#Unprocessed Cabbage & Rice Stew

16 Oct

DID YOU KNOW: Cabbage tastes good! I’m not talking about sauerkraut’s sister red cabbage (sorry, Oma, I’m still not a fan), but the head of cabbage in the store that looks like a head of lettuce if you’re not paying attention. It has such depth of flavor! And the inside tastes different than the outside. I was amazed that I could even discern a difference – guess my taste buds are acclimating well to this unprocessed challenge!

These are all discoveries that happened at dinner tonight. I fell in love with another vegetable, and added another recipe to my repertoire. And it comes straight from a guest post for October Unprocessed! Christina’s Cucina provided us this tasty family recipe last week, and now I’ve made it, and must tell the world. My newfound love has nothing to do with the fact that we share the same name 🙂

Cabbage & Rice Stew

Cabbage is often known as the poor man’s food. And cabbage stew conjures up some pretty disgusting images, I’m sure. But this turns things around dramatically! It’s versatile, makes for great leftovers, can feed a large family, and is packed with vitamins, nutrients, minerals, veggies and FLAVOR.

I followed the recipe pretty closely, with a few minor changes:

  • Added a minced clove of garlic to the sautéing onion and celery.
  • Used leftover spicy tomato pasta sauce in place of the tomato puree
  • Left out the cheese

Go check out Christina’s recipe for Italian Cabbage & Rice. And then make it!

What’s your favorite recipe for cabbage? Have you ever eaten or cooked it? Ideas, people! I need ideas!

2 Responses to “#Unprocessed Cabbage & Rice Stew”

  1. RSeal November 13, 2013 at 3:20 pm #

    I love cabbage too and in fact am making this dish tonight! One of our favorites here at home is cabbage, yukon gold potatoes, onions, ham shanks, salt, pepper, bay leaf and chicken stocked cooked all day in the crockpot. Flavortown!
    I love to eat cabbage raw, in small chunks as well…so good.

    • xtinaluvspink November 13, 2013 at 3:29 pm #

      You’re making me hungry! Enjoy this recipe 🙂

Leave a Reply

