Roasted Zucchini with Parmesan Fried Eggs

6 Aug

I often come home from my evening Zumba classes so hungry that I can hear my stomach yelling at me. And that usually forces me to come up with a quick, nutritious meal, which doesn’t always taste completely amazing. At that point, all I care about is FOOD.

But then sometimes, Forethinking Christina makes an appearance, and preps her post-Zumba dinner ahead of time! And this time, she did.

She cut up the zucchini and tomato, prepared the baking dish, and even set aside the two eggs in a bowl – all in the fridge. It was ready and waiting when she…I mean I…came home, exhausted after an intense Zumba session.

So learn from me – prep your meal ahead of time, as much as you can, and you’ll be able to eat a healthy, TASTY meal in the time it takes to shower the sweat away!

Roasted Zucchini with Parmesan Fried Eggs

Ok, I ate one of the eggs before I even considered taking a picture. And it was so good!

Roasted Zucchini with Parmesan Fried Eggs

Serves 1, can be easily doubled

  • 1 small zucchini, diced
  • 1 plum tomato, diced
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • freshly cracked salt and pepper
  • 1/2 tsp basil
  • 1/2 tsp paprika
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 tsp parmesan grated cheese

Prep zucchini and tomato ahead of time, keep it in a bowl in the fridge.

When you’re ready (or immediately), turn oven onto 400 degrees. Line a pie plate with aluminum foil – this was the perfect size for me. If you’re doubling/tripling the recipe, simply use a large cookie sheet lined with foil.

Dump veggies onto foiled dish of choice. Drizzle with olive oil, and sprinkle on salt, pepper, basil, and paprika. Give it a stir and spread out in a single layer.

No need to wait for the oven to preheat (we’re not baking, here!). Slide your veggies onto the middle rack, and roast for 20 minutes. Stir and flip them halfway through, to evenly roast all sides.

Go shower, do the dishes, feed the cat, suffer from Zumba brain if you’re me (it’s a real thing – look it up).

When the veggies have 5 minutes left, heat a small frying pan over medium-high heat on the stove. Once hot, spray with PAM baking spray, or more olive oil if you wish. Crack in your eggs and fry ’em the way you like. I prefer mine with crispy edges, but a runny yolk in the middle. Before flipping the eggs to cook the other side, sprinkle 1 tsp of parmesan onto each egg. Now flip, and finish cooking.

Serve veggies in a bowl, and top with fried eggs. I love to let the yolk coat the veggies…the perfect dressing!

Devour and make your stomach happy 🙂

Note: You can do this with literally any veggie: broccoli, cauliflower, carrots, bell pepper, onion, sweet potato…whatever you like to eat! I just like the combination of veggies + fat + protein for an after-workout meal. Fuels me well. What do you whip up after an intense cardio session?

2 Responses to “Roasted Zucchini with Parmesan Fried Eggs”

  1. Alexis @ Hummusapien August 7, 2013 at 7:52 am #

    What is it about the zucchini and egg combo?! SO good! Last night for din I had scrambled eggs with sautéed zucchini on the side….so simple yet so perfect. Can’t wait to try this, lady!

    • xtinaluvspink August 7, 2013 at 7:53 am #

      Ooh, I’ve done that too! For some reason, it’s just a great combo, eh? Thanks, and let me know how you like it!

Leave a Reply

