Kulfi

15 May

Innovation is something we’re encouraged to do at my work every day. It’s something that has been instilled in me thanks to Girl Scouts. And it’s something that I try to apply to my personal life on a daily basis as well. Using leftover ingredients is one (delicious) form of that innovation. It’s also experimentation! Because if worse comes to worst, you can still toss out the failed creation, without really losing much at all.

In the spirit of innovation, I decided to put the leftover milk mixture from my Tres Leches cake to use in a new recipe. I could have thrown out the milk combination, but did a little research (something I tend to do rather often when it comes to cooking), and came up with a perfect, new, and foreign recipe! Don’t you love when things work out like that?

I discovered Kulfi, a traditional Indian Subcontinent ice cream type of dessert. Original recipes require you to evaporate the milks yourself, which is a long and slow process. Luckily, the first recipe I found for the “modern” world, required only melting, mixing, cooling, pouring and freezing. EASY! The most popular flavor is a combination of cardamom and pistachio nuts. I had neither of those ingredients, however, so I improvised.

Below is my version, though it’s hardly traditional. For best results, you’ll have to apply some creativity of your own! Use add-ins that you have on hand, or really enjoy in a dessert. After all, YOU are the one to eat it! That’s the fun part about cooking – rarely must you follow a recipe precisely. Most allow for changes, adaptations, and personal flair.

White Chocolate & Walnut Kulfi, based off recipes from Served with Love and Honest Cooking

Makes 12 half-cup servings

  • 1 can evaporated milk
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk
  • 1/4 C heavy cream

Add-ins

  • 1/2 C white chocolate chips
  • 1/2 C chopped walnuts
  • 3/4  tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp ground nutmeg

In a sauce pan on medium heat, combine all three milks and stir together. Mix in the chocolate chips, and stir until completely melted. Add the spices and walnuts. Allow everything to come together, without letting it burn – this shouldn’t take too long, so don’t walk away!

Remove from heat, and allow to cool.

Spray a 12-cup muffin tin – I used my silicone muffin baking molds to allow for easy removal later. Place the tin(s) on a cookie sheet (make sure you have room in your freezer!) and carefully pour the cooled milk mixture into the cups, filling completely. Transfer to freezer and allow to sit for at least 2-3 hours to firm up. Making individual-sized servings is perfect if you plan on eating this over time, or for presenting to a crowd. I had one first on my own – needed to test it! So I just popped out a single serving, placed on a plate, and ate with a spoon.

The result?

Kulfi

The perfect single-serving size. My roomies loved it!

OH MY GOSH this is amazing! It’s rich, decadent, creamy, sweet, milky, spiced, and cold. Pretty much all of my favorite things in one tiny serving. You might think the portion is small, but trust me, you won’t need any more than one muffin tin’s worth. You will want more the next day, however. But I wouldn’t make this a daily occurrence. The calorie and fat counts alone indicate that this is a once-in-a-while treat. Make some for your next get-together with friends. Or just so you always have something sweet in the freezer when that craving hits you.

Leave a Reply

