Pasta with Chickpeas in a Pinot Grigio Sauce

3 Sep

I came across a recipe that required exactly the amount of leftover Pinot Grigio that was residing in my fridge from last weekend’s dinner party. Except, this recipe’s main star was shrimp, which is not a favorite of mine. But fear not, there’s always a replacement! Such as chickpeas! These wonderful beans take the flavor of nearly anything, and are so healthy for you at the same time. With a few adjustments, this was a perfect, light, summery dinner for my sister and I, with leftovers for the next day!

Pasta with Chickpeas in a Pinot Grigio Sauce

Perfect end-of-summer dinner.

What’s great is that this small ingredient exchange makes this dish completely vegan! Bust this out for any dinner guest, and I bet they’ll enjoy it.

Pasta with Pino Grigio and Chickpeas, adapted from NoshMyWay

Serves 4

  • 8 oz thin spaghetti or angel hair pasta, preferably whole wheat
  • 1.5 tbsp olive oil
  • 1/4 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 6 oz Pinot Grigio
  • 1 can (15 oz) chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 2 roma tomatoes, diced
  • fresh cracked salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 Soux Chef (optional – my sister, Sonja, just happened to walk in so I put her to work)

Bring a large pot of water to a boil. Add pasta and cook according to package directions until al dente.

While waiting for the water to boil and the pasta to cook, heat a large skillet on medium. Add olive oil, onion, garlic and red pepper flakes. Saute for 3-5 minutes, until tender and fragrant. Add chickpeas and wine. Reduce heat to simmer and cover. Cook for 5 minutes.

Add tomatoes, salt and pepper and cook another minute.

Your pasta should be done just as the rest is finishing up. Drain pasta (this is where Soux Chef Sonja came to help). Serve into bowls, and spoon the chickpea-wine mixture on top, being sure to pour sauce over the pasta with it. Eat and enjoy!

Pasta with Chickpeas in a Pinot Grigio Sauce

Wine with dinner? How about wine IN dinner!

What recipes do you have for leftover wine? Or am I one of the few crazies who actually LEAVE leftover wine instead of drinking it? ๐Ÿ˜›

Pasta with Chickpeas in a Pinot Grigio Sauce

Soux Chef Sonja, finishing off the bottle. Hiccup! (Just kidding, it was empty before she got to it)

2 Responses to “Pasta with Chickpeas in a Pinot Grigio Sauce”

  1. M. Baird-Nosh My Way (@MarBaird) September 3, 2013 at 2:25 pm #

    I am so glad you decided to make my dsh. You did a fantastic job. I told you the additional of the red pepper flakes would make a huge difference. I am honored that someone made one of my recipes and posted about it.

    • xtinaluvspink September 3, 2013 at 2:34 pm #

      It was delicious! And the flakes add the perfect flavor boost. I’m glad I could adjust to my needs!! Thanks for posting the recipe ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

