Greek Yogurt Chocolate Pound Cake Mini Loaves

5 Sep

My office often has bake sales for various charities we support. And when I can, I jump at the chance to provide my baking skills and whip up something tasty for a good cause. Because baked goods should make people feel better, right? Right! Cupcakes crossed my mind, but then I remembered a chocolate pound cake recipe I came across some time ago. Rather than baking one big loaf, I used my mini loaf pan (which I still LOVE). The loaves are the perfect size to entice customers, garner more funds, and are ideal for munching on now AND later! Am I clever or what? ๐Ÿ™‚

Greek Yogurt Chocolate Pound Cake Mini Loaves

You don’t need a bake sale to make these. In fact, I bet they’d be great to just take to work, school, or your lovely neighbor! Or eat all yourself. Your choice.

Greek Yogurt Chocolate Pound Cake Mini Loaves

But wait, there’s more! Do you really think I’d make something, gush about it, and tell you it’s totally unhealthy? Ha! Go back and read a few posts, my friend. These loaves, in total, only contain 1/4 cup of butter. The Greek yogurt actually ADDS health benefits. And cocoa powder touts the benefit of having FIBER! Just one tablespoon of unsweetened cocoa powder has 2g fiber. Pretty impressive for a dessert, eh? NOW go make this. No excuses!

Greek Yogurt Chocolate Pound Cake Mini Loaves

Greek Yogurt Chocolate Pound Cake Mini Loaves, adapted from Roxana’s Home Baking

Makes 8 mini loaves, or one 9×5″ loaf

  • 1 1/2 C flour
  • 3/4 C cocoa powder
  • 3/4 C granulated sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 C skim milk
  • 1 tsp lemon juice
  • 1/2 C plain nonfat Greek yogurt
  • 1/4 C melted butter

Preheat oven to 350. Grease a mini loaf pan or a 9×5″ loaf pan with PAM. Be sure to spray all sides!

Combine milk and lemon juice in a measuring cup. Stir and let sit while you get the rest going. This creates the equivalent to buttermilk, without all the fat!

In a large mixing bowl, whisk together flour, cocoa powder, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.

Melt butter in a small bowl in the microwave.

In a medium bowl, beat the egg. Add the curdled milk, yogurt and melted butter. Whisk to combine.

Fold the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until just combined. Use a wooden spoon (take it from me – do NOT use the whisk). Do not over-mix.

For mini loaves: Use an ice cream scoop to drop two full spoonfuls of batter into each mini pan. This should fill them about 2/3 the way. Bake for 20 minutes.

For a 9×5 pan: Scrape all batter into the pan. Bake for 45-50 minutes.

Remove to cooling rack and allow to cool 15-20 minutes before removing from pan to finish cooling.

Eat warm, store in an airtight container for your office’s bake sale, or let your family devour them later. Or save them for yourself. Really, I won’t judge ๐Ÿ™‚

Greek Yogurt Chocolate Pound Cake Mini Loaves

3 Responses to “Greek Yogurt Chocolate Pound Cake Mini Loaves”

  1. Roxana | Roxana's Home Baking September 7, 2013 at 5:25 am #

    I’ve seen the pan for these cute mini loaves a while back but didn’t buy it telling myself I don’t need it, but after seeing your mini loaves I must have a pan like that!
    Hope you’re bake sale went great. Thanks for trying my recipe

    • xtinaluvspink September 7, 2013 at 9:11 am #

      I was beyond excited when my parents got me this pan for Christmas last year ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s amazing how many things you can make in mini loaf size! These, banana breads, orange-cranberry breads, muffins, etc. I have found plenty use for this lovely pan.

      Bake sale went well, thanks! I love so many of your recipes.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Greek Yogurt Peanut Butter Pound Cake Mini Loaves | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - September 6, 2013

    […] Peanut butter pound cake! Is that a thing? Well it certainly is now! The only thing this cake begs for is a slathering of homemade jam on top. Or perhaps you could smash it together with the chocolate variety of pound cake mini loaves! […]

Leave a Reply

