Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

7 Aug

Coworker: “Mmm, that smells good, what is it?”

Me: “Pumpkin Pie oatmeal :D”

I bring and eat my breakfast at work. To eat at 7am each day would make my stomach unhappy, so this is my solution! As a result, I think I’ve developed a reputation as the cinnamon-lover. Because I put cinnamon in EVERYTHING. Seriously, it’s so good, and healthy! This breakfast was no different. I’ve been using up a can of pumpkin puree since making pumpkin pie froyo, so here’s the recipe if you want to do the same! (Doesn’t matter that it’s August, right? Pumpkin pie anytime!)

Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal

Serves 1

  • 1/2 C old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp pumpkin pie spice (dig it out of your cupboard, I know you have it from last autumn!)
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed meal or chia seeds
  • handful dried cranberries (to really get the full Thanksgiving effect)
  • 1/3 C pumpkin puree
  • maple syrup, agave nectar, stevia if desired (I didn’t use any, but you may want to)
  • 3/4-1 C skim or non-dairy milk

Overnight version:

Mix all dry ingredients together in a bowl with an airtight lid. Add in pumpkin, sweetener (if using) and 3/4 C milk. Stir, cover and place in fridge overnight or at least 4 hours before eating. Let sit out 15 minutes in the morning, and enjoy!

Stovetop version:

Bring 1 C milk to a boil. Add oats and all dry ingredients and cook on medium heat to your desired consistency (3-5 min). Stir in pumpkin and sweetener (if using). Transfer to your bowl and eat it hot!

Confession: I ate this before I could snap a picture. You’ll just have to make it yourself to see! Or make yourself some banana bread oatmeal, another fave of mine.

How do you celebrate Thanksgiving in August? Or is that just something crazy people like myself do? 🙂

3 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal”

  1. Little Miss Fit August 7, 2013 at 9:44 pm #

    Mmm pumpkin pie oatmeal sounds like the perfect bowl of oatmeal! And it sounds so perfect for fall too! 🙂

    • xtinaluvspink August 7, 2013 at 9:54 pm #

      Thanks! I’m sure it’s wonderful for fall. But I wanted some now 🙂

      • Little Miss Fit August 7, 2013 at 9:57 pm #

        Oh I hear ya….pumpkin anything is amazing all year round! 😀

Leave a Reply

