Broccoli Stir Fry

4 Nov

Trust me. I used to hate broccoli. No, that’s an understatement. I detested it. Loathed it. Stayed very very far away from it. I referred to it as “mini trees”…and people don’t eat trees. But then with this whole “I want to be healthy” journey, I gave it a try. And ya know what? Those mini trees are so delicious! Not only are they packed with nutrients, but broccoli florets are actually tasty and versatile. Besides, it’s nice to add a bit of color to a dish. Give this one a try, or if you’re feeling more of an eggy mood, try out my broccoli frittata!

Broccoli Stir Fry

Broccoli Stir Fry

Serves 4

  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 medium onions, roughly slided
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • water
  • parsley, paprika, pepper
  • 2-3 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tbsp sriracha sauce
  • 1 tbsp honey (or use raw sugar to make it vegan)
  • 1 bag frozen broccoli florets
  • 2 C cooked rice (I used leftover rice, but you can make fresh rice)

Heat olive oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat.

Saute onion and garlic until fragrant. Add some water, about 1/4 C to the pan to deglaze it. Add the spices at the same time and stir, letting the water cook off.

Add sauces and honey and stir again. Stir in frozen broccoli florets and cover with the lid. Let the broccoli steam.

Remove lid and dump in the rice. Stir and let it soak up the juices. Once all liquid is soaked up or evaporated, serve into bowls. If you want this dinner to be extra awesome, I challenge you to eat with chopsticks! So much fun.

Broccoli Stir Fry

I ate my entire dinner with chopsticks! This was a proud moment for me.

2 Responses to “Broccoli Stir Fry”

  1. Sonja Bauer (@BauerNo2) November 5, 2013 at 11:39 am #

    Normally I’m skeptical of my sister’s cooking, but this was freaking awesome! (minded a bit spicy).

    • xtinaluvspink November 5, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

      Thanks sister! I’ll have to make it again soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

