.

  3. SuzLyfe June 22, 2016 at 9:54 am #

    What a great idea! I love cornbread, I love mixing things into it, but I’ve never thought of avocado, which is a face palm because of course it would be delicious!

  4. Julie Harris June 22, 2016 at 12:30 pm #

    Great idea adding in avocado! Saving this. Thanks for sharing

  5. Abbey sharp June 22, 2016 at 12:55 pm #

    Wow I love avocados so I would adore this cornbread! I’ve never put avocado in baked goods!

    • xtinaluvspink June 22, 2016 at 12:58 pm #

      Oh, you must give it a try! I love using Avocados in place of fats in chocolate desserts. It’s also great in a smoothie.

  6. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner June 22, 2016 at 1:23 pm #

    Ooh I love cornbread but had not thought of adding avocado to it! Great idea

  7. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run June 22, 2016 at 4:02 pm #

    Wow! This is really interesting!

  8. Mikki June 22, 2016 at 4:28 pm #

    Oh my goodness This looks so good. I would have never thought to add avocado. Great looking recipe.

  9. Liz @ I Heart Vegetables June 22, 2016 at 6:36 pm #

    YUM!!! I’ve made avocado cookies, avocado muffins, and avocado smoothies but never avocado cornbread!! I can’t wait to try this!

  10. Debbie Woodruff June 22, 2016 at 6:40 pm #

    I’m pretty sure I could put avocado in just about anything and it would be awesome. I love cornbread!

  11. ilkasblog June 22, 2016 at 9:14 pm #

    What a creative recipe! Looks yummy with the avocado!

  12. Natalie June 22, 2016 at 9:37 pm #

    Yum! Sounds amazing! I wish I could have whole wheat, but I could make these for my husband!!

    • xtinaluvspink June 22, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

      Absolutely! I’m sure this would work with gluten free flour blend too.

  13. GiselleR June 22, 2016 at 10:09 pm #

    This sounds amazing! I made pancakes with cornmeal last week and I have a tonne left over, so this will def be happening soon πŸ™‚

    • xtinaluvspink June 22, 2016 at 10:23 pm #

      Haha, I have a huge bag of cornmeal… Those Pancakes sound good!

  14. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) June 23, 2016 at 5:24 am #

    You can’t go wrong with avocado. I don’t think I’ve ever cooked with corn meal.

  15. Julie Wunder June 23, 2016 at 7:31 am #

    Homemade corn bread always makes me think of my Mom. This looks so good with the addition of avocado. She never did that πŸ™‚

  16. Beach Body Bliss June 23, 2016 at 10:50 am #

    Cornbread is a definite weakness of mine! Love the ingredients in this recipe and can’t wait to try it!

    • xtinaluvspink June 23, 2016 at 11:39 am #

      Thank you!! I have some healthier cornbread recipes on the blog too πŸ™‚

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Roasted Red Pepper and Vegetable Stock Cornbread {vegan, gluten free} | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - January 16, 2016

    […] crumbly and dry, sweet and moist, made with corn kernels, or shaped like corncobs, I love the cornmeal-based bread. But I’m always striving to improve on my favorite comfort […]

  2. Pizza Cornbread | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - January 2, 2017

    […] Pizza Cornbread, adapted from my Avocado Cornbread […]

Leave a Reply

