Herb Roasted Acorn Squash

30 Oct

Twelve. That’s the number of new foods I’ve tried so far this month thanks to October Unprocessed. And acorn squash makes it in at number 12! Think about that for a minute though – when was the last time you made a conscious effort to try something, anything, new? A new food, a new route to a frequented location, a new restaurant or bar, a new form of exercise.

Sometimes routine is the restriction and a challenge is what it takes to break routine, form a new routine, and create a new outlook. I’m grateful that Unprocessed has done just that for me. I’ve broken the routine of eating the same healthy foods over and over again (it gets boring!). I’ve made a new routine of trying new things – several times if that’s what it takes – and adding them to my every day life. And I’ve created a new outlook on my eating habits, my overall health, and my approach to challenges. They should be seen as opportunities, after all!

In the spirit of opportunity, I have been taking full advantage of autumn produce, like yesterday’s sriracha butternut squash fries. When I saw an acorn squash in my grocery store, I had no idea what I’d do with it, but bought it anyway – a conscious effort to attempt cooking something new, and to eat a food I’d never had before.

I was slightly discouraged by my mom when she told me she first had acorn squash last weekend…and it was disgusting. But that didn’t stop me from trying it out myself! My conclusion: her meal had been prepared wrong, over cooked in fact. With that in mind, I approached this squash carefully (and I don’t just mean when cleaving it open). Give it a shot. I encourage you to try it out. What’s the worst that could happen, anyway?

Herb Roasted Acorn Squash

Herb Roasted Acorn Squash, adapted from Always in Wonder

Serves 3-4

  • 1 acorn squash, washed well, sliced open lengthwise down the middle, seeds & guts removed
  • grapeseed or olive oil
  • italian seasoning
  • rosemary, crushed
  • freshly cracked sea salt & pepper

Preheat oven to 400. Line two large baking sheets with foil and spray with PAM.

Cut the squash into thin slices. Mine ranged from 1/8″ to 1/4″ in thickness.

Place onto prepared baking sheets in a single layer – a little overlap is fine.

Drizzle with oil and sprinkle on the seasonings to taste.

Roast for 10 minutes then flip the slices. Roast another 10 minutes. Remove from oven and let cool for 5 minutes. Eat as a snack or use it as a side dish!

What will you buy at the store next time that you’ve never had before?

Herb Roasted Acorn Squash

2 Responses to “Herb Roasted Acorn Squash”

  1. Melinda Massie October 30, 2013 at 1:26 pm #

    YUM! Here’s another fabulous recipe using acorn squash: http://www.howsweeteats.com/2010/10/vanilla-bourbon-baked-balsamic-acorn-squash/

    • xtinaluvspink October 30, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

      Thanks! Squash for dinner and then more for dessert? I’m in!

Leave a Reply

