Avocado Oat Pancakes

2 Jul

Wait, what? It’s enough that I advocate avocado in your mint chocolate chip oatmeal, but now in your indulgent morning pancakes too? I must be crazy!

Strange But Good

Why yes I am. This strange but good breakfast puts a serving of healthy fats, potassium, fiber and protein in your belly before 9am! And what’s more fun than eating something green, right?

Grab that ripe avocado, plug in your food processor or blender, and hop to it! I have made the pancake recipe from Colorful Palate, linked below, so many times that I have the ingredient list memorized. But then an idea came to me to replace the mashed banana with mashed avocado! How perfect, eh?

Avocado Oat Pancakes, inspired by Colorful Palate’s Vegan Banana Oat Pancakes

Makes 12 pancakes, to serve 4 people

  • 1 1/4 C old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1/2 C whole wheat flour
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 2 packets Stevia, or equivalent of other sweetener (honey would work, or white sugar)
  • 1 1/2 C skim or non-dairy milk, according to your dietary needs
  • 1 ripe avocado, mashed

Combine all ingredients, except avocado, in your food processor or blender. Liquify! (Warning: this is NOT a nice way to wake someone up in the morning…sorry, sister!)

Avocado Oat Pancakes

The batter turned out to be less than green than I had hoped. Oh well.

In a small bowl, mash avocado well with a fork. Go to town on that thing! Brew your coffee, or steep your tea in the meantime.

Avocado Oat Pancakes

Mmmmm I do love me some fresh avocado.

Add the avocado to the processor and blend until well combined.

Avocado Oat Pancakes

Whirrrrrrr goes the processor!

Let that sit while you heat up a griddle or frying pan on the stove, over medium-high heat. Lightly spray with PAM, or rub with olive oil, so nothing sticks.

Using a 1/4 C measuring cup, or a ladle, scoop batter into the greased pan, spreading it out to make small 3″ pancakes. The batter will be thick, so you’ll have to manually spread it to your liking.

Avocado Oat Pancakes

Mini pancakes are more fun to eat, and easier to flip!

Cook until bubbles start appearing on top of the pancakes, and flip, allowing to cook a few more minutes. Make sure the inside is cooked through, before transferring to a plate, or a low preheated oven to keep warm.

Avocado Oat Pancakes

The Goldilocks of pancakes…they were juuuuusssstttt right.

What’s your favorite kind of pancake? I’m open to new flavors!

23 Responses to “Avocado Oat Pancakes”

  1. Melisa R July 2, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    I am addicted to avocados, but I must admit, I never considered making some into pancakes… This recipe sees lovely, though and I will definitely try it.

    • xtinaluvspink July 2, 2013 at 10:35 pm #

      They’re so yummy! Definitely give this a shot…I bet you’ll like it!

  2. sprint2thetable October 18, 2013 at 6:58 am #

    Great idea!!! I love baking with avocado as the healthy fat… why not pancakes?! 🙂

  3. Glenneth R July 22, 2016 at 9:03 am #

    just not a huge fan of avocado – but for people who love them – these look delicious. pancakes though – i need some.

    • xtinaluvspink July 22, 2016 at 9:15 am #

      Oh no! My mom is allergic to them, but she makes the best guacamole of all time!

  4. Wholesome Paradise July 22, 2016 at 12:03 pm #

    I never would have thought to put avocado in a pancake. How original! I’ll have to try these out one day.

    • xtinaluvspink July 22, 2016 at 12:04 pm #

      Thank you! They’re a fun twist, and could really be made savory or sweet.

  5. Mikki July 22, 2016 at 3:10 pm #

    What a fun twist on pancakes! Yum!

  6. Deborah @ Confessions of a mother runner July 22, 2016 at 3:47 pm #

    Interesting combo indeed!

  7. Kayla @ Blondes Have More Run July 22, 2016 at 4:18 pm #

    I would have never thought to put avocado in my pancakes. Can you taste it at all?

    • xtinaluvspink July 22, 2016 at 4:18 pm #

      Vaguely, yes. But in the same way you taste it when it’s in your smoothies.

  8. Beach Body Bliss July 22, 2016 at 7:36 pm #

    Sounds so daring! I love the idea but don’t know that I’d ever be able to pull it off. Would love to try tho!

  9. Jill Conyers (@jillconyers) July 23, 2016 at 7:31 am #

    As much as I love avocado I can’t believe I didn’t think of trying this.

  10. chrissytherd July 23, 2016 at 11:46 am #

    I’m a traditionalist when it comes to pancakes, plain are probably my favorite – but all the others don’t fall too far behind. I can’t wait to try this! Love the avocado for some healthy fats.

    • xtinaluvspink July 23, 2016 at 12:46 pm #

      I do love a good, plain pancake! But it’s nice to switch it up 🙂

  11. GiselleR July 23, 2016 at 10:17 pm #

    I’ve never thought to put avocado in my pancakes but I’m definitely giving this a try next weekend. Thanks for sharing!

  12. GiselleR July 23, 2016 at 10:18 pm #

    I never thought to put avocado in my pancakes but I’m definitely going to try this next weekend. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

