Gurkensalat (Cucumber Salad)

18 Sep

I’m German. Surprise! If you didn’t know that, I grew up living next door to my Oma and Opa, studied German all through school to end up with it as one of my two Bachelor’s degrees, and even studied abroad in Giessen, Hessen. And I miss it every single day since. The five months I spent there were some of the best five months of my life. And I will go back!

But until I do, I try to immerse myself in German culture, German food, German language, and of course – German beer! Prost!

This recipe is from my Oma, Gertrud. I’m lucky to have grandparents so close geographically. And Oma is one of the best cooks I know. She makes this salad rather often – it’s simple, delicious, and acts as a great summer side dish to nearly any meal. Come back tomorrow to see what I paired it with this time!

Gurkensalat (Cucumber Salad)
Gurkensalat (Cucumber Salad)

Serves 2, can be multiplied

  • 1-2 very long cucumbers (thanks for the garden-fresh ones, Opa!)
  • 1 packet Salatkrönung Dill-Kräuter (find this at any import store or online – it’s worth it)
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 tbsp Salata herbed vinegar (or other light and flavored vinegar)

Peel cucumbers. Using a mandolin, slice cucumbers very thin. Transfer to a serving bowl.

In a small bowl, combine herb packet, olive oil and vinegar. Mix well to emulsify the oil and vinegar. Pour over sliced cucumbers.

Stir and store in the fridge until you’re ready to eat. This is a great make-ahead salad, and can even be eaten the next day!

Oma, thanks for all the German home-cooking! I may need to take a trip back to Germany to buy more Salatkrönung 🙂

What recipes do you carry on from your grandparents?

2 Responses to “Gurkensalat (Cucumber Salad)”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Broccoli Frittata | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - September 19, 2013

    […] continue with what seems to be a green veggie theme this week (peas on Tuesday, cucumbers yesterday), let’s use another of my new fave green veggies: […]

  2. Summer Vegetable Dill Pasta Salad | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - July 9, 2015

    […] pasta salad is a take on my favorite cucumber salad. With the addition of healthy pasta, chickpeas and corn, this makes a full meal, or an amazing side […]

Leave a Reply

