Sunbutter Coconut Apple Crisp for Two

4 Oct

I went shopping! Grocery shopping, that is. And this time, at our local co-op, Outpost Natural Foods. I’m pretty lucky in that the nearest one is only 10 minutes away by car. So I took a trip there!

The first obstacle that I’ve run into with the October Unprocessed challenge is sweets and sweeteners. The chocolate in my drawer at work has too many chemicals. The dried fruit, sweetened coconut, and even chocolate chips in my pantry at home are all processed way too much, contain chemicals, and other “natural flavors.”

Uh…I don’t think so. And being that I have a major sweet tooth, I needed to fix this right away! I knew Outpost wouldn’t let me down. Check out what I brought home! Organic whole wheat flour, organic steel cut oats, organic shredded unsweetened coconut, organic and fair trade dark & orange chocolate bars, organic sunflower seed butter, organic unsweetened soy milk and organic rye berries. (I have no idea what to do with this last one – stay tuned to find out how I use it!) Oh, and now I’m part owner of the co-op πŸ™‚ Might as well go all the way, right?

Sunbutter Coconut Apple Crisp for Two

I feel healthier just looking at this stuff!

Phew! What a wonderful haul. And now I have so many ideas! My boyfriend’s favorite dessert is apple crisp. It’s one that I love too, and considering I went apple picking this past weekend, these new ingredients provide the perfect excuse to try and “healthify” this autumn dessert. (He won’t even know the difference)

Sunbutter Coconut Apple Crisp for Two

My friend, Ally, and I climbing the trees, picking and eating apples, and enjoying early autumn.

Apple crisp is usually packed with brown sugar and butter. This time, I’ve made a version using pure maple syrup as a sweetener, sunbutter as the fat source, and coconut and other spices to give it a depth that’ll warm your heart just to smell! The end result is an apple crisp that has all the properties of its traditional version, but with a healthy, hearty and filling take. You can’t go wrong!

Sunbutter Coconut Apple Crisp for Two

Sunbutter Coconut Apple Crisp for Two

Serves 2, can be easily doubled

  • 1 large tart apple, or two smaller ones – washed, cored and chopped
  • 1/2 C old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 2 tbsp unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1 tbsp sunflower seed butter (sunbutter)
  • 2-3 tbsp pure maple syrup
  • 1/2 C additive-free soy milk, or other nondairy milk

Preheat oven too 350. Grease a small baking dish.

Prepare apples and layer in the bottom of the greased dish.

In a small bowl, combine oats, cinnamon, nutmeg and coconut – stir together. Add in sunbutter and syrup and mix well. Add another tbsp maple syrup if it seems too dry.

Sprinkle over chopped apples. Drizzle milk on top – this will keep the apples from drying out. Bake uncovered for 23 minutes.

Allow to cool 10 minutes before enjoying plain, with a scoop of your favorite all-natural ice cream, or eat the leftovers cold for breakfast! This IS made up of what I would put in a pot to make hot oatmeal, anyway.

….because I made two servings for myself. Forever alone, or smart baker? πŸ˜€

Sunbutter Coconut Apple Crisp for Two

I realized that I forgot to snap a picture before I served it up. That’s how good it smelled!

One Response to “Sunbutter Coconut Apple Crisp for Two”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Rye Berry Bread | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - October 7, 2013

    […] of the fun of the October Unprocessed challenge is trying new things! So on my last trip to the co-op, I bought rye berries. I had no idea what a rye berry was, what you could do with it, or even how […]

Leave a Reply

