Pumpkin Oat Muffins for the Blog’s First Birthday!

1 Nov

Yesterday was my blog’s first birthday. One year ago, I promised the world of the internet, and myself, that instead of participating in National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo), I would commit to writing a blog on some sort of consistent basis. I wanted to challenge myself to practice and perfect my writing skills, and a blog would be less stressful than composing a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.

And look what I did! It’s now a year later, and I’ve managed to discover a passion I didn’t know I had: writing about FOOD! Because good grief, I do love food. And I thoroughly enjoy writing, especially from scratch. I wasn’t sure where this little project would go, but looking back, I think I knew I would end up here somehow. I started off writing whenever I felt like it, about whatever my fingers would produce. That slowly morphed into a focus on food and recipes. And now I’m proud to consider Eat, Drink, Be Healthy a food blog that emphasizes eating well, eating deliciously, and eating to nourish the body, mind and soul. Food is a necessity in life, but it can also be an indulgence, an experience, an experiment, and is always full of lessons! Lessons on what you do and don’t like, lessons on what you’re capable of, and lessons on pushing yourself past your comfort zone, into a world of scary-looking kitchen appliances, foreign ingredients, and strange but good combinations.

The fact that this website has had nearly 11,000 views in the past year makes me tear up in joy. I had no intentions of this becoming popular. It was simply a place I could write when and what I wanted. But now, I write for myself AND others. I post recipes that are made in my very own kitchen by my own two hands (sometimes with help, of course!). And then you lovely, magnificent readers duplicate my efforts! You bring a taste of Christina into your homes and onto your dinner tables. Maybe I’ve inspired you to pick up a wooden spoon and mixing bowl, or was that extra push to try a few exploratory meatless dishes. Or make you laugh at my mistakes and blunders (results can’t always be perfect!).

YOU have let me be transparent in my culinary adventures. It’s because of YOU that I work hard to post nearly every week day. It’s because of friends – known and unknown – who WANT to make what I make, that I stretch my foodie imagination. And it’s because of YOU that I keep at it. Thank you all for reading, following along, baking and cooking, and staying amazing!

I’ve decided once again to forego NaNoWriMo in order to focus my cooking, baking and writing efforts on my blog. I’ll continue to develop the content, the photography, and the fun! Be to subscribe via email so you never miss a post!

In celebration of this lovely project, I have some pumpkin oat muffins for you. And in the spirit of all that this blog has turned into, they have no added fat, are packed with protein and fiber, and don’t have any unprocessed sugars. Oh yeah, because I’m also pledging to myself to continue being as unprocessed as possible.

What a great journey this has been. I look forward to celebrating many more years with this blog, and with YOU!

Pumpkin Oat Muffins

How cute!

Pumpkin Oat Muffins, adapted from Spokane Dinner Club

Makes 24 mini muffins or 14 regular muffins

  • 1 C pumpkin puree
  • 1 C nonfat plain Greek yogurt
  • 1.5 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 C maple syrup
  • 1/4 C honey
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • dash nutmeg
  • 2.5 C old-fashioned rolled oats (use GF oats if gluten intolerant)

Preheat oven to 375. Grease 2 mini muffin tins or 1 regular muffin tin, plus 2 more.

Blend all ingredients except the oats in a food processor. Add oats, half cup at a time, to the processor and puree. Continue until all oats are incorporated. If it seems too dry, add a dash more of maple syrup.

Use a small ice cream scoop, or a spoon, to scoop into the muffin tins.

Bake for 13-15 minutes. Remove and allow to cool 10 minutes in the tins. Carefully take them out of the tins and let cool on a wire rack completely. Store leftovers in the fridge…ha, as if you’ll have any left!

Pumpkin Oat Muffins

So tasty.

As a side note, I also learned how difficult it is to cut open and use a pie pumpkin. It took Hulk-like strength for me to get one of these puppies open. Here is proof 🙂

Pumpkin Oat Muffins

I used the strength of Hulk to crack this thing open.

What would you like to see from me in the coming year? Or even just the coming week? I love suggestions and challenges!

5 Responses to “Pumpkin Oat Muffins for the Blog’s First Birthday!”

  1. Melinda Massie November 1, 2013 at 9:05 am #

    Congratulations on your blogiversary!! Cheers to many more!

    • xtinaluvspink November 1, 2013 at 9:05 am #

      Thank you so much! It’s been an amazing first year of blogging 🙂

  2. Liz November 4, 2013 at 8:32 am #

    Happy blogbirthday!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 25 Years Old and Mini Gold Cakes | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - December 18, 2013

    […] & baking, started watching Classic Doctor Who (and dressed as the TARDIS for Halloween), celebrated a year+ of blogging, and have grown this food blog to become more read by people like YOU! Oh, and I bought myself this […]

Leave a Reply

