Vegan Nutty Peach Crisp

10 Jun

Spending time at home has been absolutely wonderful, and there’s still one week of it left! To carry on my apparent peach theme, I whipped up a quick, easy and HEALTHY dessert for my family this past Friday night: Peach Crisp! That bowl full of peaches was on the verge of going bad, and rather than eat peach oatmeal for the next five days, I opted to slice them up and make a crisp of them. But in the healthiest way possible. I searched for a recipe, and finally found one that met my needs at Girl Makes Food. I had to alter the measurements slightly, because we only had 6 peaches, rather than 8. But, being a hungry girl, I kept the topping as is…you can’t go wrong with an oat and nut-based crisp! Oh, and I added Brandy upon my father’s request, because why not. And I was too lazy to dig out my parents’ food processor. So I guess I didn’t follow the recipe at all. Below is my altered version.

Vegan Nutty Peach Crisp

Brandy makes everything better.

Vegan Peach Crisp, inspired by Girl Makes Food (Serves 6)

Filling

  • 6 ripe peaches, washed and sliced
  • 1 tbsp maple syrup (or honey if you don’t need to be vegan)
  • 1 oz your favorite Brandy, or spiced rum (optional)

Topping

  • 3/4 C old-fashioned rolled oats
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 C chopped pecans (or a combination of pecans and walnuts, like I did)
  • 2 tbsp maple syrup (or more honey)
  • 1 oz of the same liquor as above (optional)

Preheat oven to 350. Spray a glass pie plate, or 8×8 glass dish, with vegan cooking spray.

In a bowl, toss sliced peaches with syrup and brandy, if using. Spread into a layer in the pie plate.

In the same bowl (less dishes, y’all!), mix the topping ingredients together well. Spread into pie plate, to completely cover the peaches.

Bake for 30 minutes at either the top or middle rack position. Remove from oven and let cool, allowing the juices to thicken, for 10-15 minutes.

Vegan Nutty Peach Crisp

The oat and nut mixture are the perfect rustic compliment to the natural sweetness of ripe peaches. Mmmmm.

Serve alone, with your favorite vanilla non-dairy ice cream, or with some whipped coconut cream as a topping! This is the perfect cool-evening dessert, and leftovers make a great cold or re-heated breakfast treat. Which is exactly what I ate Saturday morning before heading out on our speedboat for the first time this year.

Vegan Nutty Peach Crisp

Our toes toasting in the sun!

Psst, check out this recipe on Food52! I submitted it for a fruit dessert contest.

2 Responses to “Vegan Nutty Peach Crisp”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Plum Pecan Oatmeal | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - June 11, 2013

    […] fruit & nut combination has always been a favorite of mine. From yesterday’s Vegan Nutty Peach Crisp, to a simple snack of apple slices + peanut butter, all the way to walnut-filled banana bread, the […]

  2. Double Chocolate Stout Cake with Chocolate Stout Ganache | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - June 17, 2013

    […] been putting Guinness in our cakes for years. And I tend to bake often with alcohol: brandy in my peach crisp, and beer in my banana bread. But I wanted something that would really enhance the flavors of good […]

Leave a Reply

