{Guest Post} Soft & Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

6 Jun

I was gone all yesterday, from 6:30 am to 10 pm. Work, the gym, then orchestra had me busy all day and night! Not that I’d ever trade in any of those things. But on my drive home (finally), all I could think about was how hungry I was. And then I walked into the house…it smelled like what I expect heaven to smell like….freshly baked homemade cookies. From my sister, no less! She grinned, told me to go to the kitchen, and sure enough, there sat a bag of the scrumptious-smelling treats. I grabbed one and was actually TRANSPORTED to heaven! Oh, how soft, chewy, peanut buttery and chocolatey these are! It took an awful lot of restraint to eat just one. I present to you, the most amazing sister in the world, Sonja Bauer! You can find her on Twitter and read her blog.

Soft & Chewy Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

So normally, I’m not in the baking mood…unless if I should be doing something else. My current something else that I know I should be doing is editing my book.

For the past 4 years, I’ve taken part in what is called NaNoWriMo for which you compete with yourself to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. My first two books sucked and I haven’t dared to look back at them. My third book is published, titled Keys (buy it on Amazon!). Now I’m editing my forth book, which I plan to take to an agent and editors and do the whole shebang to publish it. It’s about this irregular ice cream man and little kids. It’s a fictional horror story and I really like it…I just don’t want to edit it. It’s always easier to edit someone else’s work because I find it easier to be honest with someone else’s work instead of your own because you know how much time and energy you’ve spent on your book. So instead, I bake.

Yesterday I made Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies for my mom to bring to work (also got me out of editing for an hour so I was happy). Last night, Christina came home from orchestra practice and just two feet in the door said it smells like heaven. She put her stuff down, grabbed a cookie and said that it was one of the best cookies she’s had in a long time (that coming from a baker and a family who loves to bake, means a lot). Only sad thing is, our mom took most of the cookies with her to work today…so I made a second batch for us to have at home and take with to our girls night.

The original recipe can be found on Allrecipes.com. I followed the ingredients and directions to a T, except for the temperature and how long I baked them. I set the oven to 350* and baked them for 9 minutes, flipping the pans from the top to bottom rack half way through for even baking.

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip CookiesPeanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip CookiesPeanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies
Now to eat a cookie and get back to editing…or maybe I’ll go visit my Oma (grandma), who happens to live next door.
Leave a Reply

