Free Weight Friday

17 May

That can be a thing, right? Ok, well this is actually the weight training I did last night, but same difference. I think.

I’m fairly new to using the weight room. Serious exercise for me first started just over two years ago, with Zumba. And I loved (and still do!). But now that I’ve lost weight, and am working to keep it off, it’s time to throw some weights in, to start toning up. Smooth progression, if I do say so myself. Luckily, my best friend Mary is pretty knowledgeable about the weight room, so she’s been a great workout buddy. We spot each other, correct our form, and provide awesome motivation.

Here’s what I did last night, and am now fantastically sore because of it!

WOD - Free Weights

MyFitnessPal is such a useful little app ๐Ÿ™‚

Any suggestions on how to improve? What to add? Other moves to throw into the mix? I’d love more ideas to keep my gym time fresh!!

Oh, and post-weight training nutrition: Spicy Sweet Potato, Black Bean and Corn Quinoa Salad from Cooking Quinoa. And a hard boiled egg. And beer. Because you gotta live a little ๐Ÿ™‚ Luckily, I was smart enough to prep all that ahead of time and let it chill. So I could devour upon returning from the gym. I’m a smart one!

Spicy Sweet Potato, Black Bean and Corn Quinoa Salad

This bowl barely lived to see 10 minutes from the time I snapped this picture. And that beer saw the same tasty fate.

2 Responses to “Free Weight Friday”

  1. Tiff May 17, 2013 at 10:09 am #

    That salad looks great! Of course, the beer is an excellent pairing as well. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • xtinaluvspink May 17, 2013 at 10:11 am #

      Thanks! I highly recommend that recipe! I made a few alterations (when don’t I), but the base of it is great. So tasty and healthy! And beer…mmm. Sometimes, it’s just necessary ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

