Baking Fail and a Blueberry Oatmeal Recipe

3 Jul

Recipes, like rules, are meant to be followed, right? Of course not! Well, not always. It’s a rare occasion when I follow a recipe – and that’s usually only when I’ve made something before and want to recreate it as is. We all know that baking is a science, and that similar to chemistry, certain ingredients respond differently with others when combined.

Well, I failed to follow the recipe, and I failed to listen to what I know about baking, and the result was a cookie fail. So sad, so pathetic, so much less dessert for my family as we celebrate Independence Day with a day-long camp out on the shores of Lake Michigan, to be followed by a pretty awesome fireworks display.

But that’s what America is about! Failing and trying again – over and over – until you succeed. It’s not about giving up and giving in, it’s about perseverance, persistence, perfecting in order to achieve your dreams. And in the spirit of America, Independence Day, and my own love of baking, I shall never give up! But maybe next time I’ll follow the recipe, because Chocolate-Covered Katie DOES know what she’s doing. I’m sorry, Katie! I ruined your secret ingredient peanut butter cookies (my fail: I swapped out the secret ingredient for oil…shame on me!).

Baking Fail

They LOOK as if they’ll turn out well. NOPE.

Baking Fail

They fell apart while merely looking at them. They were cooked on the bottom but no where else, and they had no substance to them! Sadness.

Silver lining: the dough still tasted great, which was a decent consolation prize for failed cookies. Go make her cookies. You won’t fail if you follow the instructions! I’ve learned my lesson.

Baking Fail

Tasty dough is still tasty.

A recipe that DID work, two days in a row now, is my blueberry and peanut overnight oatmeal! Antioxidants and healthy fats make everything better. At least I can still do some things right. If you’re hungry for it now, cook it up on the stove. If you know you’ll be hungry for it tomorrow, let it soak now! How versatile and simple…more qualities to define the US of A.

Blueberry & Peanut Oatmeal

Serves 1, can be multiplied

  • 1/2 C old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tbsp flaxseed meal or wheat germ
  • 1 tbsp peanuts
  • 1 big handful fresh, washed blueberries
  • 3/4 – 1 C skim or non-dairy milk

Overnight version:

In a bowl with a lid, combine oats, cinnamon, flax, peanuts and blueberries. Stir well to combine. Pour in milk, amount to your desired consistency, and mix well. Cover with lid and keep in fridge overnight, or at least four hours. When you’re ready to eat, remove from fridge for 10 minutes, stir, and devour!

Stovetop version:

Bring 1 C milk to a boil in a small saucepan. Add oats, cinnamon and flax and cook on medium for 5 minutes, or to your consistency. When it’s done, transfer to your oatmeal bowl, and top with blueberries. Eat!

Happy 4th of July to all my US readers. Have a red, white and blue drink for me!

Blueberry Oatmeal

The blueberries pop in your mouth! Yum 🙂

What recipes have you royally screwed up? How did you recover from it?

Leave a Reply

