Overnight Key Lime Pie Oatmeal

7 May

I bought a lot of limes for my dinner party this past weekend. In fact, I only needed three limes TOTAL…and currently have about 10 more sitting on the counter.

What’s a girl to do? I don’t have time to make a pie right now. Cake would go uneaten. And cookies would end up in only MY belly! So I thought….oatmeal! I adore making oatmeal that’s dessert-flavored. It’s a perfect, and yet healthy, way to start the day. So if you have a surplus of limes, slice one open, and make this for your next breakfast!

Overnight Key Lime Pie Oatmeal

  • 1/2 C old fashioned rolled oats
  • 3/4 C non-dairy milk of your choice
  • 1 tbsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 lime
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1/2 tbsp honey or stevia
  • 1/4 C tropical dried fruit (optional)
  • 1/4 C shredded coconut (optional)

The night before you want to eat this (or at least 4 hours beforehand)…

Pour oats, cinnamon, milk, vanilla, sweetener, and optional add-ins into bowl that has a lid. Squeeze the lime half into the bowl. Stir very well. Place lid on, and store in fridge overnight.

In the morning, either eat it cold (great on a hot summer day!), or heat, uncovered, in the microwave for 60 seconds. Stir, and indulge in a guilt-free breakfast!

What else can I do with my limes? I’ll take suggestions ๐Ÿ™‚

2 Responses to “Overnight Key Lime Pie Oatmeal”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Lime Takeover! Lime Oat Bars & Lime Yogurt Olive Oil Cake | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - May 13, 2013

    […] mentioned a few posts back, I have a surplus of limes. I’ve been squeezing them into my oatmeal every day last week, but one can tire of that pretty quickly. So instead, I searched for a few […]

  2. Chocolate Covered Strawberries and Cream Oatmeal | Eat, Drink, Be Healthy! - May 16, 2013

    […] times, it’s rather simple to make a healthy version of it. Last week, I was obsessed with my Key Lime Pie oatmeal. This week, the fruit obsession is strawberries. There’s nothing wrong with that, right? […]

Leave a Reply

